We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Abai Jungle Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Abai Jungle Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you're visiting Borneo and like to experience the true essence of the places you explore please visit this lodge. The simple food is fresh, delicious and plentiful, the lodges are rustic, comfortable and as you'd expect in the middle of the jungle, with the added bonus of air con (payed for), the highlights, planting trees with locals, watching a...

Thank Laura G
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Laura G, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to know you enjoy the tour with us. Hope to see you again next time. Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I. Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights as part of a holiday for solo travellers. It was just wonderful. The lodge is right on the waters edge and the rooms were all built on stilts so you could come out of your room in the morning and see pigs and monitor lizards rooting around below. There is a boardwalk built around...

Thank Pinkdobbo
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pinkdobbo, Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoy the trip, however about the firm bed, i wish we can do more to help improve your comfort. If possible, next time kindly mention to us about your physical condition and tell us what can we do so we can arrange for it. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at 2 excellent resorts with the SI Trips group on this trip to Borneo. It was great, as this allowed us to easily shift nights from one to the other when we wanted to follow the info on where the elephants were. This one was a bit smaller, which has it's advantages, too. Breakfast in the forest was...

Thank maccymac
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear maccymac, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know you enjoy the tour. Hope you have a memorable experience about Borneo and will come back again. Cheers ! Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and loved it ,as we did Kinabatangan river Lodge [ive written a review of that]. .I think more come here as quicker to get here. If can spend 2 nights in each id recommend it! We loved the early and late PM boat trips looking for wild life of which there is much in the trees...

Thank ashley465
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ashley465, Thank you for your kind feedback. We always welcome you to visit us again. Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Whilst the accommodation is basic the setting and experience whilst here is simply incredible. The river cruise was simply amazing whilst we did not get to see any of the larger animals we did get to see so many varieties of monekys in the wild aswel as numerous other animals. Our guide...

Thank langoo
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear langoo, Thank you for your feedback. HAPPY HONEYMOON! Hope our surprise give you a memorable honeymoon =) Cheers. Yeeveon from S.I. Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights, paid extra for the a/c as it was so humid and hot. Great base for river trips, and the visit across to the Abai village and tree plating along the river were great activities. We had torrential rain and amazing thunderstorm one evening - we got back from night walk on the...

Thank tamaraoconnor
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tamaraoconnor, Thank you for your feedback. Great to see you enjoy our place. We have noted about the food choices and the darkness in room. We will see what we can do to improve it. Hope you have a nice day. Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

Buchanan, Georgia
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and the food good only complaint there was too much of it on the third day asked if we could just have fruit for lunch and had a lovely plate of fresh fruit cut up for us My husband is slightly disabled and has a wheat allergy the staff helped him get around on and...

Thank 1hd
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This lodge can only be reached by boat along the Kinabatangan River. You come here for the wildlife, certainly not the hotel. The rooms are clean but incredibly basic. I can understand that there is no aircon (unless you pay a RM100 fee per day for certain units), but there is no hairdryer, no clothes storage, no WiFi, very few...

Thank Superpear
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Superpear, Thank you very much for your feedback. We noted on all the things you mentioned, we will see what we can do. However, hope you understand that we do invest heavily in our lodges. Our bosses hand picked every materials and build these lodges. They are very basic and simple interior design, little decor but the quality is...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Simple lodge on the kinabatngan river, accommodation is very basic and buffet food at best mediocre but the river safaris make it all worth while with sightings of hornbills and various species of monkey and also great sighting of Pygmy elephants. Unique environment makes the simplicity worthwhile. Friendly staff and knowledgeable guides

Thank Serica2015
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Serica2015, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to serve you. Have a nice day =) Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

Thaxted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had two nights here as part of an organised trip with Audley travel. We were very lucky to have shirou as our own personal guide, his knowledge and ability to spot things of interest were amazing. He insisted we got up up 5.30am to go on a river trip to the lake and we were so grateful he did,...

1Thank georgie61
sitoursborneo, Owner at Abai Jungle Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Geogie61, Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a great pleasure to serve you and very happy to know you have a great experience with us. Cheers~ Yeeveon from S.I.Tours and Abai Jungle Lodge

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (228)
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Dining (10)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (18)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
View from Room (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
33.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
29.0 km away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
23.2 km away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#5 of 30 in Sandakan
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort
9.7 km away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
28.1 km away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Abai Jungle Lodge

Address: 47 km from the river mouth of Kinabatangan River | Abai, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Abai Jungle Hotel Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abai Jungle Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Abai Jungle Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is good but you must remember to close your windows before going out to stop the monkeys from getting in.”
 of 5 bubbles Pinkdobbo, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“only a few rooms have air con which is psayable extra, contact in advance to book this”
 of 5 bubbles tamaraoconnor, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Air con a must”
 of 5 bubbles georgie61, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Forget the lack of facilities. The location and wildlife make up for it.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieL370, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think you can get AC if you ask”
 of 5 bubbles tato1, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5