We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Karthea

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Karthea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Karthea
 Click to rate
Hermoupolis, Greece
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the port of Kea isl., and in the center of the city of Korrisia, Karthea hotel is the best choise to begin your vacation in Kea. Only the front rooms have a good view of the port. The place is rather quiet (in the summer after midnight). There is a problem with the parking as the only closest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kostas M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I struggled with giving a star rating for this hotel but it was somewhere between 3 and 4. during our three night stay in June 2016. Upon entering the public areas it appeared to be a homely traditional hotel. I had requested a quiet room on the upper floor with a sea view which was exactly what was allocated when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiwitravellernew
Rupelmonde
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, clean room and beautiful view (we had a sea side room). People complaining about the siz of the balcony probably had a room on the side. But those balconies are also big enough to sit on a chair at a table, what more would you want ? People are friendly, breakfast basic, but sufficient. Nice place to,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stinders P
California
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Karthea is a wonderful hotel. It is in an excellent location. Close to restaurants. Steps away from the beach. Located in the port. The rooms are lovely. Well appointed and super clean. The staff is outstanding. All of them are super friendly and helpful, especially Maria. She was wonderful. We truly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

After my unfortunate experience at Porto Koundouros this hotel was a wonderful surprise. It has a great location overlooking the harbour . My room was spacious and totally soundproof. The staff could not have been nicer and were most helpful given my lack of Greek and their not so great English. A very nice breakfast that could ,perhaps do with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 420Jack
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is located near the port of the island so it is very convinient as it has coffee places, restaurants and shops around. Rooms are very clean and of good size. Breakfast has variety especially of greek and local food. The ladies thar run the hotel and the whole personnel are very polite and of very good service. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveler02082010
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 24 August 2016

After a four night stay in this hotel, the only thing I have to say is that the receptionists are the most rude persons I have ever met. Totally unprofessional, when I asked them to change room (since it was too small and I could only sit on the bed, too dark also, the balcony was up to 40cm width...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliki L
kalliopi t, General Manager at Hotel Karthea, responded to this review

Dear Aliki L The reservation you made with us was for two rooms; arrival date 17/8 and departure date 21/8 for a twin sea-view room on the third floor and one standard double, garden-view on the first floor. You were aware of these details of your reservation in advance, the day when you did the booking. Furthermore the price for...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The owner is really not pleasant. We were promised a balcony and sea view but the balcony was too narrow , and wasn't possible to sit in at all... We also got village view instead of sea view, and ended up looking at some garbage bins! The air conditioning didn't work well... When we left because of that after 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarit B
kalliopi t, General Manager at Hotel Karthea, responded to this review

The true story. All triple rooms in our hotel do not have sea view, therefore the reservation which was made through booking .com was inevitably with village view . The initial reservation was for 8 days , then via e mails was reduced to 5 days . The next day of their arrival decided to stay only two days .We...

London
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at Karthea and am very happy with my choice. The staff is very helpful and friendly - eg providing me with a beach bag and towel and cooking additional eggs for me for breakfast. The location couldn't be better, right in front of the sea with all the restaurants and shops all within walking distance. I love...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevzz5
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I have often been disappointed in Greece by 2 & 3 star category hotels, owners are often not suited to the industry etc. However I was pleasantly surprised to find this little gem of a place in Korissia Kea Island. Clean comfortable and lovingly decorated. The proprietors know what hospitality us all about. I would highly recommend this hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Manos C

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korissia
0.5 km away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Keos Katikies
Hotel Keos Katikies
#2 of 2 in Korissia
93 reviews
1.1 km away
Meltemi
Meltemi
#1 of 1 in Vourkari
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Koralli Studios
Koralli Studios
#4 of 16 in Kea
30 reviews
1.9 km away
Aigis Suites
Aigis Suites
#1 of 1 in Vourkari
99 reviews
4.1 km away
Cavo Perlevos Studios
Cavo Perlevos Studios
#1 of 1 in Otzias
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Hotel Karthea

Address: Korissia 84002, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Kea > Korissia
Price Range: ₹ 4,472 - ₹ 6,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Karthea 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Karthea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Karthea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms over look the harbour at the front and side.”
Q9908VWlindah, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms with big balconys but charged extra... (in the front side of the hotel)”
Konstantinos_Gr_Trip, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“You can ask for a room with balcony overlooking the port and watch the to-Ing and fro-ing of everyday Kea.”
930MargaretR, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Friends had room to another side and cicadas was very loud.”
Gintoji, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Sea View, the breeze makes a difference, hotel does have Air Conditioning, but nice to open the french doors and get a gentle breeze”
pauldendle, 26 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates