We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matador Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matador Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matador Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

The room was clean, the bed was gigantic as well as comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming. There was good parking available and the free wifi as well as a swimming pool available made for a great added bonus. I would come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in Coffs Harbour

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Boss and I booked a couple of rooms for work. WAS happy at first. Lady that checked us in was nice and room was fine. However the toilet howled sometimes when flushed to the point that my boss could hear it in the next room and thought it was a siren. I emailed them that the toilet was doing weird...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirk V
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

When you get an email such as below hi guys you might want to check the toilet in room three. it did some weird s***. See attached clip. turn up the sound. You play the video which has NO sound then what would your reply be ? Not to mention that your room was not next door to your college...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Room: Spotless! Each part of the room was cleaned through and through. Bathroom/Shower: Excellent! Great size and operation. Staff: The BEST customer service you will EVER experience! Free NBN WiFi is a nice service. Save yourself some time and stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrasDal
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you when next in Coffs Harbour

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We had a one night stay at Matador en route to Brisbane. We had to change the booking late because of unavoidable issues and the hosts were happy to do this. The room was spotless with a large, comfy King size bed. We were provided with a free, good quality Continental breakfast delivered to our room. We were also directed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suejar
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We do appreciate your time and thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future

Yackandandah, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Very friendly helpful staff, advised us on recommended eating locations in Coffs, and were kind enough to call promptly when we left something behind after checkout ! (Much appreciated!) Motel is well located, close to all amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JIM_AT_YACK
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your time to write this review your feedback is important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next time in Coffs Harbour

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed a few nights on a trip up the east coast. Arrived during the night so had previously been given a code to the safe to get our key, all went very smoothly. The room was nice and large, bathroom is a bit dated but clean and functional. The room has air con which was definitely needed. The room remained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we value your opinions as for the pool which does need the base re-painting something we are currently looking into wish we could save the 55000 liters of water that it holds. Thanks again glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Guyra, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

A comfortable stay with everything we needed. Lovely comfy beds, clean room, working aircon and best of all stocked with really nice coffee (yay!) tea, etc. Friendly staff, great central location. Everything good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back it is appreciated we look forward to seeing you again soon

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Stayed here for one night as we were on a road trip. Sue who greeted us was very friendly. She took the time to show us the room (never had this happened before with our motel stay experiences) and the light switches. Free bottled water and milk provided which was lovely. The room was clean and the bathroom has been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GXYS
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write this review and for the recommendation we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when next in Coffs Harbour

Mona Vale
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

The Matador was a great place for a convenient stopover heading North from Sydney. Quick check-in, room was clean and as described. Hotel located behind Hwy but surprisingly little traffic noise. Great night sleep. Hosts were super helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonaValeMark
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we put a high value on our guests experience and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Our refurbished room was clean and had the basic necessities. I was a little disappointed that I had no hot water for a shower at 7.30am though. Being on the highway it was a bit noisy with the windows open but other than that it is in walking distance to the shops which is good if you don't have any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda A
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the water? We have checked the system and asked other guests who all commented that the water was fine and the water pressure was very good. Our system works from one large gas hot water tank and I would have been having a shower at that time and did not...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
2.9 km away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
233 reviews
2.8 km away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
520 reviews
3.0 km away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#6 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
251 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
BEST WESTERN Zebra Motel
#12 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Matador Motor Inn has been operating continuously for more than 40 years and been a home away from home in Coffs Harbour for thousands of guests. In fact the Matador is one of the most popular stop-overs for travellers on the Pacific Highway travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. We have completed numerous refurbishments so now more than ever the Matador is a fabulous choice if you are looking for boutique style motel accommodation. You can enjoy a stay in clean and comfortable rooms. We offer a choice of room configurations: from premium queen and king rooms to twin and family room options. All rooms offer comfortable beds, quality interiors and amenities, LED TVs, Foxtel, ipod docking stations, Lanovera personal products, a tea and coffee larder with quality supplies, toaster, kettle, iron and ironing board and private dining space. All rooms face due north and upper level offers district views. Select family rooms offer a private balcony. We offer an outdoor pool and guest lounge to relax and enjoy as well as a quality, in-room breakfast package. Select pet-friendly rooms are also available, but regretfully we only accept small dogs 10kg and under. Not only is the Matador a regular choice for holidaymakers, it is also very popular with business travellers. We offer free WIFI, a desk area for your laptap or tablet and lounge access. Regular corporate clients are also eligible for special corporate rates so please make inquiries with our friendly team. The Matador provides off street and undercover parking but we must limit parking to one car per room.We wish you safe travels! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matador Motor Inn

Address: 11 Grafton St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range: ₹ 5,445 - ₹ 8,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matador Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Hotel Coffs Harbour
Matador Motel Coffs Harbour
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coffs Harbour
#5 Business Hotel in Coffs Harbour
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Matador Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors may be better but there are no lifts.”
sanjayk468, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You have to expect some noise because you are close to the highway however, there was no discomfort and any noise was minimal.”
geoffdwebb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor easier access to room but they have a area to unload your car prior to parking. Both our ground floor end units were quiet.”
jodib389, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were Dow the back,probably best”
462susanw, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Easy access to room but i guess not suitable for people with physical disability”
sagarpacif, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5