We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Bell Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Bell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed overnight here for work in Oldham. Delph is a pretty village ideally located to commute into Oldham or th e surrounding area. The rooms at the Old Bell Inn are incredibly comfortable and have everything you need. Normally I'd use one of the "Purple Chain" hotels but find these all too soulless and clinical. The bar area of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your very kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and glad you decided to stay in our beautiful village here in Delph. We do like think that we have everything required here to provide a comfortable and friendly environment with a great atmosphere and an array of menu choices and...

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I recently stayed at The Old Bell on the nights of the 2nd and 3rd of October and to say that we were disappointed is probably an understatement for the following reasons: We upgraded to a superior room as a result of comments on Trip Advisor at a cost of £120 per night - on arrival the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard p
theoldbellinn, Owner at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

As you are aware, you contacted me via email on 12 October, 2015 outlining your concerns. I sent you a detailed response on 15 October 2015, (copy of which is below), before your Trip Adviser review appeared. Clearly, your grievances have been expressed in both your email and Trip Adviser review and have been fully addressed. Therefore, your request for...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Haven't stayed here for a while, was pleasantly surprised on my return. Much friendlier than I remembered, with attentive mostly young staff. Got a good rate and then got upgraded to a lovely room so no complaints there. Most of the menu was outside my budget but even the more affordable steak pie was really tasty. Excellent cooked breakfast. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your steak pie and our found our hospitality so friendly and efficient. Glad you returned and hopefully you will return again soon. Our variety of wines, spirits and beers are indeed plentiful, especially our gin collection. See you again soon. Kind regards

Nottingham UK
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend Interesting hotel , rooms can be a little difficult to access due to the very steep stairs but once in the room very well appointed and comfortable . The restaurant gave some very interesting choices . Breakfast was well presented and freshly prepared. The icing on the cake were the staff, all local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBNottinghamUK
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us over the Bank Holiday weekend and in particular your breakfast. I will pass on to our staff your comments about them being so friendly and efficient. Something we are very proud of here. The stairs in the main...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We didn't expect this to be a cheap place but a double gin (we had the 209 from San Fransisco) was £9.90 and a small tonic was £3, making it £12.90 per drink. It's perhaps unfair to compare the Old Bell to other locations but the same gin in Weatherspoons including Fentimans tonic was £3.60 for the double (£2.40 a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljschofield
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write your review. I think you are probably quite right that you can't compare The Old Bell with Weatherspoons and our costs are completely different for many reasons, including the presentation of our drinks, the added extras, such as home grown botanicals, the glasses we use, stirrers and fruits plus the relaxed...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I'll break this down into phases as some bits were great and some bits weren't so great. Welcome: we entered the lovely traditional bar area from the car park and approached the bar, ordered a drink and asked if we'd like to put it on the bill 5/5 Seating: we were then stood like lemons as the barmaid checked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fitrix
theoldbellinn, Owner at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback which gives us the chance to address anything that may need our attention to maintain our excellent reputation for great food and hospitality. Your point regarding your seating and ordering. I do think this may have been a one-off situation and not our normal service....

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Just got back from our 2nd short break At The Old Bell Inn and once again have got to say that this is the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. Visit was myself, husband, daughter and 9 year old grandson. Rooms are excellent as is the food. The staff are outstanding especially Sue and Rambo(Phil), but all the other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline015
theoldbellinn, Owner at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Pauline It was lovely to see you all on your recent visit here. I'm really pleased you found us all so friendly and hospitable, I am really proud of the staff here, they work hard to make everyones stay as comfortable and friendly as possible. I also found it a pleasure talking Man U and showing your Grandsons my...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This is the second family reunion we have arranged for our family visiting from Devon and it was even better than last time. Absolutely fantastic lovely rooms great food and the staff are something else. Never had such friendly service and can't do enough for you, especially as we were a big party and the restaurant was busy. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret M
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and returning again with your family. We are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We are very proud of our staff and always nice to hear that they have looked after our guests so well. It would be lovely...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Came for sunday lunch for my birthday. The service was fine, the starter of tomato soup and dumplings was really nice and tasty and clearly some time was put into the homemade bread. The main course was dreadful. The beef was like shoe leather and sliced really thin. The mash potato was lumpy, roast potatoes dry and tasteless, vegetables slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjohns14
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We welcome any comments about your visit in order that we can improve, clarify or make changes wherever possible to make everyones visit here an excellent experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of your Sunday lunch main course. This is such a shame...

Telford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

First of all this hotel was brilliant, located at the edge of the Pennines its location is in a beautiful part of the country and there are plenty of walks for both amateurs and those seeking more of a challenge. Walking into the reception the first thing you are greeted with is Gin! A lot of Gin. In fact over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GarethW74
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gareth Really pleased you found The Old Bell so welcoming and comfortable and catered for all your needs. You are quite right we are very lucky being in such a beautiful place surrounded by great views and pretty villages. We are well known for the friendliness of our staff and their efficiency and knowledge of our food and drink....

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.8 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
300 reviews
4.2 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
238 reviews
3.5 km away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
456 reviews
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Price Range: ₹ 5,488 - ₹ 10,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 is superb. Even overlooking the main road it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles V2912MCericr, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double room which was nice but maybe next time i would choose a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles lynhouston, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good and offer a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles idgbrooks1956, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely but if a little infirm ask for a room on a lower floor as stairs in main hotel are steep and shallow”
 of 5 bubbles claireo936, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Single rooms smaller than monastic cells. Perhaps the doubles better.”
 of 5 bubbles jennycP3959LV, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay