We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown Inn
 Click to rate
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went with a friend who had been before and it was just as he described , a lovley old fashioned country Inn in a great building and some amazing no frills but delicious British cuisine . I went on a Monday and they still had a full carvery spread which was hot and fresh . Great place for a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeySalvatore
Management response:

Pleased you enjoyed your first visit and hope to see you again. We do a hot buffet with 5 fresh hot dishes vest day during the winter, when the weather turns warmer we change to the cold buffet with a selection of cold meats, seafood, quiche, pies and around 20 different salads .come along and try that too but only...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a lovely old fashioned pub. Very friendly staff, superb breakfast and evening meal. Lovely gardens and gorgeous rooms. Will be going back. There is free parking and a good choice of menu. We were able to take our dog who was welcomed with open arms and loved it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniew576
Management response:

Thank you very much, pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having eaten at The Crown previously, albeit sometime ago and not on a Sunday, we decided to book for Mothering Sunday. Whilst the pub was very busy and clearly being well supported by local residents and other clientele we were very disappointed. We arrived and received very prompt bar service which was appreciated, however, upon informing them that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
Management response:

My apologies once again for the problems you experienced, we were very busy that day and I regret I did not have sufficient time to speak to you as I felt is should have. Should you wish to email me please do not hesitate to do so as I would like to discuss the matter further, fliss53@icloud.com I am sorry...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

If you are the sort of person who needs a Premier Inn this pub is probably not for you. The room we had was a good size, the en suite had all we needed and they were both clean and tidy. However this is a rustic, characterful, country pub, the rooms are not new, not square and not magnolia. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Popped in on a very quiet Monday evening. The bar was very cosy, lovely fires going on both main areas. Went for fish and chips (always a good test), couldn't fault the food, chips very crispy, perfect. Pudding was the lemon cheesecake, WOW, beautiful. Good selection of beers on tap, with guest ales as well judging by the beer menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

After the funeral of my wife's cousin we were all kindly asked to go back to the crown inn for something to eat and drink. The staff were very accommodating and friendly there was plenty of loverly sandwiches and plenty of coffee/ teas . The pub is very quaint and cosy . A typical English public house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimpendrigh
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Reserved here for a 2pm meal .... on arrival table all set and ready to sit , food is on a help yourself basis which was hot , well presented and plenty of choice . Restaurant was busy but plenty of room ... only one complaint was the table beside us once vacated was then split into two tables by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne V
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Have used this pub twice in last five weeks for lunch time food. Food was reasonably good , we had buffet, which is good for money. but. The dining room was freezing. Which in turn means your food gets cold very quickly. It was not a pleasant experience. . So needless to say we won't be going back until summer.the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irisjean2016
downnham market,uk
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Home cooked Sunday carvery, 3 selection of meats on offer with all the veggies you could want. Two sizes of plates determine the cost of the meal. A very sensible sign over the carvery suggests to put on your plate only what you can eat, most diners took notice, some sadly did not. Good food, varied deserts on offer, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen_manney56
london
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed here with our dog on Saturday night. Firstly, can I say that the staff were lovely and friendly and we had no issues on that front. Some of the issues we did have - * We spent the latter part of the afternoon in the bar area. A few locals made up the crowd. They were very loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gundersLondon

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gayton
12.1 km away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,077 reviews
4.1 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
776 reviews
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
708 reviews
11.4 km away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
994 reviews
7.6 km away
The Dabbling Duck
The Dabbling Duck
#1 of 2 in Great Massingham
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Lynn Road, Gayton PE32 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Gayton
Price Range: ₹ 3,609 - ₹ 6,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is lovely”
melaniew576, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an en suite room”
HamishGrenoble, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't see rooms”
anitadilks99, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“didn't stay just had lunch”
DJRD, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Have never stayed since I live here!”
tyketyke, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5