We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Show Prices
#43 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,099: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great if your after great location, basic room albeit a little tired. The hotel itself is still gorgeous especially the entrance. The location is well worth comprising on a lavish room, an abundant of cafes within seconds of walking outside the hotel. On the weekend The Rocks Market is right outside - well worth a wander! There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Destination_wherever
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear IshMox, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your positive review of our hotel. Our hotel is a Heritage Listed building which we are continuing to improve and restore on a daily basis. In fact there are several works currently underway and more to come in the New Year. We were also pleased to...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

Very close to Harbour, bridge, Opera house and tourist activitied. This hotel has great and friendly service. Our room was very clean and well furnished. The view of the city is spectacular from tje roof top on 8th floor. A very welcoming hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennyR538
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear JennyR538, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive review. It is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We stayed for five nights in early October. The hotel is in a great location close to Circular Quay. The pubs, cafes, bars and restaurants of The Rocks are all within a very short walk. Our room was comfortable and quiet and included a view of the Opera House. There is stunning view of the City and the Harbour Bridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheWeedons
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TheWeedons, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and in particular our breakfast buffet. We have put a lot of effort into continuously improving our product for our guests. We trust that you enjoyed your...

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Perfect place to stay when going on a cruise from the overseas passenger terminal Easy to catch the train from the airport and get of at circular quay. Then 5 mins walk to the hotel and about 2 mins walk to the cruise terminal. Friendly front staff. Rooms are fine for the price.Tip - join the IHG Rewards club before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lynne M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and our service. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Reviewed 6 November 2014

I was very disappointed with the Holiday Inn. The room was far from the standard of other Holiday Inns, example Thailand. I was disgusted that they wanted to charge me $30 for one hour late check out. Thailand is free. WiFi? what an insult! 55cents per minute. Thailand?Free. Take your own luggage up to the room..no service here. Breakfast?? If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear John H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you did not finds our Holiday Inn to be to your liking. However we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our sister properties in Thailand. Our Hotel is a Heritage Listed building which is very unique for a Holiday Inn...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I have stayed in a few hotels in Sydney including the Four Seasons, the Westin, The Marriot and Swisshotel. I have also stayed at the Novotel at Darling Harbour. I'm going to compare this hotel to those. The Holiday Inn room was basic compared to others and a bit older, but the bed was great, linen high quality, shower hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank walgus
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear walgus, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be great value for money. We try very hard to provide great value to our customers in a very iconic part of Sydney. We too think its a hidden...

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2014

A one night stay with two children and another adult. Location was perfect. Greeted pleasantly and told where our rooms were but left to sort luggage to our rooms with no offer of help. Rooms were adequate, but for the price we paid I personally didn't feel they were worth the money. The shower consisted of a shower over a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne T
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Marianne T, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your constructive feedback. We appreciate your comments about aspects of the condition of the hotel. We currently have several major projects underway or which have just been completed to enhance our guest experience. This will continue into 2015. Tea and coffee making facilities are located...

Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

I booked and confirmed my accommodation at this hotel prior to my stay (I booked a room, for 4 people, by calling the hotel). The operator from the hotel kindly told me to pay when I arrived to avoid the credit card surcharge. I received a confirmation email from the hotel for the accommodation, which said booking confirmed. I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen H
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Helen P, Dear Helen , Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. We have looked into your complaint and confirm the following. Your booking was made through our Central Reservations office and had a 24 hour hold for your room booking pending a credit card guarantee.This was not received therefore the rooms were released from hold. The...

Chingola, Zambia
Reviewed 2 November 2014

The hotel is located very close to the harbour bridge. Opera house is within walking distance. The hotel rooms are very posh & well maintained. Restaurant is also very nice. Services are very good though the hotel staff is very adamant about check-out timings even if you are ready to pay extra charges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soumyanath
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Soumyanath, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your visit in December last year. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, we pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to late check outs,unfortunately these are subject to availability. With December being our peak month we operate at 100%...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Beautiful style hotel in an amazing location! Right in the rocks and near Pancakes on the Rocks -YUM!!! Amazing views of Sydney harbour from the rooftop pool! I bought my Canadian friend here to visit and she loved the view! Great tourist location. The rooms are lovely, although its an older style hotel it is current and up to date...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah K
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from our rooftop certainly are a great part of the experience of staying at our hotel. Pancakes at the Rocks as you have mentioned is also very popular with our guests! Thank you for...

983 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (911)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
View from Room (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (293)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
882 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 10,634 - ₹ 20,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms are better due to the open-plan lobby”
msw-ourtrips, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't get the rooms on levels one and two as there is a lot of noise from the pub next door”
1mmm1, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a street view. therefore request a harbour view room which may cost extra money but well worth it.”
Arkense, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“try to ask for rooms in which the aircon makes lesser noise”
swagatap2014, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“831 is a little dearer, but has views over harbour and Opera House, as well as being handy to the pool.”
808JohnS808, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5