We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
House No - 1 Village And P O - Gethia Chinkuwa, Gethiya, Nainital 263127 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (860)
Room & Suite (190)
Dining (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bara Bungalow
Updated 14/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Bara Bungalow, Gethia, Nainital - a serene boutique resort atop a mountain spur. Bara Bungalow is a charming 100 year old British bungalow, aesthetically restored to offer you a exclusive holiday experience. The twelve bedrooms, each with a distinct flavour and a swimming pool and great cuisine adds to its appeal Resort, Nainital, Mountains, peaceful, holiday, weekend break.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Breakfast available
Badminton
Game room
Car hire
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Billiards
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
579Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 474
  • 82
  • 9
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shalki-89 wrote a review Jan 2022
New Delhi, India110 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this property during New Year Weekend for 3 nights. We were a group of 4 and stayed in the rooms, ‘Ridge private room’ and the other one which was below it. Positives first : 1. Great staff & very good hospitality 2. Food is home cooked and delicious. 3. Stunning views 4. A private common room was there in the wing where we stayed which was a great plus. 5. Gala dinner and the small get together which they arranged was quite good. 6. Mr Suraj was kind enough to call us on the day when we were travelling to take an alternate route as there was same political rally going on. The property has all the features which can make it a boutique one if it manages to work on the below listed things: 1. The heater which was there in the ‘Ridge private room’ was very small and insufficient for the huge room. 2. The bed was small and difficult to adjust a couple. 3. There was plenty of sitting area and no wardrobe/almirahs to keep the stuff, I am sure that the property is definitely advertising itself as a work from home property but where are the people expected to keep their stuff, on the chairs /sofas? This is specific to Private ridge room, I am not sure about the other rooms. 4. One day the shower head fell down on the floor as soon as I was going to take a shower in the shower area, which could have caused a major accident as it was just a matter of few seconds. 5. The property also has 2 dogs (Badal & Bijli) and it was nowhere mentioned while booking that the property has pets, for someone who’s petrified of dogs this might not be an ideal vacation, for dog lovers it can be a treat for sure ! The property has all the potential to make its mark with its multiple sitting areas, beautiful corners delicious food, they just need to work on the operations and they can make a mark for themselves in the competitive hotels industry.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 1. Check the rooms before hand where you’ll be staying.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We would work on shortcomings highlighted in your review and ensure such things are not repeated in future. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashwini Deshpande wrote a review Dec 2021
Mumbai, India1 contribution
The location of the hotel is superb..away from the main city...very amazing property and well maintained..The food is also nice. Staff is very cordial...they welcomed us with so much warmth...Overall a very good experience..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sameera S wrote a review Dec 2021
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India1 contribution
+1
Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for solace , excellent service and delicious food… Special call out to our manager Suraj and chef Shivam who made our stay comfortable and memorable and served us finger licking food!! The place is beautifully done up retaining the English charm and the staff is extremely polite and helpful.. Look forward to visiting again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RajatMendiratta wrote a review Nov 2021
Ghaziabad, India10 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked the Bara Bungalow, Gethia for a one night stay on 18th October. On 18th evening, while I was on my way to the hotel, I received a call from Mr. Suraj stating that the hotel is inaccessible due to landslides and I should not come. I asked about cancellation and he said please reach out to your Online travel agent. I have a voice recording of this call. I called the online travel agent and asked them to cancel the booking because the property is unreachable. They told me that they will come back to me. They came back and said that the hotel is saying that they were accessible. I then told them that I have a voice recording and called Suraj who assured me that he will look into it and get it cancelled. Long story short, after a month of follow-ups, Rosakue hospitality is refusing to refund the amount as they claim they were informed late by the OTA. Between the OTA and Rosakue hospitaity, I do not know what transpired, all I know is that I informed both on time and they are refusing to refund my hard-earned money. In the meantime, I have spent umpteen hours on calling and emailing both. Beware of companies that treat customers like this. I will of course be taking legal action. It does not matter if the lawyer costs more than the hotel booking, it is important for companies such as this to be held accountable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 4 Dec 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As communicated to you earlier considering the safety of our guest we had called all our guest during the heavy rains which lashed Uttarakhand and advised them about condition of the area. As you mentioned in your comment we offered free cancellation to guest who were unable to reach the property , Since it was a booking through OTA we cannot cancel the booking on our own until we receive a request from the OTA and same was informed by Suraj to you, but we didn't received any call from OTA. The first call which we received from OTA about the cancellation was after a month. We tried our best to resolve the issue but since the transaction has happened between you and OTA the unit cannot refund amount directly to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ria wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Our experience at Bara Bunglow was great - starting from the room we got at the Bunglow 2 to the food and the constant, warm service. The property is well maintained and located at a lovely spot with well maintained lawns, forests and a 360-degree view of the mountains. Chandanji, rakeshji, and the rest of the staff is very welcoming - which made such a difference. Sooraj ji, the operations manager, was always available even when his hands were full. Overall, we would not only recommend the property to friends and family but also hope to return sometime soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
khushi wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Very cozy and very beautiful. The interior itself adds a vibe to your tour. The view is amazing, the food is amazing...the people are very polite and helpful. Its 10km away from Nainital...which is far enough to keep you away from the city hustle yet close enough to reach there in no time. The best option for someone who wants to just relax and is seeking for some "me time".
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ArpitAroar wrote a review Oct 2021
Lucknow District, India36 contributions
+1
It is a resort located before around 10km of Nainital Mall road market so if you want to avoid rush and relax in a quiet place then this is a good destination. We planned for 3 night stay and our room was Turret. They have different rooms all with different concepts. Although I did not got the concept of our room it was nice with white and light blue walls and a big window which opens to their garden area. We reached there around 8 PM and were greeted very well and our luggage was sent to our room. As we checked in I found three issues :- 1) One of their light bulb was not working which was not fixed till the day we checked out which made us to stay in low light condition. 2) The milk powder they kept for tea was expired and when I informed them of same they started arguing that it was not expired as they did not had extra milk pouches. 3) The room was not clean and I saw spider webs on walls. Apart from this their swimming pool was very dirty and even after asking to clean they didn't cleaned it. Coming to good points :- Now coming to their food. Breakfast buffet was good, they had multiple options. Although the food taste was average the quality and variety was there. Their dinner was better but they had very limited options in dinner. We had non-veg both days and the taste was awesome. One good thing they prepared very good infant food and did not even charged for it, might be as a gesture for the earlier issues. Their property is good place to spend 2-3 days, they had a good book collection. All in all a average stay but I would suggest to visit as the staff was good and was trying their best to help us out in anyway possible. We asked for cow milk for our child and they provided fresh milk everyday. Cheers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is available but they do not let your driver to use their wash room and the driver will...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We would work on shortcomings highlighted in your review and ensure such things are not repeated in future. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shivank Awasthi wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
Although I was about to give 4-5 stars even before visiting the property given the beauty it is, after I visited it was even surreal experience. Worth every penny and beyond. Great place ofc, great hospitality, facilities, architecture and literally THE best food imo. A must must place to visit and I'm going back again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bammisomali wrote a review Sep 2021
New Delhi, India2 contributions
Perfect place just a few kilometres away from Nainital if you are seeking solace and coziness. A beautiful colonial architecture. Impeccable hospitality. Delicious food served with much love and warmth. All hygiene standards top notch
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please check for the parking during peak season and the placement of rooms if you are travelling...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 1 Oct 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manu Verma wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
This property is a great place to spent time closer to nature. The space has authenticity and art in every corner, I loved their decor. Also, the staff is really polite and humble. I stayed there with my mom and the experience was amazing. I recommend this property 100% to everyone who likes nature, good food and a chill vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bara Bungalow
Responded 1 Oct 2021
Namaskar! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bara Bungalow Gethia, Nainital. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Two Chimneys Gethia
LOCATION
IndiaUttarakhandNainital DistrictNainitalGethiya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bara Bungalow
Which popular attractions are close to Bara Bungalow?
Nearby attractions include Nainital Lake (3.1 km), Kainchi Dham Neem Karoli Baba Ashram (4.0 km), and Goddess Naina Devi (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bara Bungalow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Bara Bungalow?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Bara Bungalow?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bara Bungalow?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bara Bungalow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pine Wood Restaurant, The Lake Hill Restaurant Café, and Café LakeSide.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bara Bungalow?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bara Bungalow located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Gethiya.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bara Bungalow?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bara Bungalow?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Bara Bungalow?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Governor's House Raj Bhawan (4.0 km).