We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
16 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$825
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Travelocity
$825
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Booking.com
$729
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$825
Westin.com$831
Etrip$859
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2720)
Room & Suite (697)
Pool & Beach (522)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 08/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Updated 08/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 7 hotels in Puako
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Stretched along its namesake white-sand beach, The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort offers contemporary style contrasted with lush, manicured gardens and the endless blues of the sky and ocean. Our resort is located along the Kohala Coast at Hapuna Beach on the Big Island of Hawaii and offers easy access to the cultural and archaeological gems nestled between centuries-old lava fields. Enjoy premium resort amenities like four on-site dining venues, sparkling outdoor pools, an inviting spa, a 24-hour fitness center and flexible meeting rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Patio
Kids club
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4417Reviews187Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,388
  • 1,303
  • 401
  • 193
  • 132
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Katherine wrote a review 21 Sep
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed here to start off our honeymoon and it was literally a perfect place to stay. The beds here were the most comfortable I've slept on at a hotel/resort in over a decade. A/C was great at cooling the room off quickly and keeping it cool overnight. Everything about this resort (the location of amenities, the layout of the rooms and bathrooms, the and the built-into-the-side-of-a-cliff design) was architecturally perfect and really stood out as designed with the traveler in mind to provide the best and most luxurious experience. There are so many small details attended to here that you notice if you stay anywhere else afterwards. I'm a very light sleeper and it was very quiet and I had the most restful sleep here. Everything was always super clean and well-kept. I don't recall seeing any signs of wear-and-tear or age showing in this place. This place was never crowded; we never had to stand in lines, wait long times, or run out of amenities that are supposed to be included like available beach chairs, space in the pool, a table at the restaurant, etc. They provide reusable water canteens and have water filtration stations on every floor, which was really nice in comparison to the other places that wanted to nickel-and-dime us for bottled water. The water was always very cold and tastes great. Bath products and in-room coffee provided was above average and we enjoyed it. Shower was excellent: very hot water, good water pressure, and had the option to use the rainforest shower or a hand-held shower head based on a switch. Our partial ocean view terrace was private enough to enjoy sitting out each morning with coffee or breakfast. I will also say the staff here (front desk, housekeeping, dining staff, valet, and groundkeepers) were all super friendly and helpful, maybe the most of any place we've ever stayed. We would happily stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone, especially couples celebrating a special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We stayed on floor 6 (room 607, towards the end) and it was very quiet, comfortable, and clean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time enjoying everything The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort has to offer. Should your travels bring you back to the Island of Hawai'i, we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest. Mahalo!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyle clover wrote a review Aug 2022
Malibu, California53 contributions94 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Aloha This was our 2nd time staying at this lovely property. This trip we valet the rent a car and only left the property for lunch. Let me start with the welcome email from Gena, She got us the room we wanted and didn't forget it was my birthday weekend. I travel a lot for work and this property by far is my favorite hotel hands down. Huge shout outs go to the staff at the Ikena Landing. They take the Elite status breakfast to the next level. Its like seeing family again. Love seeing Ginger and Bianca every morning these ladies are like family with us. Lunch time no need to leave the resort Naupaka is terrific you have to try the Lobster Roll with Wasabi Fries. For Dinner Meridia is out of this world. Please ask for Donna's station - if you look up the Aloha Spirt in the dictionary you will see her picture. Thank you Donna even with a windy night you where determined for me to blow out my birthday candle . My advice no need to leave to go next store to the Mauna Kea we went one night to the Hau Tree for dinner and our server didn't have the Aloha Spirt. But I do suggest taking a walk at night towards that hotel next door just to see all the stars in the sky. The beach boys work there tail off and always found and umbrellas with shade. Our house keeper took great care of us and when we did leave the resort for lunch the Valets where on game. If you want an authentic Hawaiian lunch you have to try the Hawaiian Style café. Cash only and just order one meal its enough for two people. After you have to go to Texas Drive in for a doughnut. One last stop Island Gourmet you will see anything and everything you need is at the Island gourmet. one last Mahalo Marguerite from the bottom of my heart thank you for making this Birthday a special one. We will be back to see our 2nd family next year if not sooner . Mahalo
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review of your recent trip with us. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and team members have met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James V wrote a review 20 Sep
Hermosa Beach, California17 contributions24 helpful votes
Booked this trip using Bonvoy points which ended up draining my whole account, but it was worth it!. The hotel is fantastic, and the staff was wonderful. We had room 896 in the South Tower (which is the building that does not have the Westin Residences in front of it- higher floors the better for views- our view was very nice. Our room was very comfortable with air condition that worked very well. Only minor complaint would be the lack of lighting in the room. Room was updated and felt newer. Good/Excellent: 2 pools with the one closest to beach for adults and kids (very large with great ocean frontage. Adult pool above for more peace and quiet. Food was acceptable (buffet was best but expensive, pool restaurant was always good, but a bit pricy. They did have pizza night a few days which was nice. Beach was calm and sandy with a perfect place to snorkel and see turtles on the right side- we actually saw turtles while standing in waist deep water. They rent snorkel gear as well (use the plant leaves broken to wash the inside of the masks to avoid fogging). The gym was very nice, looked brand new, and the water bottles given in the room at least made up for the ridiculous fee. Closest grocery is at Mauna Lani Rd, but the one at Waikoloa Village is really nice with anything you could need. My boys loved roaming the grounds looking for the geckos. The golf course was in great shape with beautiful views, and right across the street. Negatives: High resort fee, drive to grocery's
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: South Tower high floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing with us your wonderful experience enjoying the well-appointed guestroom with thoughtful amenities and you can't forget about the beautiful ocean views! Mahalo for your review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason S wrote a review 19 Sep
Denver, Colorado10 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here for almost a week and had a great time. The weather was awesome. Even if it was raining elsewhere, it was clear and sunny here. The grounds are very well maintained and picturesque. One of the best beaches on the island is steps away from the hotel. We were in the cheapest garden level room and it was perfect. A big patio that looked out over the gardens and ocean. Great for enjoying our huge grab-and-go breakfast. Special shout out to Casandra and Chandler for amazing breakfast service at the Piko Coffee bar. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay! We're absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Casandra and Chandler for their exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lscCanfield_Ohio wrote a review 18 Sep
Canfield, Ohio125 contributions88 helpful votes
Every night the sunset is amazing. The resort grounds are lovely, the beach is wide & long with soft sand. The staff was friendly & helpful. All said this resort is a winner! It is quite large so the walk from the rooms to the beach takes about ten minutes & there are steps involved. Definitely an A++.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor which was one of the lowest prices but we had a lovely patio with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review of your recent trip with us. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and team members have met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FightOn wrote a review 11 Sep
Los Angeles, California262 contributions233 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I had an absolutely wonderful stay and cannot say enough positive things about the hotel itself, but especially the service and spirit of aloha. We booked with points and I can certainly say that I don't think our room assignment was affected by that fact. In reality, my Titanium status was recognized and we were given a room on the top floor with a full ocean view. While the physical condition of the hotel is spectacular (and in my opinion, in better shape than the Mauna Kea), it is the staff that truly made the difference. We celebrated my birthday one of our days there and the hotel delivered an ENORMOUS basket of fresh fruit and a bottle of sparking wine. It's the most generous amenity I've ever received at Marriott property and was not expected. The staff at Ikena Landing were also wonderful. We used the breakfast benefit to eat there each morning. The included continental breakfast (for Titanium members) is more than enough food. While I do wish the full breakfast was still included (those days are gone at most Marriott properties), the charge for what one gets was certainly worth it a few of our days there. I would just note that what exactly is included was unclear to us on the first morning, the fact that the food is all brought to your table. I initially thought we could use the buffet and were limited to the continental items up there. That said, the staff was friendly in pointing out my mistake. We also ate at the Naupaka Beach Grill and really enjoyed the food and service. We got to meet the house cat, Marley, and one of the staff members was kind enough to tell us the story of Marley. Overall, for a large property, it never felt busy as it is spread out over enough land and enough floors that most days we went without bumping into others. There was never a problem finding a seat at the pool or a lounger by the beach. And the beach that adjoins the hotel is spectacular. This was our first stay on the Big Island as we are huge fans of Kauai, but with the strength of our stay, we will certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: High enough floor for an ocean view if facing the new condos
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
It was truly our pleasure welcoming you to the resort and providing exceptional service throughout your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit along the Kohala Coast and we can't wait to welcome you back! Mahalo for sharing your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mongiela wrote a review 10 Sep
Los Angeles, California7 contributions
+1
This resort is one of the best places I have ever stayed in, the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are large and airy, pictures don't do it justice. This is a place for those into wellness, the gym is state of the art, the swimming pools are well maintained. One is specifically for adults so if you are there to relax you can do just that. The family pool is massive, overlooking the ocean and some of the most beautiful sunsets. A few steps and you are at one of the most beautiful crystalline beaches I have ever swam in. You swim side by side with turtles, loved spending my days under an umbrella at the beach. The staff where all friendly and joyful, truly a wonderful experience. The minute you step inside this magnificent property, you are transported into relaxation heaven. I cannot wait to go back. I will add that if you are older or struggle with mobility issues, this might not be for you as there are lots of stairs and plenty of walking in order to get around, you might be better suited at the sister property Mauna Kea another beauty of a resort. But The Hapuna stole my heart!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
It is truly our pleasure to deliver an enjoyable stay during your recent visit with us. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience enjoying everything the resort has to offer. We look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel B wrote a review 5 Sep
2 contributions
This is my second stay at the Westin Hapuna and it is truly a beautiful resort. The setting of the resort is secluded and has one of the best beaches. There are always enough chairs at the beach and pool areas, I love not having to stress about finding space. The rooms are spacious, have comfortable beds and amazing views from the balconies. The staff at the resort go out of their way to make your stay special. Kaylen at the Naupaka Beach Grill even remembered me from my last stay 6 months ago! Her hospitality truly made this resort feel like my home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review of your recent trip with us. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and team members have met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Damiana M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We may have scheduled our trip backwards due to the fact that we came to Hapuna beach resort from the Four Season Oahu which was absolutely perfect. When we first arrived at the resort we pulled up front to valet our car and no one came over from the valet booth . They all just kind of stood there and stared …. Finally after we had unloaded our car they finally came over . There is no bar service at the adult pool. There is one person giving our towels and if you go over there and beg, they may run up to the bar for you .. but not with a good attitude . The buffet is good but a bit overpriced at $45 per person . The whole ambiance and mood of the resort was no one really wanted to help or accommodate unless asked , no offering assistance by any means .. Definitely not worth $900 a night . I will choose Four seasons now every time just because I know the people there we ready and willing to provide the highest level of customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We'd like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback is integral to our ability to improve and we will share your experience with the team so we can address the service issues you mentioned. Mahalo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole wrote a review Aug 2022
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom47 contributions62 helpful votes
Great hotel in a beautiful location. Access and facilities at the pool and be were first rate. My only disappointment is the lack of dinning options on Tuesday and Wednesday when the main restaurant is. closed. The rooms were amazing with great facilities and sea views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're so glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$757 - $967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
prince hotel kamuela, prince hotel hapuna beach, hapuna beach prince hotel, prince hotel island of hawaii, hapuna prince hotel, hapuna beach hotel, island of hawaii prince hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kona Kozy's Comedy & Magic Show (6.9 km), Mauna Kea Beach (1.2 km), and Waialea Beach (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Original Big Island Shave Ice Co, Kohala Burger and Taco, and Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puukohola National Historic Park (4.9 km), Pu'ukohola Heiau (3.3 km), and Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (5.7 km).