We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
New Place High Street, Shirrell Heath SO32 2JY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$105
View deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$108
FindHotel$109
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (995)
360
Panoramas (2)
Dining (223)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 27/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 27/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
More than just a hotel, New Place has something for everyone with a grand manor house, smart business centre and an array of bedrooms, all surrounded by expansive gardens. As you enter the ornate wrought-iron gates, meander through the picturesque surroundings and step into the enchanting New Place Hotel, an air of comfort and relaxation greets you. The hotel offers an array of contemporary amenities including, an on-site gym, pool, croquet lawn, even a cricket pitch. Seamlessly blending traditional and contemporary spaces, New Place Hotel is situated within 32 acres of landscaped gardens with a Grade I listed manor house, 33 event spaces and quaint mews bedrooms. New Place Hotel’s romantic setting, impeccable service and endless possibilities present the perfect place to say “I do” in the Hampshire countryside. The charming countryside setting and superb facilities make New Place Hotel perfect for an indulgent weekend away, corporate meetings or celebrations with family and friends.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Tennis court
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
2344Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 979
  • 734
  • 381
  • 172
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David77 wrote a review Yesterday
South Wales, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
The marketing for this hotel is very misleading and accommodation is poor (and expensive for what it is). We had planned to stay for 1 night in the area but added a second night at this hotel due to a dinner inclusive offer (on one night) if the booking was increased to 2 nights. We were later told (after paying) that this offer didn’t apply to our dates. There is no qualification or indication of this when going through the booking process. It’s a blatant con. However the bigger issue is the accommodation. You assume this will be in a mansion style hotel as displayed prominently on their website pages. We booked a “superior room” and paid in advance £340. On arrival the reception is in a different building altogether and the room was also in a separate Motel style building with the room opening directly to the outside. The room was grubby, small and smelt. The decor is corporate style and dated. The mattress had long passed its sell-by date and we didn’t sleep well on either night. We were also disturbed by people walking past the window or front door. The bar and restaurant are in the Mansion house which is geared for weddings. The Evening food quality was poor as was the service, except for the bar service. We ordered Caesar Salad and paid extra (in advance) for Chicken. The salad was not freshly made and the dressing was tasteless, the Chicken did not arrive and we were told we had not ordered Chicken. Eventually a dried out piece of Chicken breast was brought to the table. At no time did anyone come back to check if our meals were ok or if we need anything. The Pan Fried Bream @£27 turned out to be a single fillet piece so small that it was hardly visible amongst the sauce and vegetables. This was sent back and rather than a menu brought to the table a burger was suggested as replacement which I reluctantly agreed to. When it arrived my wife had finished her Salad. The burger came with horrible frozen oven chips that I had to leave. The staff member did not return to adjust the price as I requested so I had to go and queue at the bar at the end of the meal to get this adjusted. The food quality was poor and overpriced. Breakfast was ok and the gardens are very nice if visiting briefly but the rest of the experience was awful and unless you know about the Motel room situation in advance you feel let down and misled.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheFireExtinguisher wrote a review 2 Aug
Buckden, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Shantelle, joe and Toby at the bar in the evenings were amazing the rooms were really good but the overall experience was so enhanced by the 3 wonderful bar staff that both both made me feel welcome but were the consummate professionals. I will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we will be letting the staff know that they were mentioned, I am pleased they made you feel so welcome. It is great to read feedback like this and we do hope to welcome you back to New Place very soon. Kind Regards John
Read more
Angelamerk wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Came here for a few evening drinks and some food , food was great , service was great Caroline and talia served with infectious smile . Would come here again , going to tell my friends and family about this place !!’
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and service you received. We will pass your feedback onto the team, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards John
Read more
JP68 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband booked this hotel for two nights for a celebration of our son's university graduation. This was our first trip away from home together for three years. although my husband stays in hotels on a weekly bases. Our double room left much to be desired. We were situated in an outside block with rooms leading outside. The walkway to the car park and main building was very uneven. The room was very small. Even smaller than a travel lodge room. There was hanging space in the wardrobe but no drawer or shelf space so couldn't really unpack. One had to walk over a door mat to get around the bed. When using the desk/vanity the only chair in the room was up against the bed. Not really suitable for a couple staying two nights. The room had obviously not been properly cleaned after previous guests as there were sweet wrappers around the bin. At least the bed although small appeared clean and was comfy. We decided to eat in the bar on our first night as we arrived late e3vening. Our table was sticky. Our food was served and we were then asked if we should like cutlery!!!!! I really don't know how we were expected to eat it otherwise. No napkins were provided. Obviously, the staff was untrained. We requested a cheeseburger but were told not available but could have a burger with cheese instead Three main courses " 2 fish and chips plus a cheeseburger) and a bottle of the cheapest wine (House wine unavailable) came to £75.00. Breakfast was the usual buffet. Nothing inspiring. The toast which was brought to the table was soggy in the middle. I would expect croissants at 7.00 am to be warm, not cold, and over browned. My husband was so disappointed with everything that he decided to check out even though we had already paid for a second night's bed and breakfast. Not particularly good room rates and we had to pay £30 extra for our son's room with no breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your afternoon tea visit, all feedback is taken seriously and I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments to investigate further, to aid the training and development of the team. Kind Regards John
Read more
kimjune wrote a review Jul 2022
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom100 contributions27 helpful votes
Not a great hotel to stay in the superior rooms are no better than a travel Inn/premier Inn. The coffee machine in the room hadn't been emptied after the previous occupant. We chose to dine in for the evening and the food was lovely but there was a very officious lady in a black outfit with a walkie talkie attached to her who was very abrupt and gave us the impression she couldn't wait for us to finish and go - she was the same with everyone dining. The rest of the waiting staff were very pleasant. We had breakfast and the same lady was there with the same demeanour as the previous evening - even being quite rude to some of the guests - the poor waiting staff kept apologising to everyone for everything saying they had a wedding on and they were short staffed. The breakfast was very good. It's a shame because it looked lovely but unfortunately we won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we will take your comments on board and they will be passed on to the relevant departments. kind regards John
Read more
Jafe Arif wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I want to put on record what a fantastic family wedding we had last Sunday. The team led by Becka and G were absolutely amazing. We used the Arden Suite for the ceremony and usually they have a two turnarounds, but we had three and it was seamless. Everything that was planned was on time and the service was exceptional, which made the day for the bride and groom all the more exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with patio doors and aircon
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. It is so lovely to read such great feedback in regards to our team members, we will pass this feedback onto G and Becca. I am pleased to hear the wedding day went smoothly and everyone had a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back to New Place very soon. Kind Regards John
Read more
jhnnyboy wrote a review Jul 2022
Ferndown, Dorset15 contributions11 helpful votes
Visited this hotel as a last minute night away. Booking process through Hotels.com was seamless and I always like option to paying advance to make check in easier. The grounds and Manor House are amazing and we enjoyed the chance to stroll around in the evening. Leisure Facilities were good, both clean and well maintained. We were a little disappointed with the room, as the majority of rooms appear to be in newer 'dorm style' blocks, quite small and not particularly clean. Dusty cobwebs being a personal pet hate ! Food in the bar area was lovely and well priced, although drinks were very expensive, given that a Gin & Tonic and a Pint were almost the same cost as a meal for 2 ! Overall service was good and staff appear well trained and professional. Top Tip would be get to breakfast early as when it gets busy the self service area is mayhem !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Did not look at the options to upgrade rooms properly, would probably do this if we visited again.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you made good use of our leisure facilities and also took a stroll around our grounds. All the staff here are trained to offer a very high level of service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to New Place in the near future. Kind Regards John
Read more
Helen C wrote a review Jul 2022
48 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Visited this hotel in March for 1 night and we returned in June for 2 nights as we thoroughly enjoyed it. We choose a different room on this occasion and had a Garden room with patio door. Very comfortable, fridge in the room and also a mobile air conditioning unit. The food once again was excellent. The staff were also excellent and we would like to say that Roberta and Bella were exceptional. We would just like to say that this is an exceptional hotel, the restaurant is beautiful and the food excellent. Thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for you review. I am pleased to hear you found our superior room type comfortable with the fridge and air conditioning unit, I will pass on your great feedback to Roberta and Bella who work in the restaurant. We really hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards John
Read more
Jacqueline W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The reception staff were warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was small but more than adequate and the bed was comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and the terrace is a wonderful place to spend an evening having a quiet drink. Altogether the hotel grounds and buildings were splendid. This is no ordinary hotel if you want a stay to remember its the place to go you won't be disappointed. We decided as we were leaving we would be definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a warm welcome given on arrival by our reception team I will let them know of this feedback to, Our grounds here at New Place are stunning and there is 32 acres of ground to explore. We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. Kind Regards John
Read more
oldwalkerSoutheast wrote a review Jul 2022
Tonbridge, United Kingdom80 contributions29 helpful votes
I have read another review on here which said that they were disappointed that the beautiful old house is not what you get. It would be lovely if you could actually get a tour of the building as I feel that it would be worth seeing. The conference participants do seem to take priority over the hotel guests. The accommodation is functional, but where are the drawers? The grounds are beautiful and all of the hanging baskets were well kept and flourishing. The pool area is clean and well kept. We were disappointed that the menu was the same but we ordered off the bar menu as well. The wine was definitely at hotel prices. Breakfast was excellent, but you could do with a toast rack so that your toast doesn't go soggy and also a separate knife for buttering. As the accommodation is quite a walk from the restaurant, maybe put an umbrella in each room?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I'd ask for an upstairs room as it is quite disconcerting having someone walking right past...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at New Place Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, We would of been more then happy to show you round the manor house if you had asked at reception, you are also more then welcome to of explored the manor house. We are looking into purchasing umbrellas currently as we understand there is a distance between the manor house and bedrooms and we would like our guests stay to be as comfortable as possible. Our grounds team do a great job of ensuring the hanging baskets and grounds are looking at there best. Kind Regards John
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de vere venues new place hotel shirrell heath, new place southampton, new place hotel southampton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere New Place
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireShirrell Heath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about New Place Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to New Place Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (7.6 km), The Brickworks Museum (7.6 km), and Manor Farm (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at New Place Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at New Place Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at New Place Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at New Place Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to New Place Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truffles, The Old Mill Restaurant, and Anatolian Turkish Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at New Place Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is New Place Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Shirrell Heath.
Are any cleaning services offered at New Place Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does New Place Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at New Place Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.