We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Riviera Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Riviera Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,109: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently went to this hotel. We found the hotel itself very relaxing and the staff were lovely and helpful, nothing was too much trouble at all. The hotel has three pools (indoor pool) plus a kiddies pool, these are salt water and kept very clean. We didnt spend alot of time at the hotel during the day as Malta...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Arrived home after spending two weeks (22nd September) at this hotel,and have decided to go again,could not fault anything about the whole hotel,if there was anything we wanted it was no trouble at all.All the staff were pleasant and polite,too many of them to name, well maybe Karen in the lobby bar. variety in all off the restaurants was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardhayes90
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, On behalf of the Riviera Team, I would like to thank you for your excellent review above. We are pleased to note, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are already planning to visit our Resort again. Mentioning our very good service and staff members is very motivating. I will surely forward your...

Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After reading quite a few bad reviews I decided to just look at the good ones and I wasn't disappointed! We arrived at lunchtime and before we got our room we were allowed to go for our lunch. We booked a pool view room and were delighted to have a pool & Sea view. The room itself was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacqui22
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for this very good and informative review! We are happy, that the room we provided was to your liking. We are pleased to read your satisfaction about the room service and the cleanliness in general. Thank you for mentioning our pool area with 2 salt water treated pools and 1 Kids pool. We have plenty of...

Reviewed 16 September 2013

After a stressful summer, the riviera was just what we needed. All inclusive so we didn't have to worry about where we are going to eat. The main restaurant has cafe style food, but good quality and plenty of choice. We also enjoyed the bistro. The pizza there was much better than at the mezzanine restaurant. We had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest. I am glad, that the room we provided was to your liking. Thank you for mentioning our 3 different restaurants. We always do our utmost to meet all tastes and expectations of our...

Nottingham
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Riviera (15th September). Hotel was a good all inclusive. Our room was on the 4th floor and had lovely views of the pool and sea. It was roomy and clean. Bathroom was nice. The air conditioning was managed by the hotel but worked well and we did not have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank j-truecolours
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, An excellent review! Our whole Riviera Team is appreciates your kind comments about your recent stay in our Resort. We are happy to read, that the room we provided to you was to your liking and you were satisfied with our room service. Thank you for praising our kitchen, our theme nights which we are introducing to our...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've just returned from 7 days at The Riviera with my girlfriend and had a lovely time. The hotel itself is located just about as far north in Malta as you can go and as such is a distance from places such as Valletta and Sliema. If you are looking for a hotel to just sit by a pool, have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D B
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir /Madam, I am very pleased to read your write up above. Thank you for mentioning the excellent bus and ferry connections. The neighboring islands Gozo and Comino are directly in front of the hotel ( the ferry to Gozo is reachable in walking distance and boat trips to Comino are daily , directly from opposite the hotel). In...

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Hot off the press (we are still here) Location: wherever you are in Malta you will want to get on the cheap buses and visit the rest of the island so this is as good as anywhere. Food: three restaurants to choose from so if you get bored YOU are the problem. Quality was excellent. Drinks: all inclusive drinks are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikewheeler1962
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to thank you for your excellent review. Your kind comments in all areas and about all departments are very much appreciated. I am glad, that you were satisfied with variety and quality of the food in all our 3 restaurants. We try to meet all preferences and tastes of our guests. We also have...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and i went to the riviera resort and spa for ten days 27 to 6 th september. Our view from our room was a wall and carpark. Clean room. Not tea facilitis . Rubbish repetitive food(horrid) great staff ie wayne.viktor.fabio but a extremely rude barmaid called caron..great pools and sunbeds. Hotel needs a revamp. Coffee not available at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daz E
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review. This coming winter the Resort will be closing down for a 3 month period where we will be refurbishing all hotel rooms and bathrooms. Upon booking you were asked to choose from 3 different views. We offer 3 different views, Country view, Pool...

Albaching, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riviera Resort & Spa from 21-28. August 2013. The hotel is rated as four stars...I must say that this is not correct however, one must look at the total package of the hotel. We booked a ''all inclusive vacation'' the price we paid was not expensive for what we recieved. Air fare from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Sewald, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above post. We appreciate your kind comments and constructive criticism. We give our utmost on a daily basis to make sure that guests leave the resort feeling that their holiday was of good value for the money they have paid. It is of great...

Millom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We thought we were going to a budget 4 star resort; however we were pleasantly surprised. Generally the resort is well presented and clean, and does exactly what it says in the brochure. There are loads of sun beds. At the time we were there the resort wasn't full so it was easy to get a sun bed and parasol...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly B
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Polly, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and had praise for most of the things offered by the resort. Our rooms will be completely refurbished by next March. In fact the resort will be closing for...

1,123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (809)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (142)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Standard Room Pool View (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (28)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,715 reviews
1.3 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.6 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,027 reviews
3.4 km away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Price Range: ₹ 10,170 - ₹ 17,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
93 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (93)

Questions? Get answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Country view rooms have more afternoon sun.”
 of 5 bubbles elisabartolo1, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors better sea view and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles silvie372, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“5 wings, most quite far from reception etc”
 of 5 bubbles D6786XFbrianm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor sea view room is best as it's away from the noise of the bar at night”
 of 5 bubbles lorab821, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“always go for sea view if available”
 of 5 bubbles 70Phillip, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay