We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harley Estate, Sakleshpur 573134 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (145)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Golden Wood
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 60 Speciality lodging in Sakleshpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"There are no trees like the trees of that land. A self sufficient forest which offers space out of time for those who live or visit there. A dip in its mystical stream is a cure for weariness." A vacation on this eco-property, amidst 500 acres of the best (awarded) coffees, green, many lakes and a gurgling stream at Harley Estate feel quite as enchanting, and the perfect place for a totally relaxed getaway. A few days of bliss just 4 hours from Bangalore
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Room service
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
92Reviews1Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 25
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Saraswati Srinath wrote a review Feb 2021
Bengaluru, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
We just got back from Golden woods Sakleshpur. It was a terrible experience. The manager Suraj escorted us to our accomadation called Hilltop. We were not even offered a welcome drink....we had to ask for one....especially after the bumpy , rough ride in the maruthi gypsy....it was backbreaking. Following this, manager Suraj never checked on us or enquired about our comfort. Rooms have not been cleaned for ages. Pictures are attached. See the pic of the rajai which was offered to us. Carpet was full of muck. No room cleaning service was offered on the 2nd day. Food was so so. No fruits were available. Dirty rooms, an uncaring manager, somewhat ok food, no fruits given.....then why the exorbitant rates?????If this is the quality of service you want to offer, then bring down the tariff. Dont cheat people by just quoting the "Harley Estate". Hugely disappointed and came back with a feeling of being cheated and taken for a ride. Will not recommend it to any family or friends either
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Wood, General Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 5 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, We would like to personally apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us. We continually try to do our best for all our guests. We have looked into each issue that you have noted, and addressed them to ensure they will not repeat again. Upon investigation of what might have gone wrong with your trip, we understand that there may have been some different perspectives that were shared. We apologize for anything that we did do wrong. But we would also like to add a response to your review so that information is clear to all our guests. The jeep ride is part of the experience of the estate stay. This is something that all of our guests so far, have enjoyed. We have mentioned it specifically in our website as well. I believe that our property manager, despite having several other responsibilities, has spent a considerable amount of time with you and ensured that you were able to do all the activities that you wanted to through your entire stay. Our service team is in place just for this reason. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our room styles are rustic and have a slightly different appearance. They are all old buildings and we have tried to maintain them with the same look and feel, which is part of the experience. Especially with the Covid pandemic, we have been extremely diligent in ensuring that all of our spaces are sanitized and cleaned regularly. Our carpets as well had been washed a week prior to your arrival. Since the rasai had also just come back from laundry, this is something we are taking up with the laundry team as well to see what might have gone wrong. I believe it was also an extra rasai given to help with the chilly nights, along with our regular bedding. We have come to understand the pantry door hinge was a bit loose. This has been fixed. Our Covid policies (which are on our website) state very clearly that we will not clean the room until you have checked out. Our team would have helped if there was anything specific that you required done. There should have been more varities of friut than what was served to you. This is an issue we are addressing with our team. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the local cuisine. And that we did not live up to your expectations. I guess we could not cater to the kind of experience you were expecting. Golden Wood is all about the coffee and nature experience. Our property is about experiencing nature and keeping everything around us as natural as possible. The stays are supposed to give you a feel of the estate life. All of this information was available on our website and in the emails we shared with you, even prior to your booking. The price for your stay with us is for experiencing the entire 800 acres of Harley Estate, which Golden Wood is a part of, the drives through the estate, the water bodies, coffee tour, etc, to name a few. We also understand that the pictures you have shared have been taken post your check out, when you requested our team to spend a little bit more time on our property and our service team got to cleaning the room you had stayed in. We do not believe that that is an accurate depiction of the property. Having said that, rest assured that we stand by our quality and service standards, and would appreciate opportunities to be of service to our valued guests. Regards, Management
Read more
Rashmi K wrote a review Dec 2020
Hyderabad, India5 contributions3 helpful votes
It is a perfect place to just chill out and do nothing. The best thing we liked about this place was the waterfalls and the stream running between their estate. Mr Suraj arranged for a picnic to that spot by packing snacks and beer. The food was mouth-watering, a combination of Malnad cuisine and regular north indian and south indian dishes was a delectable experience. Loved their coffee body wash and shampoos. Being avid coffee lovers, we found the visit to the coffee lab very informative. We bought a couple of their coffee blends, they are amazing. To sum it up - A cozy place nestled in the middle of a huge plantation, stream, waterfalls, yummy food and good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ankit s wrote a review Nov 2020
Bengaluru, India131 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
Everything is exceptional about the stay at Golden Estate. The food that other reviews are talking about are true. Superb food. You feel you are in a jungle, its so dense and quiet and all you hear is birds. No phone signal in most parts, only nature to admire. Suraj the manager, showed us the various key sites at the property. Its almost surreal to see a coffee estate so large with its own water fall, 6 lakes and sunrise, sunset points. Meeting their coffee research head Mr. Prasanna was another big big highlight of the trip. He knows so much about coffee, its unbelievable. The coffee tasting session brought us a few notches up in our coffee appreciation. Then there were the birds, thousands of them of dozens of varieties! Ok instead of singing songs about this experience let me tell very simply that we planned for a 3 day trip. carried our music, and books. And what happened? we heard zero songs, read zero pages! Soaked in the coffee jungle, the sound of the waterfall and the nature all around. can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For the first trip, go with Whispering Trees. Try other rooms in subsequent trips :)
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JaniJermans wrote a review Feb 2020
Bengaluru, India305 contributions103 helpful votes
This was our 2nd visit after 2 years that we first visited this place. We had given our friends great hope as last time it was the best experience as food lovers were shooting video about this property and there were many guests including the owners etc. So we kind of got the VIP treatment then. So we kind of wished that we atleast have a similar experience. So we along with friends planned a one night stay at this property. Even though it was not the same before but it was overall good experience. The food was amazing, my vegetarian friends had less choice for dinner though. But we enjoyed the place and their hospitality. The coffee tasting session was a disappointment, however when we brought it to the notice of Mr. Suraj the incharge there he made it up next day. Amazing plantation drive and breakfast on the next day, we had to bid farewell to the place. Spending time at a mini fall which is in the property was a plus and it's an amazing experience. It's a little expensive but worth it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Radhika Rajnarayan wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My young nephew and I stayed for 4 days at the Golden Wood Coffee estate. It was so peaceful, green, bird song everywhere! We photographed several rare birds. At the guest house, the rooms were comfortable, and well designed, with every convenience. The staff, headed by Mr Manoj were very kind and hospitable. The food was excellent, and not the typical hotel food full of spice. My nephew, a coffee aficionado, specifically wanted to visit the coffee laboratory. Mr Prasanna, the scientist there, spent several hours with us explaining the various processes and grades of coffee. We also visited the plantations... Astounded to know that it is 800 acres! This is an unspoilt hidden gem of a place, ideal for a short getaway. I highly recommend Golden Wood as one of the must-experience places in Karnataka.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Dear Ms Radhika, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur! Best Regards, Divya
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$171 - US$246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaHassan DistrictSakleshpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Wood
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Wood?
Nearby attractions include Manjarabad Fort (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Wood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Wood?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Wood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Wood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nyritvilla Homestay in sakleshpur, Mythri Restaurant, and Hanbal Chikki Factory.
Are pets allowed at Golden Wood?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.