We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mabula Game Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mabula Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 458: English reviews
Start your review of Mabula Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband, I and our 8 year old son spend 2 nights at Mabula. The whole experience was incredible. We booked through hotels.com and our reservation included 2 game drives a night and all meals. The food: Food was good and fresh and always had a great variety to choose from. The cooks (Obed, especially) were very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trisha B - Thank you for sharing your impressions of your family stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Mabula team too such good care of you. We're excited to hear that you plan to return, and honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers - thank...

Waterberg
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The food wasn't the best - only the braai in the boma offered decent fodder. Our shower was dirty with long black hair left in a mass on the floor. I wasn't keen on the fact that you were automatically placed on a list for all game drives and woken up at 5.30am without being asked. That you didn't seem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 200suzannet
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 200suzannet - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Mabula Game Lodge. While we're happy that you enjoyed the game-viewing experience, we'd like to take this opportunity to apologise for the aspects of your stay that were not up to the standards we set ourselves. Your constructive feedback will help us to improve in the areas you mentioned, and...

Hubli, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

OK place... Only 5/6 lions... Lots of other animals did not see any elephants though... The safari was fun... The guides informative... It's a private game park so don't expect too much wilderness it's all created...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MohitHirachand
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MohitHirachand - Thanks for sharing your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge. Please note that the numbers and species of animals in the Private Game Reserve reflect the resources available in the biosystem and our conservation goals, and are maintained in healthy, natural ratios.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our last three visits to this reserve were great. The food was excellent, the game drives were very informative and we were given an African experience with Tribal dancing and traditional South African foods. This time the food was catered for Indian and Chinese tastes. You could stand for 45 minutes to get your eggs cooked in the morning. Our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deszabo
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Deszabo - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're naturally sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed and we will be using your feedback to help us improve the Mabula experience for future travellers. Regarding the food, our chefs aim to create dishes to delight all our guests, and...

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

*3.5 stars* We stayed here as part of our tour through South Africa. Nice clean place. Little lodges that are the rooms are cute and nice. Food was plenty and they dishes changed daily. Lots of Indian food as I guess they have a lot of guests from India. Staff were friendly and helpful except for the front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaddyClare
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MaddyClare - Thank you for telling us about your experience at Mabula Game Lodge. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, especially the game drives with Sam. At the same time, we'd like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the areas where we can improve, and we will look at additional staff...

Springdale, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really wasn't sure to what to expect as we were booked here through a gate 1 travel deal that the price all seemed too good to be true. After a great experience in Cape town, we thought well surely mabula will disappoint. It did not. Beautiful place, the game drives were awesome. The hotel and spa staff left a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David G - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Mabula experience and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We very much hope that you will visit again, the next time that you are in South Africa.

South Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a well run amazing adventure we had at this beautiful lodge. The safari guides are well versed and well spoken, we enjoyed seeing so many different animals that we may not have been able to see with out our eagle eyed guide. The accommodations were very nice with everything working as it should (plumbing, ac,etc). I highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steven S - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Mabula Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and especially the wildlife experience on the game drives. We're honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers - that means a lot to us.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice Lodge, very cool game drives, comfortable rooms. This place is lovely for a couple or a young family. Lots to do, lots for the kiddies and the Spa is amazing! Food needs some work and it would've been great to have had patio furniture on our private veranda.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate B
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kate B - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and we appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you feel we can improve, and we'll be looking into those.

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent welcoming service, game drive was great, TV quality in rooms was poor, the Management could not change the Bar TV channels to a big sport game that was on. The staff at the pool hardly cleaned our table.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacob891
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jacob891 - Thank you for posting your review of Mabula Game Lodge. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and at the same time we appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you felt we could improve - we'll certainly be looking into those.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great getaway in the bush offering good food, great safari experiences and I would highly recommend the horse back safari as the ranger heading the safari will share bush-lore knowledge from grasses to trees to animals. Worth every penny and great value for money. I would advise pre-booking spa treatments as if a conference is occurring this may be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ulricdaniel
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ulricdaniel - Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Mabula Game Lodge, and for the helpful advice for future travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mabula soon!

532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (520)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (276)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
140.8 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
6.3 km away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
26.6 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 48 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
15.7 km away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 48 in Bela Bela
72 reviews
4.0 km away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 48 in Bela Bela
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 13,808 - ₹ 27,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge South Africa/Mabula Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a junior suite. Worth the money”
579kateb, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure that there is a bad room here.”
Debinvabeach, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No preference - all rooms seem to be similar.”
wicusp2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring wash cloths, bug spray, sun screen, hat, long pants, long sleeves, Deet Off”
AnnieL655, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room away from the pool or dining areas”
SharksSupporter1, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5