We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

May Hill View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
May Hill View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
England
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at May Hill View for two nights in April. We chose it because of its location and because it was advertised as having a lovely pool. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed in our stay for several reasons: 1. The pool. Myself being pregnant and with a toddler, we were really looking forward to using it. BE WARNED: Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RJAngloCanada
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long report... If is always helpful to have different opinions however, just to clarify .... 1. The pool is usually between 28/30 degrees but I notice you chose not to swim. A small one off charge is made to cover running costs as the accommodation tariff does not include use...

London
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in May Hill View last weekend and were so fortunate with temperatures of 20 degrees - and we thoroughly enjoyed walking in the meadow with Elaine's (the owner) adorable dogs Coco and Louis. This time we spent an enjoyable afternoon biking in the forest which is a 10 minute drive away, and enjoyed walks in th surrounding countryside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlieironman
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review....

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Spacious apartment with splendid views of the countryside. Well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akennedy_11
Management response:

Thank you for your review of May Hill View.... Hope to see you again on your next trip to this beautiful area.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A really lovely flat in a beautiful part of the country. Elaine made us feel very welcome and was very accommodating to our needs with a young baby. Having access to the pool and hottub was a welcomed treat even though there was a small surcharge. Would definitely recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebsVarrall
Management response:

Thank you for your review of May Hill View... It was a pleasure to meet you both and your beautiful little girl.

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in the self catering bit of this place. The absolutely undisputed best thing is the super luxurious pool and hot tub facilities. They cost £7.50 pp (2012) for your stay but well worth it. Fab warm 10m pool with toys and raindrop showers for afterwards. Hot tub outdoors with gorgeous view. Could have sat there all day and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viknbob
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing May Hill View for your weekend getaway and for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub ... The facilities are always so very popular!

cambridge
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a wonderful time at May Hill View over the Easter holidays. Consistent with the other reviews, I can report that Elaine was very welcoming, and our two children rapidly made friends with her dogs and were happy roaming around her large garden, swinging on the swing and kicking a ball around. The flat is small but fine for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benedictable
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of May Hill View... and for sending the lovely photograph of your daughter swinging under the cherry blossom in the garden.

Sheffield
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We recently had a long weekend (3 nights) at May Hill View to celebrate a special birthday and found both the location and accommodation perfect for our requirements. Three adults and my sisters dog "Blue" stayed in the flat and my daughter and son in law stayed in the bed and breakfast in the house. We found May Hill View...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sco321
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you all staying at May Hill View for the special birthday weekend and you were so lucky with the weather too! Hopefully you will have some lovely photos of ducks in the hot tub and maybe even a Houdini style story to tell!!! Would be a delight...

Worcestershire
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Lovely welcome from the very friendly owner Cottage is very tiny, but spotless and well looked after Lovely shower room with electric shower. Unlimited heating Steep stairs up to cottage. Kitchen is only a side of the lounge, a lot, lot smaller than it looks on the pics TV is tiny, we had to move the sofa to within a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanna M
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at May Hill View. I like to encourage both B&B and Self Catering guests to give feedback – preferably whilst here giving me opportunity to address any issues immediately – but also post visit as in your case which then enables future guests to make their own judgement...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed for 1 night during half term week as we wanted to see the Severn bore and chose May Hill View as it was recommended by a link from the Severn Bore website. Great place to stay, Elaine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and the accommodation is very clean, pleasant and quaint. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell k
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you Russell for taking the time to write such lovely comments in your review of May Hill View. A short visit as you say-but it was a pleasure to meet you all.... Hopefully you may return one day - you still have to try the hot tub!! Best wishes

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in the self catering option. We had a fun packed week of adventures and loved coming back to our home for the week. Elaine was very welcoming and gave us everything we wanted. The location was great for walking our collie 'Rolo' with an average 15 minutes drive to the forestry commission....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon a
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - so glad you and Rolo enjoyed your stay here. ps The earring - found in the Jacuzzi - is on its way !!

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton Bishop
9.7 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
88 reviews
3.2 km away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
109 reviews
5.7 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
985 reviews
8.8 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
446 reviews
4.6 km away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
May Hill View offers 4 star boutique accommodation. The perfect peaceful retreat and excellent base for exploring the beautiful Herefordshire Countryside, The Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, Cheltenham and Gloucester. A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests to May Hill View with many making return visits. Couples and families alike enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and private use of the Indoor Swimming Pool and other Leisure Facilities onsite. May Hill View is available for Bed and Breakfast, Self Catering or Room-Only Accommodation throughout the year. Long or short breaks, romantic getaways or business trips. Small dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about May Hill View

Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Price Range: ₹ 2,359 - ₹ 3,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from May Hill View staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from May Hill View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Steep stairs to cottage so no disabled people.”
 of 5 bubbles X1686VAjoannam, 7 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Elaine is pretty flexible - B&B turned out to be access to the whole appartment”
 of 5 bubbles lizam64, 18 Jul 2011 | Read review
2 of 2