We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 977: English reviews
Yulara, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed there in the top suite they had on offer for a weekend with friends. The room is large with lounge area, table, guest toilet, bedroom and bathroom with spa bath. There is a walk in closet hallway kind of area. The bed is comfortable with television in the bedroom also. As for room service at this hotel. Don't bother...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brisbane41
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Brisbane41, What a nice way to celebrate a weekend with friends by booking one of the hotel's suites and getting together and enjoying the facilities that this room has to offer. I am sorry to read that you were let down by our room service department as I can assure you that this is not the normal level of...

Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We just had a 1 nighter so I did not get to explore this hotel. Main thing it was clean, staff where very polite and the beds where comfy. Would stay again and hopefully next time get to try some of their in house activities.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim T
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Jim T, Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your overnight stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the comfy beds. Next time you stay, you will need to stay a little longer not only to explore the hotel but also all the great attractions that are close...

Penrith, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Our family of four stayed here overnight after our day trip to Canberra. I'm really pleased that we chose to go here! As soon as you walk in, it has such a warm and friendly feel about it, all the while being beautiful and very clean at the same time. Staff are wonderful and nothing is a problem for them....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XoxoMissB
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear XoxoMissB, Thank you so much for this glowing review on your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that by booking on our Create your own Adventure package you and your family saw the value that is offered with this package and that you were able to take advantage of some of Canberra's best attractions for...

None
Reviewed 11 September 2015

This hotel has some great positives: The reception staff over the 2 days we stayed were fantastic, always friendly and eager to help. The same with the bartender, nice friendly guy. The location is awesome and the hotel if and when it gets refurbished could be awesome, it has a vey grand entrance and could be done up to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thetravelingtrio3
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear thetravelingtrio3, My sincerest apologies for the delay in responding to your initial feedback from your stay at the hotel. We have searched our records and unfortunately, it seems that the hotel did not receive your initial email, otherwise, we would have responded to your feedback in a timely manner. I would have preferred to have been able to discuss...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

web site says completed refurb of room, room are little improved, wooden sofa as usual, bathroom still stuck in the 70's, water overflowing the recess,cleanliness of shower questionable.post itchy foot syndrome, awkward bathroom shelving, room temp was uncontrollable, heat barely present, important in chilly canberra. update and Ill be back,but not till then

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 642phillip
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hi 642phillip Thank you for your taking the time to complete the online review in regards to your recent stay at Rydges Capital Hill. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who stays with us. Unfortunately, in your case, we were not successful in accomplishing this goal. I have personally forwarded your comments...

Cooma, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Stayed here for one night as part of a 2 day business conference. The conference facilities are quite good, the breakfast was good with a variety of food available. I found the service at reception to be very slow. When I arrived there was one other person checking in and two staff members who stared at the one computer screen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RuthS529
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear RuthS529, Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the hotel. It is disappointing to read that your check in experience was not to the normal high standard that the hotel prides itself on. On occasion, the reception desk can be busy but this should not affect you experiencing a warm welcome. I am pleased that you found...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Room was fine, price good, heated indoor swimming pool a bonus, staff helpful. Breakfast a bit of a shambles because there were so many diners. The young waiter was literally running around trying to clean up after everyone while you had two ladies sitting at the front desk having a chat!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cazxn
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hello Czxn Thank you for taking the time to review Rydgea Capital Hill. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and also that you enjopyed the use of the indoor heated pool. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Georgina D. Front Office Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We were welcomed by friendly and helpful reception staff. A great start. However, when we entered our room we were disappointed. The bathroom tiles had mould in them, the bar cupboards had split wood/chipboard and the fridge seals were covered in mould. Given this we thought, well, hopefully the bed is comfortable and room warm. We were surprised with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 96KarenN
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hi 96KarenN Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. We are happy that you found our reception staff to be friendly and helpful, i will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We are disappointed to hear your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your hotel room, and have passed these comments onto our housekeeping department....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

The deluxe suite i booked in Canberra was so bad i couldn't stay in it. Thank goodness for Rydges Capitol Hill. Even though it was late the staff understood our plight and came up with an incredible suite . The lounge area was huge and had everything you could require. Bed was to die for. So comfortable and clean. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M P
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hi M P Thank you for your very kind review, It was lovely to read of your high praises during your stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards Georgina D. Front...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We arrived to be welcomed by very pleasant front counter staff, very quick to respond and eager to cater for any needs. I am a PGR member and in this case the membership was honoured without hesitation throughout the entire stay. I was upgraded and given a great suite. It was clean, spacious and warm. The beds are just perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Stu C Thank you for your very kind review, It was lovely to read of your high praises during your stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards Georgina D. Front...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.4 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
944 reviews
0.4 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
626 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
2,359 reviews
0.6 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#25 of 58 in Canberra
453 reviews
1.9 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: ₹ 6,283 - ₹ 16,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Parliament house”
 of 5 bubbles Deanne72, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best at the ground floor at the front (road side) not at the top (3rd floor) in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles peter7628, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a higher level room but all rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles RedGallah, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A higher floor may be a little quieter!!”
 of 5 bubbles samlobianco, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Paraffle, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5