We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riviera Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Riviera Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,109: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night break in Malta and stayed at The Riviera, it was a beautiful location, stunning views and close to bus stops, bus service is fantastic,you can travel to most parts of the island from the bus stop a couple of hundred yards from the hotel, weekly ticket is 6Euros 50cents, such amazing value.The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lesley018
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you for the very positive review written above. Reading such comments from our guests is always satisfying since our main goal is to ensure that all of our guests leave our resort with every intention of returning. Our rooms and public areas are meticulously taken care of by Housekeeping department. This ensures that...

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Loved the location and views over Gozo. Our room was comfortable spacious and had lovely views also. We had a problem with our heating but this was dealt with quickly after a complaint to reception. Public spaces were well kept and it was always difficult to get a seat in the Lobby bar to enjoy the terrific views. The Lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dea B
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa I would like to thank you for your very positive review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and felt that it was of good value for money. As you rightfully mentioned, the views offered by our resort are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was a very cheap TravelZoo deal so our expectations weren't too high. The upgraded seaview room was lovely, spotlessly clean, light and cool. The eating experience on half board was interesting as this was our first time in an eat all you can resort, and Wow a lot of people take that very literally! The food was mass catering....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sheila c
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and you describe your stay as good value for money, since this is ultimately our main goal. When it comes to our food quality, we are always on the lookout...

england, durham
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I visited Riviera last week. Overall it's a good hotel, particularly because of very good staff. They were without exception very friendly and engaging. I am of the opinion that the managers really want this hotel to be excellent and I note that each Trip Advisor review is responded to by the hotel manager. The building itself...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peter70d
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. Our staff are our main asset. Their one and only goal is to ensure guest satisfaction and as we can see for your review, they have managed to provide you and your wife...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I am just back from a week in this hotel with a family group. I understand that the hotel has been extensively refurbished and I would have to say that it has been carried out to a very high standard. The public areas and the bedrooms are spotlessly clean, fresh and contemporary. The service we received and the manner in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Róisín C
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this very positive review. Our aim is to ensure guest satisfaction and we are pleased to hear that we have managed to meet and exceed your expectations whilst enjoying your stay here with...

Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is adequate without being impressive. The decor is very dated and a little tired but it is clean. The response to complaints is extremely poor and the management seem to adopt a "take it or leave it" attitude. The food and the organisation in the main dining room is so poor that we ate out most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 606Mark
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this review. Our goal is to make sure that all guests leave our resort happy and with every intention of returning to the resort. It is a pity that we haven’t managed to reach your expectations. We take all comments coming from guests very seriously since...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel in july last year with my daughter, I chose this location as it looked very peaceful and I wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle. We had a sea view room which was clean and comfortable with a great view of the bay. This was the first time we have booked all inclusive...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jpm1966
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

To whom it may concern, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments about our resort and staff. As you have rightfully mentioned, The Riviera Resort & Spa offers our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay and is the ideal choice for guests wanting to spend some days relaxing on one of loungers at...

Hutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014

On arrival the bar shut fifteen minutes early and the staff were very rude. My 7 year old accidentally walked into the pool door that did not open as quickly as ones that work efficiently the glass smashed and he cut his leg and banged his head. The hotel charged us for the door and the general manager refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Mark R
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

To whom it may concern, Thank you for taking the time to put up your review. We accept negative reviews just as we do positive ones, which are by far the most numerous, because they all give us an opportunity to learn, to communicate with our readers and to improve our services. For the information of Trip advisor readers and...

Sussex now and again
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a spare seven days Tuesday to Tuesday. Only a few days to search and choose. I am very glad we decided on this hotel as we were well treated and had a relaxing time. Food was plentiful and varied. I do recommend hiring a car for easy access to the whole island. Our room was clean and comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank casualitinerent
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our resort. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and have every intention of returning to the Riviera Resort & Spa. We are very grateful for your kind comments about the food selection and quality. As you have mentioned, we...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is in a quiet beutiful location in a enclosed bay area situated in Marfa just outside Mellieha bay And town with regular and affordable bus links to the whole of Malta, we travelled in the last week of august in celebration of our 39th wedding anniversary and were hoping for a romantic break which to be fair was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank paul f
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I would like to start off by thanking you for the time taken to write the review above. Whilst we appreciate your constructive criticism, I wish to show our disappointment that your stay did not meet your expectations. I am glad to hear that the problems found in your room were resolved immediately and thus you were able...

1,120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (809)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (142)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Standard Room Pool View (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (28)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,730 reviews
1.1 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
1,892 reviews
3.6 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,103 reviews
7.6 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Price Range: ₹ 8,731 - ₹ 17,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
94 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (94)

Questions? Get answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Country view rooms have more afternoon sun.”
 of 5 bubbles elisabartolo1, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors better sea view and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles silvie372, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“5 wings, most quite far from reception etc”
 of 5 bubbles D6786XFbrianm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor sea view room is best as it's away from the noise of the bar at night”
 of 5 bubbles lorab821, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“always go for sea view if available”
 of 5 bubbles 70Phillip, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5