We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743 Norway
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (863)
Room & Suite (613)
Dining (189)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Flam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1236Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 493
  • 465
  • 180
  • 60
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
cecilia h wrote a review 1 Aug
3 contributions
Accommodation was highly satisfactory. Comfortable common area. Friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable price. Would return. Adequate parking available. Highly recommended especially for the convenience of being in walking distance of railroad and shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dak_gal wrote a review Jul 2022
Jamestown, North Dakota210 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for one night as we traveled the Scandinavian countries with Collette Travel Agency. The hotel was conveniently located as we rode the Flam Railroad and enjoyed the beauty. The only drawback was WiFi. We had to sit in the lobby to have access to WiFi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lu Aragão wrote a review Jul 2022
Rio de Janeiro, RJ117 contributions29 helpful votes
It was a one night stay only but I had a really great time at this hotel. The staff was very nice, specially Namtan who works in the reception and was very kind to me. I can also say that it is a celiac friendly hotel because the staff provided gluten free food for me at the breakfast and all options were identified with the allergens. I would go back there for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind comments ! We are very proud of our staff, so when guests mention them specifically is it always welcome. Hope to see you here again !
Read more
dg_ib wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada15 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel is very well located 2 minute walk from train and 3 minutes to ferry. Rooms are a decent size. Dinner and breakfast buffets were good but not excellent. Service was very good. We took the train from Oslo, stayed overnight in Flåm and took ferry to Bergen the next day. Definitely worth it to do it in 2 days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good to see that your stay with us was successful ! Hope to welcome you back again at Fretheim Hotel.
Read more
ABCDPousse wrote a review Jul 2022
London9 contributions1 helpful vote
This was the most expensive hotel of our 2 week trip through Norway - the same price as our 5 star in Oslo - - and clearly benefits from the fact that it is one of only two hotels in Flam. We booked a suite since we were travelling with two young children. The room was a reasonable size with a fjord view although there isn’t much of a clear view of the water given the trees, coaches and buildings in the way. The bed wasn’t particularly comfortable - the Norwegians seem to prefer a thin mattress topper on top of a divan base rather than a proper mattress. Being an old hotel, the soundproofing was pretty abysmal to the point that we could hear phone alarms and vibrations in the rooms around us. The shower was useless - alternated between hot and cold which wasn’t particularly pleasant.We also found lots of hairs in the bath on check in. While the reception staff were initially as appalled as us and promised compensation, they made no mention of it at check out and we had to remind them what they’d promised. We were refunded the cost of our dinner but had to pay for ‘alcoholic drinks’, in our case a non alcoholic beer! The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good but extremely busy. A beautiful setting and building but would recommend passing through rather than staying the night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments. We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. However, learning points are always welcome and will be evaluated with other guest's info we receive. Enjoy the rest of your holidays in Norway and welcome back.
Read more
Frank wrote a review Jul 2022
West Ilsley, United Kingdom2 contributions
Fantastic location but spoiled by always having a 5,500 berth cruise liner 200 metres away. Room ok but would have preferred a balcony. When we checked in the receptionist asked us if we would like to book a table for dinner. We asked what vegetarian options were available. She said none for the a la carte but for the £50 a head buffet they could do a Caesar salad without the chicken and anchovies! "You're probably better off to go to the Coop and buy food for your room" she said. So that's what we did for 2 nights. Then for breakfast (not much choice either) we asked for a hot chocolate and were charged £5 each for one. When we checked out we were told that they do have a reasonable vegetarian choice! Probably our worst ever vegetarian experience in 38 years!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We would have preferred a balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments. There must have been a misunderstanding with our reception staff ? We have a wide array of salads, pickled vegetables, fruit etc on our Nordic evening buffet. In addition to this we offer a set menu that may be adapted to special dietary or personal requirements. We hope to see you another time, so the impression of what we actually can deliver is established.
Read more
Tom W wrote a review Jul 2022
Basye, Virginia296 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
We booked this hotel for two couples and a single. The couples got what they call "historic rooms" while our daughter was booked into an "American room." The historic rooms were just that, old historic furniture, but the bath was recently upgraded. Our room had a coffee maker but the "American room" only had instant. Our room had a view of the harbor. The breakfast was very good, as are most of the breakfasts in the Norwegian hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments ! Enjoy Norway and welcome back to Flåm and Fretheim on another occasion.
Read more
JLCgladstone wrote a review Jul 2022
Surrey, United Kingdom496 contributions279 helpful votes
Based on my experience of our stay here, if doing the Norway in a Nutshell Oslo to Bergen trip again in summer I would not do it with a night stopover in Flam. Instead I would press on to Bergen or stay a night in Voss. This is because the accommodation and eateries in Flam are so very restricted in number and(therefore?) quality. Also when it's cruise ships season just one cruise ship, dominates and spoils the beauty of the fjord views. This hotel was twice the price of our very good hotels in both Bergen and Oslo and we expected better than we got. Notably we did not get the room we booked. Instead of the deluxe double room we booked via Fjordtours with a balcony or garden door and a view of the fjord, we were given ( after a wait for the hotel's 4pm check-in)a back room facing a hill slope close by and a public footpath running in front- so when the light had to go on you had to close the curtains. Management could only offer a repurposed 4th floor single room, with a dormer window facing the front, as an alternative which we took on the basis that it was lighter. But this was not a satisfactory alternative. Equally the restaurant was disappointing- very dark, cramped and crowded. On offer were just a 4 course set menu (765DK) or a buffet (595NK). We opted for the buffet but it was a bit of a bun fight with so many people and lack lustre food. Thank goodness the management agreed not to charge us for the meal by way of addressing our room concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, I am sorry to hear that Flåm and the hotel experience did not meet your expectations. This destination is, at times, very busy during July and August. However, we do our utmost to accomodate and cater to the wishes and needs of our guests. I do hope we'll have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Read more
babarandceleste_13 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom433 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
We did a round trip by train, ship and bus from Oslo to Trondheim and back.On our second day we travelled on the Flam railway and then spent a night here before taking a boat across the fjord. The room was comfortable and I appreciated the fact there was a bath, all our other hotels had just showers. The breakfast was very good choices of fruit, pastries, cereals, eggs, pancakes etc , The room had two armchairs and a desk chair and plenty of storage space and our room had French windows , and when we stepped out on to the garden there was a great view of the hills,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Great to see your comments ! Welcome back to Flåm and Fretheim Hotel.
Read more
Dean S wrote a review Jul 2022
Apollo Beach, Florida31 contributions34 helpful votes
The Fretheim Hotel is a nice property in Flam, Norway where we recently spent one night. Flam is a super small village with beautiful views. The gentleman who checked us in was not pleasant, which set the wrong tone for us. We had the dinner buffet and were impressed with it. The breakfast buffet however, not so much though. It’s a good hotel for one night, traveling between cities. I wouldn’t personally stay longer than that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments ! Our staff get in general very good feedback so I do regret that we did not meet your expectations this time. Hope to see you with us again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fretheim hotel flåm
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwaySogn og FjordaneAurland MunicipalityFlam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fretheim Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Fretheim Hotel?
Nearby attractions include FjordSafari (0.1 km), Naeroyfjord (0.4 km), and Flåmsbana Museet (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fretheim Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Fretheim Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fretheim Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aegir BrewPub, Flam Bakery, and Flam Marina and Appartement Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fretheim Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fretheim Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Fretheim Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otternes Bygdetun (2.5 km).
Does Fretheim Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Fretheim Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.