We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viamede Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Viamede Resort
 Click to rate
Parry Sound, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a group of athletes staying and asked to change breakfast time as 8:30 too late.The general manager would not even try to change schedule, said no right away. Asked if he could try to bring in some staff and said no.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skiermombc
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi Skiermombc, I'm sorry that this was your perspective of our conversation. We are, in fact, offering a continental breakfast for your convenience Saturday morning. I look forward to meeting you tomorrow. Cheers! Ben

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You can't beat the location but the service is a little lacking. They just need to work on the small things. We stayed a weekend in a cottage in the winter not enough wine glasses😄no dish towels, not enough towels, no fire wood starter.............no phone to call the front desk. Normally would post but the are charging a big rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shailstone
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear shailstone, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It certainly seems that service was not up to par during your stay, and I apologize for that. You should certainly have glasses, towels and fire starter in your cottage and we've reviewed this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Cheers, Ben Samann

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We came for the dinner at Mount Julian across the road and stayed for the in-room fireplace, indoor/outdoor pool and snowshoeing through fresh powdered snow. We enjoyed our weekend thanks to the easygoing and helpful staff. Not a luxury spot but certainly cozy in the winter. If you're lucky you'll spot the neighbourhood family of deer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillian_Toronto
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jillian_Toronto Thanks for your kind comments! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Ben Samann General Manager

Toronto
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The last time I was at Viamede was last spring. I thought I'd try it in the winter and I wasn't disappointed! Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, and skating kept us busy during the day. An indoor swim and sauna, got out all the kinks and then we had a fantastic dinner at Mount Julian, the resort's upscale dining option. New chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WinsomeTraveller
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear WinsomeTraveller, You certainly took advantage of the many things to do here! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Ben Samann General Manager

Ajax, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We went to Viamede Resort this Winter to escape the city for two nights. The regular rooms were $200.00 plus tax a night including breakfast. We liked the fact that we were away from the city but found that our room had mice with mouse droppings under our sink and on our towels in the bathroom that had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 860ginger
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi 860ginger, I'm very sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. There are certainly some surprising notes in your review, and I will look into why you were not given a menu for our other restaurant, 1885. We certainly want guests to choose their own experience, and we're quite proud of the more casual experience in 1885. You...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a great weekend at Viamede. The customer service was fantastic, all of the staff very friendly. Upon arriving to our cottage we had a nice bottle of wine and flowers seeing as it was a belated anniversary weekend, which Ben had asked when I booked if it was a special occasion. Very nice touch thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline B, It was a pleasure meeting you both! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers! Ben

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Just under two hours away from Toronto, visiting Viamede Resort was a lovely weekend break. Quiet in January, it felt like we had the resort to ourselves, except for the friendly staff. The accommodation was nice - the kind size bed was very comfy. The breakfast each day was really tasty with huge portions. We enjoyed their 7-course tasting menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Hi Megan, Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you in the summer! Cheers! Ben

Merrickville, Canada
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Just there for a short business conference in December after a few stressful weeks. The food served was delicious, with seasonal vegetables and several options to choose from. Room was spacious and clean. The best part was at the end of the day I used the gym and pool area. The gym is new with plenty of equipment and natural...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErinSeabert
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and made ample use of the sauna, gym and pool! Hope to see you again soon, Ben

Bath, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Was very concerned about the safety of the resort. The dock railing snapped in half leaving my husband falling into the Rocky water ruining his wallet, cell phone and hurting his hand. the irony was he reaching to pull out a resort chair. The resort staff and management didn't do anything about it. Didn't reply to voice mails or emails,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shelleywoods05
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shelley, I am sorry to hear that you had this experience. Safety is very important to us and we inspect the docks regularly, ensuring that the metal posts are structurally sound. We will certainly inspect them again when we install in the spring. If you have any further concerns, please do contact me directly. Cheers, Ben Samann

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed in 3 bedroom cottage with my family 2 year in a row. Staff very friendly although you need to sometimes remind them when in a cottage to vacuum or provide you with items. The cottages could you a supervisor to review between cleaning from client to client. Buffet was always hot and with fresh fruit ... basic but delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suesherban
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear suesherban, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry to hear we were not reaching our typical housekeeping standards in your cottage. We take every review and comment seriously and appreciate your feed back to make our resort even better. We...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.1 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
96 reviews
3.9 km away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
72 reviews
33.0 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
35.3 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
168 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not bother”
 of 5 bubbles 860ginger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views from the cottages on the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles suesherban, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages provide private comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles jennalbw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are mostly all a water view, just a couple are behind so ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 51shanah, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For internet the modernized hilltop rooms have the best connection along with those in the main lodge. The cabins I saw were really rustic.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretS351, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5