We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Groes Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Groes Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 448: English reviews
Start your review of Groes Inn
 Click to rate
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed a couple of nights in this conveniently situated little Inn with loads of character. The room was clean and cosy with a lovely outlook over the fields and hillside. We had a full Welsh breakfast on both mornings which set us up for the day and dinner was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced for the quality of food. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ1955
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this Inn for first time, just short drive from Conwy. Was met by friendly warm staff on arrival. Inn dates back to Tudors so has all original features in bar and restaurant areas. Rooms are clean with up to date amenities and tastfully decked out in keeping with old inn style. Great shower too! Breakfast is traditional Welsh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Groes_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello Micheal; Thank you so much for staying with us, as well as taking time out of your day to offer us a review. Reviews are beyond important to us at the Groes Inn, as we're committed to constant improvement to give our guests the very best of what we have, all the time. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Groes Inn which is situated just along the road from Conwy Castle. The service received from Mike was excellent as was his Guinness!! The food we ordered arrived promptly and was a pleasure to behold. Scallops starter was fantastic and the Lamb main course was Perfection itself. Prices were a touch above "pub grub" but let me tell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L P
Groes_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks so much for visiting us - and thank you so much for such glowing feedback. It's very kind of you to remember the name of the staff member that you were so impressed by, and we'll endeavour to make sure that Mike reads this review. We're also very pleased that you enjoyed your food, and likewise, we'll...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was excellent and the bedroom very comfortable. The frontdesk staff was also very attentive. It is also a nice pub. Staff seemed undersized though, and we found towels not properly washed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacerda8000
Groes_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello there; Thanks so much for visiting us and taking time out of your day to offer us feedback. Guest feedback is really important to us at the Groes Inn, and learning where to improve is absolutely invaluable. From all of us, thanks for dropping us a review! We're very pleased that you found the levels of service at the...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few reservations when booking the groes inn.Read the trip advisor reviews and mixed.It was my birthday and we would normally book a five star hotel somewhere. This was a little last minute and i thought we would give it a try.The spot itself is really beutiful with rolling hills and not much else around really piece full. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank violetten7
Groes_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello David; Thank you so much for visiting us, as well as sharing your feedback. Such great feedback is very useful to us, in our aim to constantly improve and make great experiences for all of our guests. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your food. We do our very best to provide high quality food which is sourced from...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Picked this Inn from the Internet. Pictures looked lovely. What we got was a very run down room that was freezing cold and felt dirty. Marks all over the valance and stains on the carpet, old distressed furniture and not in a good way, damp stains all over wallpaper. Bathroom tiles cracked and floor freezing. In all fairness they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
Groes_Inn, Owner at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello Pam; We're very sorry to hear that the problems we experienced with heating during your stay made your experience not as you would have hoped. We managed to sort out the issue with your heating, and then reimbursed you £40 for the problems - and we're glad to hear that you felt your stay was charged fairly. Customer satisfaction...

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We met some friends for lunch at 1pm on a weekday. (We care for someone with dementia so it's a real treat for us to have a break from that role.) We arrived at 1pm and were met by pleasant staff; however, it seemed a bit odd that there was only one other table occupied. We ordered and didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilysue49
Groes_Inn, Owner at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello- Thanks so much for coming to visit us, and sharing your thoughts about your experience. Customer feedback is very important to us, and to hear that you were not satisfied with your food is sad to hear - though on the other hand, we are pleased to hear that everyone else within your group enjoyed theirs. (Should you visit...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We booked in for New Year's Eve, the room and bathroom was very pleasant. A fridge would have been nice and small touches of detail, such as a box of tissues. Comfortable bed, although the pillows could be improved. For the breakfast, there was no vegetarian option of vegetarian sausages or hash browns, very disappointing. The buffet was so poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellen P
Groes_Inn, Manager at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ellen; We're very sorry to hear that your breakfast was a let down. Thank for leaving your feedback though - please be assured that this matter will be looked into and we'll certainly take your comments on board in order to improve. We really hope that you'll give us another go, and that next time we'll be able to...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

A lovely traditional Welsh Inn, the food took a while to arrive but good things come to those who wait. Friendly staff and for the quality of the food very well priced. I'll certainly be revisiting next time I'm anywhere nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
Groes_Inn, Owner at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jonathan; Thanks for dropping by! Thanks as well for your feedback, it's always good to know when we're doing it right. Because of the fact that our meals are prepared from scratch for everyone individually, they might take a little longer than most. However we'll always endeavour to deliver fresh, great quality food as quickly as possible - without...

Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Went for lunch with the family. Took a while for the food to arrive. It's one of those places where you have to order and pay for veg separately so works out quite expensive. Good quality, tasty meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
Groes_Inn, Owner at Groes Inn, responded to this review

Hello Dawn; We'd really like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're always looking for feedback, both good and bad, and you taking time out of your day to let us know how we did is really appreciated. We're pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and we hope to see you and your family...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
3.6 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,043 reviews
5.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
643 reviews
4.7 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,177 reviews
2.5 km away
Tir y Coed Country House
20.6 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range: ₹ 9,767 - ₹ 14,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Groes Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor rear with balcony, good evening sun.”
 of 5 bubbles ottewell, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 8garethh, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor rooms have a small patio area.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyM791, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Balcony or Patio would be a must for me.”
 of 5 bubbles 1_Gio_1, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great if you have a dog or dogs”
 of 5 bubbles DaveHolidayboy, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5