We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ventana Inn & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Ventana Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ventana Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,133: English reviews
Aptos, California
Reviewed 13 February 2017

No wine or champagne on arrival, breakfast buffet should be inclusive, the wine and cheese hour should have a better selection of fruit and Vegies ( we do live in an area renowned for these items) I think you'll happier returns if you keep the old standards in place. Post Ranch hasn't changed any of their standards and they are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela A
Ventana M, Guest Relations Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Angela A., I am disappointed to hear we did not meet to expectations. I would love to hear your feedback in further detail at your convenience. You can contact my via email: slewis@ventanainn.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm Regards, Stephanie Lewis Guest Services Manager

Reviewed 12 February 2017

This was our favorite place to get away and relax as a couple (we came every year). The setting and property is spectacular, everything was included, and they left you alone to enjoy. On this last visit, the vibe was very different. Breakfast was not included (and they didn't tell you about this change...just told you about the place of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jlbbb
Ventana M, Guest Relations Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jlbbb, I am disappointed to hear we did not meet you expectations, I would love to hear your feedback in further detail. You may contact me via e-mail: slewis@ventanainn.com. I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience. Warm Regards, Stephanie Lewis Guest Services Manager

San Francisco
Reviewed 7 February 2017

You will spend a lot (for me - room, couples massage, dinner), but if you know they're the one its absolutely worth it. Staff is extremely helpful and even upgraded us without having to ask. Although the place was pretty empty, still a nice gesture.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason D
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jason D., What a delight it is to hear you had a perfect romantic getaway! We have exceeded our goals by providing exceptional guest services and amenities. We hope to welcome you back to the heart of Big Sur. Best Regards, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn & Spa

New York
Reviewed 6 February 2017

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was absolutely outstanding. The staff is truly amazing and hUne positive impact on our STAY. The chef has an incredible menu so much taste and perfect flavors. I could live on this property all year long

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laarar
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laarar, Wow, what an outstanding review! I am pleased to hear our staff was truly amazing and impacted your stay in such a wonderful and positive way! We cannot wait to welcome you back to Ventana! Best Regards, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn & Spa

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We stayed here for one night on our way up the coast. It was the second time we stayed there, and we'll definitely stay there again. It's a beautiful property and it has maintained it's unique California coastal quality in design and atmosphere over the years. We stayed in a room with a kingsize bed and a fireplace. The private...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy L
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amy L., I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments. The Team and I look forward to seeing you again at Ventana. We will share your comments with the rest of the property. We look forward to your return visit to Big Sur, and Ventana Inn & Spa. Best Regards, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn &...

San Francisco
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Everything was exquisite. If going in January during the rainy season, be prepared to be told to stay in due to road closures. Be prepared also to venture out and make sure updates are "up to date." Sometimes there is disinformation circulated about the surrounding area in regards to highway closures and such.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewbR6451ZI
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AndrewbR6451ZI, Thanks for being a guest of Ventana Inn & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's a true pleasure to have had you as a guest, and we hope to host you again the next time you visit the area! Best Regard, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn & Spa

Chicago
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed one night enroute north to San Francisco. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed; but we had a nice dinner in the reception building-with limited menu. Route 1 was closed south of Big Sur so we had to detour on Rte. 101 which used up some of our afternoon stay-no fault of the Inn. We would love to return someday...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomasoV6009SQ
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Thomaso, Thank you so much for your review, we are please to hear you had a lovely time with us. Please join us again in the beauty of Big Sur at Ventana! Best Regards, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn & Spa

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We decided to stay here rather than the better known posh hotel in Big Sur and it was absolutely the right choice. Because of all the road closures the drive there was horrendous and we arrived pretty grumpy and road sore, so what a pleasant surprise. They had upgraded us to a room with a hot tub on its own...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francine L
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Francine L., It is truly wonderful to hear you had such an amazing time with us at Ventana even though the weather made the drive less than enjoyable. We have exceeded our goals by providing exceptional guest services that managed to turn your day around upon arrivals. Please join us again in the magic of Big Sur right here...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The view and grounds are beautiful. Room was great with a real wood fireplace and deck with a view. Rustic feel but all of the amenities of a luxury resort.Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for renovation but is due to open in mid-February. My only complaint is that there is no sound insulation between floors. You can hear every move...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James L
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear James L., Thanks for being a guest of Ventana Inn & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm so glad to hear that our exceptional team was able to invite you and showcase the warm hospitality that's at the core of our operations. It's a true pleasure to have had you as a...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 31 January 2017

2nd time around, still excellent. The grounds are amazing, and the service is in general excellent. However, we too missed the breakfast buffet that was included the last time there (both times staying in the same top tier room). Also, I took a 1/2 bottle of Pinot from the room home because it was in with the cookies that were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WernerZ
Ventana M, General Manager at Ventana Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WenerZ, Thank you so much for your review regarding your most recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear you had another excellent visit. Please join us again soon in the beauty of Big Sur! Best Regards, Catherine Becker General Manager Ventana Inn & Spa

848 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (335)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Big Sur Spa Suite (55)
Viewed
Clothing-Optional Lower Pool (17)
Viewed
Pacific House Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Fireplace Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Upper Pool (3)
Viewed
Ventana Guestroom (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
30.4 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
312 reviews
39.0 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
831 reviews
34.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,624 reviews
32.4 km away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
1,279 reviews
6.4 km away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#2 of 2 in Big Sur
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ventana Inn & Spa is a luxurious resort nestled in the mountains above California’s central coast. Situated on 243 acres of wooded hillside, 1,200 feet above the Pacific Ocean on the Big Sur coast, Ventana Inn & Spa is quiet, secluded and beautiful. The Inn provides a peaceful and soothing atmosphere enhanced by its proximity to the area’s natural wonders. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ventana Inn & Spa

Address: 48123 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920-9538
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Price Range: ₹ 44,177 - ₹ 86,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ventana Inn & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Ventana Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventana Inn And Spa
Ventana Hotel Big Sur
Ventana Resort Big Sur
Ventana Inn Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ventana Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ventana Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's worth splurging on a room with a fireplace, especially in the winter.”
984amyl, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a top floor room or you will hear everything that happens above you.”
jamesl845, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“fireplace rooms with ocean views are the best”
226marshallc, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You are in the woods, do not expect rooms to have an ocean view. You can get the ocean view at the restaurant. :)”
651matthewj, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Sweet Suite deal is a good one. ”
carlheir, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates