We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel el Moro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel el Moro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel el Moro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is great. The breakfast in the morning is also very nice. The staff was very helpful. I wish we had stayed longer. We plan on going back next year and staying for one week. The garden is also very pretty. We were on the...

1Thank FlowersBoston_MA
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear FlowersBoston_MA: We all at Hotel El Moro are thankful for your review and time to write it. We are happy that our service and rooms were attractive, clean and nice so that you consider to visit us again next year. Indeed Puerto Morelos is growing in services and becoming a unique tourist attraction. Our visitors as you do, appreciate...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Our first stay at the Hotel el Moro and hopefully not the last. When we drove up to the hotel I was pleasantly surprised by the welcoming covered dining area by the entrance. A small bar and kitchen serve drinks and food which was very much appreciated after a morning of travel. Check in was easy and we were surprised...

Thank mary8202016
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear mary8202016: Thanks for your time to write a review of our services. We are happy when we meet and/or surpass our guests expectations. We thanks also for your preference and as you suggested, become part of the "Amigos del Moro Club" that unofficially our guests have formed. Indeed and thanks to our friends that visit us every year, it...

New York
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Our room on the 3rd floor was huge, clean, well appointed, and had a water view from our balcony. Israel, one of the owners, is beyond nice and helpful. Having lived in Texas, his English is perfect. There's a lovely thatch covered roof deck with comfortable chairs and ocean views. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Thank dbgNewYork
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear dbgNewYork: We are happy that we exceeded your expectations. From our perspective, there is nothing better than a clean room, a comfortable bed and nice, friendly ambiance for our well deserved vacations. We are glad that you found that place in Hotel El Moro. We hope that you have in the near future some extra time or your visit...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Comfortable room with everything we needed. We got a suite with a kitchen and cooked a few meals easily. It was cleaned spotless each day and the staff were wonderful. Grounds were terrific - with garden sitting area, pool and rooftop. It is one block from a great public beach and they have a beach club. There is an american...

2Thank kindkitchen
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear kindkitchen: Thanks for your review and time to write it. We are happy when our guests find our service up to their expectations. We wait for your next visit when we hope that you can also take advantage of our transportation and tour services to plan and enjoy your vacation in the Riviera Maya. Again, thanks for your time...

Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Interesting little hotel in the heart of downtown Puerto Morelos, close to the town square, the beachfront, and many, many, many restaurants, including the excellent one in the hotel itself. Our room was more like a suite, large, with a living/kitchen area, and a separate large bedroom. There was a full sized refrigerator, a tiny little stove, sink, plates, etc....

Thank darylqu
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear darylqu: Thanks for your review. I am glad that overall you had a good staying that makes you come back to us. I am puzzled by your comment about no AC. You described one of our suites (full sized refrigerator, a tiny little stove, sink, plates, etc. In the bath area there was a nicely appointed large shower, a...

Karben, Germany
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Our flight was delayed. Therefore, we arrived at the hotel at around 5 o’clock in the morning instead of at around 9:30 pm. Even though we had written an email prior to our arrival informing the hotel that we were going to come in late, we found ourselves in front of locked doors. The reception was closed despite the fact...

2Thank Felix F
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Felix F: We feel very sorry for your waiting for service and our miscommunication with you and your travel agent. After a long journey, we all look forward to a warm shower and bed to rest. Again, I apologize for this miscommunication. I sincerely hope that you had a better experience with our service during the rest of your...

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This hotel is small gem in the heart of the town. Staff is very friendly, most of them speak good English. Rooms are big and clean. Ours was on the second floor with a king bed, an AC, fridge, sofa, and a roomy cloths closet . Property has a small pool but the hotel is only a block from the...

1Thank anne_valta
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear anne_valta: We all at Hotel el Moro thanks you for your visit and time to write your review of our services. We are glad when our guest find our rooms comfortable, clean and appropriate to have a good vacation. I am sorry that ceiling and floor fans were not on when you had breakfast. Because we live in an...

Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Great front desk guy, Allen. From there down hill. Had Master Suite because everything else was booked. Small, cramped and the smell of Raid bug spray and mustiness was awful. Did not feel comfortable and felt toxic. Very little sleep due to smell. Great location. Not for us.

2Thank nevera
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear nevera: First an apology for your bad experience which should have not happened. We recently installed a high pressure water system so we equalized hot and cold water pressure specially in the suites. Problem solved, but all of a sudden we had a water leak which affected the upper suites. We had instructed not to rent such suite until...

Reviewed 25 November 2015

We found this hotel by chance when we were unhappy with the B&B we had actually booked. They offered us a room for 3 nights at what we considered to be a very reasonable price. Our room was well sized and equipped. We found the sofa particularly comfortable. Staff were very friendly, and we really fell for the baby Freda!...

1Thank SuperDad1
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Superdad1: We all at Hotel El Moro thank you for both your staying with us and your time to write this review. We are glad that by chance you find us and have a nice end for your vacation. Indeed Puerto Morelos is a great place to have a relaxing time surrounded by nature and friendly people. We hope...

Reviewed 24 November 2015

We made a reservation over the phone to stay at this hotel this past Saturday. We arrived around 9pm that night to find out our reservation was never put into the computer and our room was given to someone else. This was bad news considering many hotels in our budget were booked that night. The chauffeur was nice enough to...

Thank jac8724
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear jac8724: First, I am sorry and embarrassed that we lost your reservation, and second thanks for returning to us after that bad experience. We just updated our web page and added new functions such as reservation and payment on line. We are getting used to new procedures and we are training our staff to handle it properly. This is...

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (215)
Room/Suite (32)
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Dining (49)
Pool/Beach Area (18)
View from Room (6)
Bathroom (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#18 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
344 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
73 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
109 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
11,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Price Range: ₹ 5,014 - ₹ 9,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya/Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel el Moro staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel el Moro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in room 38”
 of 5 bubbles Fencation, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“not the main floor by back exit...sewer smell”
 of 5 bubbles lynnm712, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back of the property are quieter. Try not to be directly over the street in front.”
 of 5 bubbles CathyH38, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tends to be loud in front till about 10 PM”
 of 5 bubbles bigdogroad, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We experienced a very loud & continous TV from an adjacent hotel on the second floor. I think it's a crap shoot.”
 of 5 bubbles dianebrinkman13, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5