We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wilmot House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Wilmot House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outstanding presentation throughout, warm welcome with professional hosts, absolutely gorgeous homemade foods (dietary requirements catered for), very clean, high quality sheets, towels, robes and bedding. A charming character building with ornate antique occassional pieces of furniture and decor (lovely chandeliers and mirrors/ perfectly laid cutlery and table dressing ornaments/ beautiful exposed beams ceilings in places). As someone who frequents hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73,848
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed there last year and again last night , the hospitality is wonderful , the room is very comfortable bed and sheets smell clean , we are greated with a welcome cuppa and a piece of home made cake Ous dog is made very welcome too Breakfast was perfect and we shall certainly return Lovely to chat to Sue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbbooker
Detroit Area, Michigan
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This is a great little place about half way between Scotland and London. The owners are lovely people and breakfast was yummy. Great conversations and they referred us to a darling pub just down the road where we had a ball visiting with people. The house is darling. If you are really tall, ask about the ceiling height. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samfingers
susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. We can't do anything about our ceiling height as we are a grade 2 listed building. However my husband is more than 6' tall and he manages not to hit his head too often!

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I've stayed at Wilmot house numerous times over the past two years and it really is a great friendly place to stay . The house is old and has been tastefully modernised without losing any of its character a beamed ceiling in the dining room all adding to the old world charm of the the place . The hosts ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve H
Reading, Berks
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Would highly.recommend this b&b. Sue is fabulous, she was always on hand if we needed anything and the children liked her. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was lovely, very cosy with lovely beams. Breakfast was delicious. We will be back when we're next in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skerby25
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Wilmot House on our way up north. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfast was superb and Susan and her husband were very welcoming. Her husband even helped me park my very large trailer in their car park. I will certainly use Wilmot House again when in that area. I cannot understand the recent negative comments,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry S
rochdale,lancs
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Susan a wonderful attentive helpful host.cooked breakfast was good. Was a little odd to have to pick up key from pub. Found the place to be rather dirty in places long term grime in bathroom and dust throughout

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank batley65
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Stayed here one night at on our way over to Norfolk. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were offered as pot of tea as we were a little early and told about the pub down the road were we could get food. Our two dogs were made very welcome . the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mig2k_uk
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We had a very good stay at this B & B on the Nottingham/Lincolnshire border. The location was handy for Lincoln and Nottingham's attraction including Sherwood Forest. The hosts could not have been more helpful. The Breakfast was well cooked with endless plunger coffee available. The bed was comfortable, and the facilities good for a House of this vintage.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan B
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Booked a room at Wilmot house but due to unforeseen circumstances I couldn't make it. Had a very rude and offensive phone call from the hoteliers. I would've been happy to pay for my room but after being told "to go f*** myself" well they certainly can.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6Hughes
susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

I apologise for my uncharacteristic outburst. However, we had been advised that arrival would be around 9- 10 pm and we waited up until midnight. No call was received the following day with any explanation or apology and I was unable to take payment under my cancellation policy as the card was not validated at the time of reservation.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark-on-Trent hotels
18.8 km away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
445 reviews
20.9 km away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
169 reviews
21.3 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Bridge House B & B
Bridge House B & B
#5 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
166 reviews
21.4 km away
Willow Tree Cottages
Willow Tree Cottages
#14 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
37 reviews
23.8 km away
The Reindeer Inn
The Reindeer Inn
#6 of 9 in Southwell
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Georgian Grade II house of immense period character in central village location. Ample private car parking. Home made preserves and cakes, locally sourced produce for breakfast, fresh fruit always available along with unlimited tea & coffee. Egyptian cotton, cosy blankets, bathrobes & soft towels in rooms. Freeview TV, DVD & WiFi in all rooms. Good location for Lincoln, Newark & Retford. Good food within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilmot House

Address: Wilmot House Church Walk | Dunham on Trent, Newark-on-Trent NG22 0TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Price Range: ₹ 4,756 - ₹ 8,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilmot House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Wilmot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wilmot House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were lucky and had a beautiful four poster bed , that's so comfy , I even slept in this morning”
 of 5 bubbles kbbooker, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front of house noisey”
 of 5 bubbles 436allisond, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
“only a few rooms & ours was at the front overlooking the lovely garden.yes,there was a lot of traffic from 6 a.m through till about 8 a.m,im told-i slept through it despite choosing to sleep with our window open & despite being used to the rural tranquility of northumberland where we live.”
 of 5 bubbles tinx1407, 28 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If your like me and my farther, note that if your tall alot of bending will be required to get under the doors and watch the Chandelier in the upstairs hallway, you'll only do it once though ha ha ha”
 of 5 bubbles tahitato, 25 Nov 2013 | Read review
“If travelling from the south, beware of satnav making you turn left too early into a dead end. The left after that is the one you want then turn immediately left into the driveway of the property. If booking via Laterooms.com payment is not taken via the website”
 of 5 bubbles alison14210, 20 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay