We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harley Estate, Sakleshpur 573134 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Golden Wood
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 60 Specialty lodging in Sakleshpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"There are no trees like the trees of that land. A self sufficient forest which offers space out of time for those who live or visit there. A dip in its mystical stream is a cure for weariness." A vacation on this eco-property, amidst 500 acres of the best (awarded) coffees, green, many lakes and a gurgling stream at Harley Estate feel quite as enchanting, and the perfect place for a totally relaxed getaway. A few days of bliss just 4 hours from Bangalore
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Room service
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
95Reviews1Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 25
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pranita88 wrote a review Apr 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India15 contributions
Having a nightmare dealing with this so called Golden Woods. I was supposed to visit this place between 15th to 18th April with my parents who are senior citizens. My reservation was confirmed a month back and I had received the confirmation voucher from one Mr Arun Kumar. On 12th April when I called them up some guy called Mr Abhishek picked up my call and he wasn’t able to find any reservation under my name and he said he will revert back in a bit. After 3-4 hours he called up stating that a booking is there under the travel agents name. When I asked him questions about the basic amenities like tea maker, refrigerator, AC at the property he was clueless and he again said he will check and revert. He also informed that due to some power outage they are shut down for 10 more days. I immediately called up travel agent A Lifetime Trip and told them to check as to what is happening. They later called me up stating that the resort is asking for 18k more even after paying them the amount that was initially agreed upon and also said that they will be able to accommodate us but power might be an issue. Who in their right frame of mind will go to such a place where the staff themselves weren’t sure about what was happening???? Secondly why will you ask for more money 3 days before the travel dates??? Lastly if you guys were shut down for 10 days why did you not inform earlier and why was there so much of miscommunication and back and forth on 12 and 13 of April? Taking all of these factors into consideration I decided I would cancel my trip and asked the resort for a refund and till date Golden Woods is denying to refund stating it was the customers fault. After reading the brief does anyone feel the customer was at fault and that the resort should be compensated? This is such a sham and these resort guys are nothing but conmen! Anyone looking at booking this resort beware!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dishanthk2018 wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I was solo travelling from Mumbai to various parts of Karnataka, main motto being learning about the Coffee culture in Karnataka, the highest coffee producing state in India. Landed at Golden Estate, Sakhleshpur after doing a good research about the property. 850 acres of plantation in which both varieties of coffee i.e. Robusta & Arabica are grown, 15 naturally occurring waterfalls, 5 natural ponds and several different varieties of crops organically grown inside this plantation and guess what? The food served is all harvested from the plantation itself. I had one of the best time in my life here at Golden Estate, special thanks to Dr. Yogi and team for making sure it was a comfortable and pleasant stay. Surely will come back with my family or friends next time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: You’ll seldom find connectivity here so be ready to disconnect from the world
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
naturadmirer wrote a review Mar 2022
Delhi2 contributions
+1
I went to attend Taichi retreat and came back with much more....the place is fabulous..beautiful sunrise spots, coffee farms, coffee cupping session, jungle safari, waterfall bathing, sun bathing, forest bathing....there’s no end to relaxation, rejuvenation, meditation opportunities...the staff is excellent (guided by coffee farm manager Yogi ) ever striving to make the stay comfortable to a memorable experience...arranging meals at hill tops, waterfalls, barbecues at camping site near the fountain.... It was meditative as well as adventrous.... the place has tie ups with experts in forest safaris, photography [Ramesh/Suresh & Kaveri), lateral thinking workshop (by beautiful and bubbly Ranjani of pink whistleman fame)....coffee cupping session and tour by Research head Prasanna.....all under leadership of an award winning coffee connoisseur Chandani, who multitasks effortlessly going about managing her 800 acre farm, endless meetings, while ensuring guests are well taken care of... to making a mouth watering barbeque ....all the while wearing her beautiful smile...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Saraswati Srinath wrote a review Feb 2021
Bengaluru, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
We just got back from Golden woods Sakleshpur. It was a terrible experience. The manager Suraj escorted us to our accomadation called Hilltop. We were not even offered a welcome drink....we had to ask for one....especially after the bumpy , rough ride in the maruthi gypsy....it was backbreaking. Following this, manager Suraj never checked on us or enquired about our comfort. Rooms have not been cleaned for ages. Pictures are attached. See the pic of the rajai which was offered to us. Carpet was full of muck. No room cleaning service was offered on the 2nd day. Food was so so. No fruits were available. Dirty rooms, an uncaring manager, somewhat ok food, no fruits given.....then why the exorbitant rates?????If this is the quality of service you want to offer, then bring down the tariff. Dont cheat people by just quoting the "Harley Estate". Hugely disappointed and came back with a feeling of being cheated and taken for a ride. Will not recommend it to any family or friends either
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Wood, General Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 5 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, We would like to personally apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us. We continually try to do our best for all our guests. We have looked into each issue that you have noted, and addressed them to ensure they will not repeat again. Upon investigation of what might have gone wrong with your trip, we understand that there may have been some different perspectives that were shared. We apologize for anything that we did do wrong. But we would also like to add a response to your review so that information is clear to all our guests. The jeep ride is part of the experience of the estate stay. This is something that all of our guests so far, have enjoyed. We have mentioned it specifically in our website as well. I believe that our property manager, despite having several other responsibilities, has spent a considerable amount of time with you and ensured that you were able to do all the activities that you wanted to through your entire stay. Our service team is in place just for this reason. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our room styles are rustic and have a slightly different appearance. They are all old buildings and we have tried to maintain them with the same look and feel, which is part of the experience. Especially with the Covid pandemic, we have been extremely diligent in ensuring that all of our spaces are sanitized and cleaned regularly. Our carpets as well had been washed a week prior to your arrival. Since the rasai had also just come back from laundry, this is something we are taking up with the laundry team as well to see what might have gone wrong. I believe it was also an extra rasai given to help with the chilly nights, along with our regular bedding. We have come to understand the pantry door hinge was a bit loose. This has been fixed. Our Covid policies (which are on our website) state very clearly that we will not clean the room until you have checked out. Our team would have helped if there was anything specific that you required done. There should have been more varities of friut than what was served to you. This is an issue we are addressing with our team. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the local cuisine. And that we did not live up to your expectations. I guess we could not cater to the kind of experience you were expecting. Golden Wood is all about the coffee and nature experience. Our property is about experiencing nature and keeping everything around us as natural as possible. The stays are supposed to give you a feel of the estate life. All of this information was available on our website and in the emails we shared with you, even prior to your booking. The price for your stay with us is for experiencing the entire 800 acres of Harley Estate, which Golden Wood is a part of, the drives through the estate, the water bodies, coffee tour, etc, to name a few. We also understand that the pictures you have shared have been taken post your check out, when you requested our team to spend a little bit more time on our property and our service team got to cleaning the room you had stayed in. We do not believe that that is an accurate depiction of the property. Having said that, rest assured that we stand by our quality and service standards, and would appreciate opportunities to be of service to our valued guests. Regards, Management
Read more
Rashmi K wrote a review Dec 2020
Hyderabad, India5 contributions3 helpful votes
It is a perfect place to just chill out and do nothing. The best thing we liked about this place was the waterfalls and the stream running between their estate. Mr Suraj arranged for a picnic to that spot by packing snacks and beer. The food was mouth-watering, a combination of Malnad cuisine and regular north indian and south indian dishes was a delectable experience. Loved their coffee body wash and shampoos. Being avid coffee lovers, we found the visit to the coffee lab very informative. We bought a couple of their coffee blends, they are amazing. To sum it up - A cozy place nestled in the middle of a huge plantation, stream, waterfalls, yummy food and good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ankit s wrote a review Nov 2020
Bengaluru, India133 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
Everything is exceptional about the stay at Golden Estate. The food that other reviews are talking about are true. Superb food. You feel you are in a jungle, its so dense and quiet and all you hear is birds. No phone signal in most parts, only nature to admire. Suraj the manager, showed us the various key sites at the property. Its almost surreal to see a coffee estate so large with its own water fall, 6 lakes and sunrise, sunset points. Meeting their coffee research head Mr. Prasanna was another big big highlight of the trip. He knows so much about coffee, its unbelievable. The coffee tasting session brought us a few notches up in our coffee appreciation. Then there were the birds, thousands of them of dozens of varieties! Ok instead of singing songs about this experience let me tell very simply that we planned for a 3 day trip. carried our music, and books. And what happened? we heard zero songs, read zero pages! Soaked in the coffee jungle, the sound of the waterfall and the nature all around. can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: For the first trip, go with Whispering Trees. Try other rooms in subsequent trips :)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JaniJermans wrote a review Feb 2020
Bengaluru, India315 contributions129 helpful votes
This was our 2nd visit after 2 years that we first visited this place. We had given our friends great hope as last time it was the best experience as food lovers were shooting video about this property and there were many guests including the owners etc. So we kind of got the VIP treatment then. So we kind of wished that we atleast have a similar experience. So we along with friends planned a one night stay at this property. Even though it was not the same before but it was overall good experience. The food was amazing, my vegetarian friends had less choice for dinner though. But we enjoyed the place and their hospitality. The coffee tasting session was a disappointment, however when we brought it to the notice of Mr. Suraj the incharge there he made it up next day. Amazing plantation drive and breakfast on the next day, we had to bid farewell to the place. Spending time at a mini fall which is in the property was a plus and it's an amazing experience. It's a little expensive but worth it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Radhika Rajnarayan wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My young nephew and I stayed for 4 days at the Golden Wood Coffee estate. It was so peaceful, green, bird song everywhere! We photographed several rare birds. At the guest house, the rooms were comfortable, and well designed, with every convenience. The staff, headed by Mr Manoj were very kind and hospitable. The food was excellent, and not the typical hotel food full of spice. My nephew, a coffee aficionado, specifically wanted to visit the coffee laboratory. Mr Prasanna, the scientist there, spent several hours with us explaining the various processes and grades of coffee. We also visited the plantations... Astounded to know that it is 800 acres! This is an unspoilt hidden gem of a place, ideal for a short getaway. I highly recommend Golden Wood as one of the must-experience places in Karnataka.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Dear Ms Radhika, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur! Best Regards, Divya
Read more
anish_tim wrote a review Jul 2019
Bengaluru, India6 contributions2 helpful votes
Great stay at the Farmer hut, surrounded by coffee plantation and singing birds, we spotted lot of birds, our favourite being the malabar whistling thrush. The food was below average, specially after seeing lot of pictures and video reviews of it, could have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Dear Mr Anish, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We will look into what might have gone wrong with food .We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur! Best Regards, Divya
Read more
deepak r wrote a review Jul 2019
Bengaluru, India28 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Just came back today from golden wood homestay in Harley estate .... It's a huge 800 acres coffee estate and the cottages are carefully build to be surrounded by greenery everywhere ... We stayed in hill top cottage which is away from main building on top of hill and it's really awesome. The best part is no network no WiFi no TV . Since it's July and it's middle of rainy season, it rained the complete time we stayed there and it is treat to just sit outside cottage sip hot cup of fresh coffee right from the estate and enjoy the rain. Manager and all the staff are very courteous n were happy to serve anything. It's just 4 hrs drive from Bangalore and a best weekend getaway to cut away from all city noises n just listen to nature. The toiletries like shower gel shampoo n body lotions are coffee flavour and are amazing. I wish I could buy only if they were little cheaper 😀 Food was good but can improve but the view n the place you eat makes u forget everything. Enjoyed fully and will visit again for sure
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GoldenWood_EcoResort, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Wood
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Dear Mr Deepak, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sakleshpur! Best Regards, Divya
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaHassan DistrictSakleshpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Wood
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Wood?
Nearby attractions include Manjarabad Fort (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Wood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Wood?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Wood?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Wood?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nyritvilla Homestay in sakleshpur, Mythri Restaurant, and Hanbal Chikki Factory.
Are pets allowed at Golden Wood?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.