We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rihe - Andhale Road Pune, Maharashtra, Katarkhadak 411002 India
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
FindHotel
$83
View deal
Priceline
$101
View deal
Agoda.com
Etrip$83
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Katarkhadak
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Overlooking the Khamboli Dam, the Avanti Kalagram Resort features village trips, craft workshops and traditional Maharashtrian food. Location: Avanti Kalagram Resort is located at village Katarkhadak, in Pune. The resort is 41 km from Begdaewadi Train Station and 46 km from Pune Lohegaon Airport. The major attractions around the area are the nearby tribal villages surrounded by scenic beauty. Guests can also visit Sri Balaji Mandir (30 km) and Rajiv Gandhi Zoological Park (45 km).Room Amenities: Overlooking the Khamboli Dam, the resort offers accommodation categorized into Camping Tents, Family Rooms (for a minimum of 10 people) and AC Deluxe Rooms. The rooms are well-equipped with TV, work space, shower, towels and premium toiletries. Hotel Facilities: The resort comes with a swimming pool, along with a baby pool. Among the myriad recreational activities at the resort, there are art and craft workshops, indoor and outdoor games, children's play area, adventure sports such as zipline and rappaling. The resort also organizes campfire, candle light dinners, karaoke, village tourism trips and off-road cycling. Dining, The restaurant at this resort offers delicious Maharastrian food, especially Bhakari, Kharda and Pakoda.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Restaurant
Game room
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
38Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 11
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mridul G wrote a review Sep 2021
345 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
Avanti Kalagram is a wonderful, hill top resort that has luxury rooms converted from shipping containers for accommodation, which is its specialty. There are also deluxe rooms in the resort. We had reserved two container rooms and a deluxe room for our group by paying advance (50%) directly to the resort booking office and the whole booking experience was quick and easy. Had made payment to them by cc and received confirmation by email. The marketing person located in the city was always ready to help and guide with directions and other information. This resort is located in the vicinity of Pune, about 35 kms from the university, so it is an easy drive up to the resort for a day picnic or a staycation. The uphill road to the resort, for about a km, is rough and virtually non-existent because of the monsoon but other than that, the village roads are decent and in generally good condition. The resort has sufficient parking space. The container rooms in the resort are done up in modern style one can almost consider them in 4* category. The containers are large enough to accommodate a king size bed and a bathroom. The bathroom is completely equipped with all the modern feature like a WC, basin, exhaust fan, towel rack, electric geyser and a shower. The beds are comfortable and come with soft pillows and a thick mattress. The blankets covered in white sheets are pretty comfy too with a lot of warmth – you would need to turn on the AC or the fan even in a very cool weather. There is also a half cupboard with a shelf to hang in the clothes. The room is also equipped with an electric kettle and the resort provides tea bags and coffee, sugar, milk powder pouches for the guests along with cups and glasses. Even a couple of bottled water are provided in the room. A couple and a child can easily sleep on the large bed. Each container room has its own private sit out with a hanging bamboo chair and a bench provided so that guests can chill out while sitting under a shaded/covered patio amidst the greenery and enjoy the views of the hills. The deluxe rooms are located on the first floor near the restaurant in a building. The entrance to the rooms is from behind the building. I believe there are dorm rooms on the ground floor and common toilets/baths (separate for men and women) are provided behind the building, which are clean and well maintained. The deluxe rooms are large and have a terrace with the river/valley facing view. The rooms are good but lack in modernity similar to the container rooms. Even the bathrooms are old style. The beds are large and the room has a divan for the extra guest or a big child who requires a bed. As the name suggests, the resort is an art themed, eco-friendly and I believe, pet friendly place. It is spread over a vast area and also boasts of a private waterfall. There is no reception area – it is located in the restaurant. The check-in process is simple and relatively fast as the staff knows who are the guests expected that day. It helps that the number of rooms is quite limited. The package in the resort includes all the meals (morning tea/coffee, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea/coffee with biscuits, evening tea with snacks, and dinner) and is served in their restaurant (no room service, I believe). The rustic charm of the staff in the restaurant cannot be escaped easily. The food is quite authentic Maharashtrian but also includes variety of Indian dishes not restricted to the state, for example, the breakfast included bread, butter and jam, poori and aloo-chana bhaaji. The taste was generally delicious and veg and non-veg food is served as buffet. Eat to your heart’s desire but do let them know how many people are non-vegetarians. The restaurant has a large sitting area open from the sides for the unrestricted views. Soft drinks and soda is available for purchase and one could carry their alcoholic beverages and store them in the cooler in the restaurant. There is also a provision for ordering veg/non-veg barbecue at extra cost and its well worth the money as the guests are encouraged to manage the grilling part in the end themselves for a wholesome experience. The facilities include indoor games area as well as lawns for outdoor sports including a swimming near a small waterfall and spring. Indoor games include table tennis, Foosball, carom board, and chess. Swimming pool was not operational because of the restrictions due to the ongoing pandemic. The stay package also includes a few handicraft activities for the guests such as pottery, bamboo wood craft and bottle art. Pottery making is more fun than others and everything is done in specially made art studios that are on the site. Guests can even purchase handicrafts made by the local villagers at a reasonable price. All the activities, including cooking, is done by local villagers and so there is an element of warmth and homeliness in their service as opposed to the professionally trained hotel management staff. We had a good time enjoying the indoor games as there were hardly any other guests to bother us. The resort is surrounded by terraced farms as well rolling hills and has a few trails that one can head out on in search of adventure. One of the main draws in the monsoon season is the waterfall in the resort, which is about 500 mts. and the path to is from behind the building where the deluxe rooms are located. One has to find their way to the waterfall and could get lost easily so better to take help of a staff member to lead the way. We were the only people at the waterfall when we went there the morning after spending the night in the resort. It is truly a mesmerizing sight – huge fall with a lot of water. We had a lot of good time taking bath under the fall but be ware that the last 100 mts. or so approach to the fall requires a steep climb over rocks, which could be a challenge for some young and elderly. Since we went in the middle of monsoon season, the fall was at its best and it is also used for extreme sports such as water rappelling and rock climbing. I had a memorable stay with family and relative and was not once bothered about anything. This is a place to go to relax and unwind from the daily routine. And it is a beautiful place in the rains, which we experienced plenty of but it only added to the charm. I would recommend this property very highly to any visitor whether with friends or with family. You’ll want to go back to it year after year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Container C8 has very good views and a gangway to the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Wow, Mridul! Thank you so very much for the awesome detailed review. We are so Greatfull.
Read more
Naman K wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
So this is our friends get together place where we love to chill. The ambience is simple amazing. Food is typical desi style prepared with love. Every time we go we enjoy the bonfire and pool sessions… A must visit especially with friends and family
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you, 235namank for the review.
Read more
Nick wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have been to this place multiple times with my close friends and it's always been a great and greater experience everytime I visit this lovely place... The Property, The Staff, The surroundings, The Art Work, THE FOOD, THE POOL everything is so great that you won't be able to resist to say... "Waaaaoooo kya mast hai 🤗"
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you, Shrees for the review.
Read more
Tarun B wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Solo trip : Although i have visited Avanti with family and extended family , i always wondered what the place could offer if i went alone for 2-3 days during monsoons and stayed in the containers. In July 2021 , i picked up my laptop and a JIO dongle and ended up staying for a week . The container i had taken provided a broad view of the valley down and enjoying the day and evening there looking at the rains is MAGIC !! And that is not the best part , my family loves the food they serve there . 5 stars. With Friends : If you are going with friends , there is a huge lawn with cricket kits , a covered area next to the lawn for table tennis , foosball , carrom etc . One more point of interest is the infinity pool right at the top ( which was closed due to covid ) , and they times we have gone was either for a party or it was raining heavily. After playing for bit , treat yourself to GARAM GARAM bhajiya and chai in the evening snacks. overall : food 5 stars accessibility 5 stars ( 1 hour from hinjewadi) Service 5 stars Rooms 5 stars ( do not expect 5 star razmatazz , they are perfect for what you are looking for a place like this )
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: A top container overlooking the valley , request the staff to light up a barbeque
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you, Pioneer513639 for the review.
Read more
Richa wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at Avanti Kalagram for 3nights and trust me, I did not feel like leaving this place. Everything including Food, place owner's family, location, climate, greenery, scenes, peace etc etc etc long list..is AWESOME. Do visit this place and experience a little patch of heaven, and that too so close to Pune! It has something for everyone. Elderly people, kids, young families, just a group of friends, young and old everyone. A highly recommended place. Avanti Kalagram - 9822063864 - Deepak Bachal (Owner) Location – 14 Km away from Hinjewadi IT Park (Village Katarkhadak)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you, Richa for the review.
Read more
AratiDabir wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
We 5 and kid visited Avanti Kalagram on 29th August. It’s such a rustic yet with all amenities place . We enjoyed small hike , we even visited water body . Food was delicious with lots of varieties Stayed in container room was totally different experience . Next time will with bigger group Thanks Pranav, Vishal From Arati Dabir
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Thank you, Arati for the review.
Read more
Collette L wrote a review Jul 2021
Mumbai, India26 contributions7 helpful votes
The place is average.. with good view and decent food The place is isolated with no network, we stayed in the delux room and the pathway was poor with no lighting ... Service is poor , as there is no intercom for everything we had to walk to the reception .. The play area/ activity zone has nothing to experience Unfortunately the day we went there was no water as 1 Phase was down. However we enjoyed due to the waterfall and the climate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Thank you for the review. As said there are was a storm and electricity problem which was out of our hands. Glad you enjoyed the waterfall and the climate. Hope to serve you better.
Read more
iShri81 wrote a review Jul 2021
Mumbai, India23 contributions5 helpful votes
Visited Avanti Kalagram five months bck. Was an ordinary experience. Nothing great to boast about. Tried booking for Monday 26th July for two nights. Unfortunately, I had a reservation agent called Saurabh who was attending to my reservation. This fellow didn't have a clue of what I was asking about. When negotiating the rates he agreed on all rates but when it came to booking he back tracked and became rude and abusive. I advise everyone not to visit this place as it is not all that attractive. Better to visit matheran or some other attractive destination.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bigfoot Hospitality, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Hello Sir, I am glad you visited Avanti Kalagram 5 months back and you want to visit again as you must have liked the property but I am sorry that you did not get the desired rates which you wanted however we have certain limitations and we cannot go below that rates. Also, we have checked that there was no abusive content from our end however I can see that you have started abusing our agent on WhatsApp chat and threaten to put trip advisor review which we have it in the record. The only mistake from our agent was he did not give your desired rates which were unrealistic. We respect all our guests and we also expect the same from the guest as well. Without experiencing the property putting a bad review just because you did not get the rates you wanted is something new to us. However, we are more than happy to host you at our property in case if you wanted to confirm the reservation at our standard rates. Also, Request you not to leave such a false review on this reputed platform.
Read more
dramanbhonsle wrote a review Dec 2020
Mumbai, India129 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Avanti Kalagram is a boutique homestay featuring container homes & a few basic but comfortable deluxe rooms. It’s drivability from Pune makes it a decent & cheap weekend getaway for locals. My old friend & I visited this place from Mumbai during the Covid-19 Pandemic to head off the grid for a few days. There is no mobile network here & Wifi access (upon request) is available only in the dining area. The highlight of this property featuring the container homes is that despite their slightly cramped size, they have a cozy vibe to them & they overlook a gorgeous valley from the front deck each of them has. Each deck also features a swing. You’ll notice the incorporation of bamboos & bottles in the lamp shades & other misc. artifacts that give the place its eclectic & slightly bohemian vibe for all sustainability & minimalism buffs. It would seem that this is the dream project of an architect named Deepak Bachal. The property also features a cutesy art village that incorporates pottery, paper mache, bamboo art, bottle art etc. The setup seems lovely if a little decrepit & unkept. With a few nudges & upgrades, this place would shine truly well. A few hammocks, beanbags & few painted walls with a little bit of landscaping with greens would have taken this place to the next level. It’s a real pity that a lot of the art village demos were shut (understandably due to a lack of demand)... We bought some simple bamboo souvenirs from their in house shop which has a guy named Mohammad from Assam who assists you with the same (he is also the resident bamboo artisan). The two dogs (Jeff & Gomes) on the property are friendly & may follow you around at times. There’s also a cat that waits around on you for tablescraps in the dining area. The mini trekking trail that takes you to a seasonal waterfall & sunset point is lovely to walk on & not to be missed. The property has a trampoline, table tennis table, foozeball table & carrom for those interested in the games room area. Cricket too can be played in a small open field. A Karaoke machine is available upon request in the dining area too during the evenings. A BBQ can be arranged upon request too. The empty swimming pool with stagnant water that’s turned muddy is a reminder of the ominous pandemic that’s hit us bad this year. PROS Pretty good service (Chotu - the bellboy & Hari - the cook & Vishal - the caretaker are happy to customize food to your tastes & requirements). They also live near to the premises. Great offbeat & artsy vibe The food is homely & customizable if you have a chat with the front desk guy Vishal & the cook - Hari Unique container homes & valley view feature Deluxe Rooms have an extremely comfortable double bed that rivals the best ones I have slept on at even a 5 star property Lovely cool weather (We’ve visited in December) CONS Water falls out from bathroom area in the container rooms Hot water isn’t hot enough in container rooms. Shower pressure is plain bad. The deluxe room where we spent one night is more spacious & has a mini fridge as well. The room had a bit of an ant problem & some bugs but the rest was fine. No porter service / facility to shift bags to the room. You have to carry your own bags to & fro from the car (so better pack light).. This seems odd to me as they aren’t shortstaffed. If some women & seniors require help with heavy bags, who’s gonna help them? Container homes have extremely thin walls which makes having a private conversation a public affair & can ruin the experience for those looking for a slightly quieter & peaceful time with silence in the hills. Front desk isn’t active at nights in case of any medical or other emergencies. The road leading up to the property will test the resolve of a small car with poor suspension. Despite the lake being visible, there are no boating facilities or activities available or arrangeable on request. Parking seems a bit cramped if you’re coming in a big group or big car. There is no concept of private security here & it’s easy for imposters to enter or for theft to occur though that may not be the expectation. Power cuts in the afternoon Staff doesn’t wear face-masks (at all) though Hand Sanitizer is available in the dining sitout area. Container homes lack mini fridge which Deluxe rooms have. No network coverage & lack of wifi (for those who need to be connected constantly with the outside world for work etc.) A few mood lights & fairy lights later & this place would be even better than it is. Hammocks would be great too. This is a nice place to take a book with to. Don’t expect 5 star luxury & opulence. It’s basic, it’s quaint & it’s cost effective if you want to travel on a budget or spend some time away from the city’s chaos, crowds, Covid & traffic - pls come here
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pranav Bachal, Owner at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Thank you for the Awesome Review.
Read more
TravelTravel wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
All the pathways are dark around the actual rooms. There are facilities like TV,A/C, Refrigerator, heater which are not working. Smelly bed covers Below avarage food that also very late. No network,no room service,no intercom. For every problem go through muddy and dark pahway and slippery stone steps.Staff may come or may not. After coming also they may solve ur problem. Way to activity area is also slippery and away from actual place. For little kids and sr citizens definitely should avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reputationmanagement, Manager at Avanti Kalagram
Responded 26 Sep 2019
Dear guest, Travelandmore2000 Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Manager can discuss your issues personally. Thanks and Regards Avanti Kalagram.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMaharashtraPune DistrictKatarkhadak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avanti Kalagram
Which popular attractions are close to Avanti Kalagram?
Nearby attractions include Tikona Fort (7.8 km) and Kasarsai Dam (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avanti Kalagram?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Avanti Kalagram?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Avanti Kalagram?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Avanti Kalagram?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avanti Kalagram?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Avanti Kalagram have airport transportation?
Yes, Avanti Kalagram offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Avanti Kalagram?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Avanti Kalagram offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avanti Kalagram?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Avanti Kalagram?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tikona Fort (7.8 km).