We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Unicorn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Unicorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed at a few marstons pubs in the last few years and they have always been good, this one was no different clean room good food good beer and excalent staff you get what it says on the tin thats why i always look at the marsons website first

Helpful?
Thank michael g
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you will come back and use our hotel again. You can also book direct for your accommodation and still get the perks of 20% off your meal if you dine with us. Hope to see you again... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The location of the Unicorn Hotel is superb overlooking the river Trent. The room, with its view of the river, was very comfortable with nice furnishing. The lack of a phone for an early call worried us somewhat but the Manager could not have been more helpful arranging for a knock on the door to ensure we did not miss... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that if you come back and stay with us again then you will be able to make your trip a little longer. Kind Regards The Unicorn Hotel More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I wasn't expecting too much but it was a pleasent suprise. The hotel has a nice pub attached that serve a variety of ales, the staff are welcoming and friendly, we only ate breakfast which was excellent, as for the room, we had a good night's sleep, on the downside the room only had 2 plug sockets and the floorboards... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with a fantastic review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future - hopefully by then the floorboards will be sorted. Thanks again. The Unicorn Hotel More 

cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Set on the bank of the Trent this is a Marstons Inn. We stop here a couple of times a year because it is near Newark (8 miles) but has the quiet location and views of the narrow boats. Food is what you would expect from a chain. Beer is good .... Pedigree! Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Alun W
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alun, Thank you for your fantastic review. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do hope that you continue to use us for many years to come. We will also make sure the Pedigree and others ales are kept in the best condition for your return! See you again soon The Unicorn Hotel More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Visited last night for the 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £20. The food was good steak cooked to perfection, we ramped the price up by having the irresistible pudding. A good place to stop when travelling along the river trent just a few minutes walk away.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with a great review. I will pass your comments on to the kitchen team. Hope to see you again soon if you are this way on your boat again. Kind Regards The Unicorn Hotel More 

nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a room in the pub for our wedding anniversary, we didn't want to travel too far so when this came up on a deal, it was perfect. The checking in process was quick and easy and the room was nice and clean, no complaints, definitely good value for the money we paid. We had a few drinks in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank louise m
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased to see that you found us good value for money for accommodation and you liked the room you were allocated. You mentioned that you received good service at the bar for your drinks so had you of chosen to dine with us then this... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and have to be honest location and view is outstanding. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent every time we visited with good hot food and ample portions. We would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
philfearn, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Natalie, Thank you for your fantastic review. I do agree that the views are fantastic :) Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards The Unicorn Hotel More 

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Not normally keen on going somewhere where I never enjoyed the previous visit but as we were meeting family there it was a idea place to meet. We only had main meals & I got to say all of us was delighted of the quality of the food & how tasty it was.The service was excellent through out our stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark0908
UnicornHotel_Manager, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for trying us again after an unenjoyable previous visit. I am pleased we delivered the high standards we strive to achieve and I will make sure the team have seen your comments. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Unicorn Hotel More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We returned as we said we would after a lovely previous trip. We booked and requested a room with a river view. We got this..it was beautiful. The view was lovely..the room sparkling and very comfortable.....the food itself was satisfactory....i rang and booked a table as we were going to be late checking in. I was told food finished at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shopkaz56
UnicornHotel_Manager, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide The Unicorn with another review. I would like to discuss your review with you in more detail so I can discuss your comments with the staff members concerned so please could you email us at unicorn.nottingham@marstons.co.uk . I await your email but I do hope that this will not put you... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Visiting from Australia spent one night here. Wish I had more time. Would have stayed longer. Big beautiful rooms and great food served downstairs with 20% off for people staying. Reasonably priced also. Would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Deanluci
UnicornHotel_Manager, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a great review. It is always great to see good and bad feedback as this helps us improve our service and carry on aiming to be a cut above the rest. We do hope to welcome you back to us again if you are in the area in... More 

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
9.3 km away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
554 reviews
11.3 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#10 of 54 in Nottingham
1,830 reviews
1.0 km away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#10 of 43 in Nottingham
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
9.4 km away
Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast
11.8 km away
Nottingham Lodge
Nottingham Lodge
#2 of 43 in Nottingham
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Price Range: ₹ 3,762 - ₹ 6,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Unicorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Unicorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a river view”
 of 5 bubbles L2898TRpeters, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front of hotel looks over the Trent but are above the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles alun4, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the hotel entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles h0bn0b50, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is very tranqui”
 of 5 bubbles PGHnearladybank, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“go for the back”
 of 5 bubbles MidlandAssessEnergy, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay