We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandown Lodge

May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sandown Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Start your review of Sandown Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have had an extended stay in Cape Town and chose Sandown B & B for the 2nd time and love staying here. It is clean, nicely appointed, and Vanessa and her husband are very friendly. You can have breakfast or not--particularly if you are staying in one of their self catering units. The grounds offer a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jejohns
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback Jean, we really appreciate it.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I have absolutely no complaints about this place. everything was just perfect. we spent 4 nights there. Location is perfect. very peaceful. I will definitely be staying there again. thank you Vanessa. Keep up the great work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 001TJ
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandown Lodge.

Chanhassen, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place to stay while in Cape Town. The family treated us as one of their own and I look forward to staying there every time I visit. The breakfasts were amazing and given the odd times I had to leave for business on a daily basis, they were very accommodating. Right on the bus lines and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chetmasteller
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback Chet. We enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to your next visit.

Livingstone, Zambia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We unfortunately only stayed here for one night but the accommodation was fantastic and very centrally located. We will definitely be back here when next in Cape-Town. Thank you for a really great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winter28
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We have just spent 3 days in Cape Town and are so pleased to have found Sandown Lodge. If you are looking for a quiet, tranquil end to a very busy day this is the place to be. Nothing like fresh crisp sheets and fluffy towels. Lovely and spacious and so clean. Thank you Vanessa for your warm, welcoming hospitality....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn K
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review Lynn. It is such a pleasure to have gracious guests like yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandown Lodge.

Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

What a great find. A beautiful, spacious apartment and very warm welcome from Vanessa and her staff who looked after us brilliantly without being overbearing! We didn't spend much time in the apartment due to having a cram packed two weeks but it was a perfect base; great location with restaurants and shops within safe walking distance and very safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyandRob
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review and useful feedback, it is much appreciated. We enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Reviewed 21 October 2014

I was very fortunate to discover this amazing place to stay! Manicured gardens, stylish up to date accommodation and pleasant owners made this stay memorable. I had early starts every day and this more than provided for! I believe it is one of the finest accomodation options in Cape Town!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre L
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review Andre. It is always nice to get feedback on how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sandown Lodge. Kind regards Vanessa

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Sandown Lodge. The place is very nice, and nicely located close to University of Cape Town. I stayed in 2 rooms for my extended stay, and both were fine. There is laundry service available for ~$5 per (small) load. My one warning would be that you pay the full price upfront. I had the unfortunate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt W
peter312659, Owner at Sandown Lodge, responded to this review

Our cancellation policy clearly states that if a booking is cancelled on the day of arrival or during the stay, the guest will be liable for the full booking fee. It is not easy for small establishments to fill rooms at short notice, especially during the quiet winter months. The guest did cancel the last 10 days of his stay...

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Located very centrally in Rondebosch ideal for the city, the beaches and easy to get to the airport this B&B is run beautifully by Vanessa. I messed up the date of our arrival but Vanessa accommodated us with no fuss and made the whole family feel very welcome. Good places to eat within safe walking distance. We would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulPeplow
Gonubie, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hubby and myself stayed at the B&B at two separate instances. The accommodation is very highly recommended, it is neat, clean, modern, comfortable, accessible, moderately priced, great friendly service, wonderful surrounds. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, equipped with everything you might need, and if it does not have it, they will find it for you. We were made welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieDeKock

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
7.5 km away
Cape Milner
Cape Milner
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
1.7 km away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
400 reviews
1.0 km away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Little Scotia Guest House
Little Scotia Guest House
#4 of 20 in Rondebosch
94 reviews
0.2 km away
Roodenburg House
Roodenburg House
#1 of 20 in Rondebosch
130 reviews
1.0 km away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally situated 19th-cntury Georgian Guest House with Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering facilities. Close to University of Cape Town, Groote Schuur Hospital, Town Centre, Airport and major tourist attractions including Kirstenbosch Gardens, Table Mountain and Robben Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandown Lodge

Address: 10 Glebe Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Price Range: ₹ 3,952 - ₹ 6,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandown Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandown Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want self catering choose room 1.”
Jejohns, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All accommodation appears good!”
431andrel, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
“We asked for the room which has 2 separate rooms and is separate from the house. We preferred t be outside of the main house to allow us independence. If you have any preferences, let Vanessa know, but we didn't have any problems with the accommodation.”
kimmy009, 20 Apr 2012 | Read review
“The annexe is small and quite dark with a very small bathroom. Ask which room you will be allocated when booking.”
R_S1963, 4 Mar 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Check these sites for availability
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates