We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spring House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Spring House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spring House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 September 2014

This was our family's first time to Block Island. We couldn't be happier with this hotel. We stayed at the Roth House witch was a small but adequate two room suite for the 4 of us. The nicest part of our visit was relaxing in the adirondack chairs on the lawn overlooking the ocean. The food and service was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gilligan1120
NYC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed at the Spring House for Labor Day Weekend 2014. It was a busy weekend but staff was able to to handle it and was very accommodating and pleasant. We had an air conditioned room that still was quaint with modern amenities. The room was pricey but it was a holiday weekend. The best part was sitting out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank desiquill
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very quaint old hotel and some of the rooms have quite a pitch to them, but that is part of the charm. Most of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate guests. The hotel restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices are a little steep but the quality and the views are excellent!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear I9346LTjohnm, We appreciate you taking the time to share these comments! We are very glad you had a pleasant visit with us. Our bartenders will truly be pleased to hear of your appreciation of their hard work. We hope to see you on the Adirondack chairs again with us soon! Sincerely, Tanya Brenton Social Media/ Public Relations

Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel and grounds are absolutely gorgeous and there is nothing better than having a drink on the adirondack chairs on the lawn. There was a private event happening the weekend we traveled there and unfortunately there was a lot of traffic coming in and out and we almost felt like we were interrupting someone else's party. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank librarianofbabel
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lousy service and outdated rooms. I think the owner has made enough money to invest in some improvements to the rooms and hire a professional management staff. The rooms have a beautiful breeze at night and they do absolutely nothing to try to keep them cool during the hottest hours. There are ways to keep a room cool with fans....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank SACMOM878
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SACMOM878, On behalf of the entire Spring House Hotel faculty, I am very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory visit with us this summer. We truly appreciate your honest comments as they help us to improve. Both hotel and restaurant management have been informed of your complaints and the issues are being addressed. We hold our staff to high...

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The property is lovely and the location is great. However, the barn apartments are absurdly noisy. For the price, you would expect some noise dampening. I am here right now and feel as though the people above us are walking around in our apartment. Would not stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Bits5
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Sea Winds town homes are lovely, with full amenities, no noise from neighboring apartments, and lots and lots of room-- we loved our stay there!! However, we stayed in one of the Spring House Barn Apartments for one night, and it was horribly noisy, a TV didn't work even after the staff tried to fix it, and hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Okay. SpringHouse. We stayed here before and it was a Homerun. This time. I don't ever want to return. Granted it's the Best location and hotel on the island. Now,how about the staff. My wife booked a 2 day stay a few weeks prior.We check in.Heres where it becomes "funny" .the couple checking in ahead of us were read the...

 Report
Helpful?
23Thank HonestChap17
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HonestChap17, We are very surprised and sorry to hear of your most recent stay at The Spring House. We do not rely on people not returning; we expect all staff to treat patrons in such a way that makes them want to come back. We realize that creating this sort of relationship with guests is what keeps us going...

Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My Mom and I took our first trip to BI in August and were recommended the Spring House by a friend. We were pleasantly surprised that they had room in August and the concierge was so helpful in booking our room. The hotel was gorgeous, situated up and away from the bustle of town- I would have been content to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunny82285
Orange,CT
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for an updated facility, you are not at the wrong hotel, you are on the wrong island. This hotel is an old hotel, located on a short season island. Hotels here are not raking in money year round, so things are outdated and run down. You need to lower your lodging expectations to visit the island....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Soggydollarz
Tanya B, Public Relations Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review

Soggydollarz, Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at The Spring House. We are glad you were able to experience Martini Night while you were here! Your comments regarding the room are appreciated and will help us as we continue to make improvements. We hope to see you again next summer! Sincerely, Tanya Brenton Social Media/Public Relations

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Shoreham
0.4 km away
Hotel Manisses
Hotel Manisses
#2 of 7 in Block Island
75 reviews
0.8 km away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
233 reviews
0.8 km away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#3 of 6 in New Shoreham
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
180 reviews
24.4 km away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
204 reviews
0.4 km away
The 1661 Inn
The 1661 Inn
#2 of 28 in New Shoreham
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spring House Hotel, built in 1852, is Block Island's largest and oldest hotel. Set atop a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean as well as the spring from which we take our name, the property provides views which cannot be beat. Being a ten minute walk from Old Harbor, the Spring House provides an oasis which can be enjoyed from our Adirondack chairs, wrap-around porch, and East overlook patio. Great pride is taken in our seed-to-table mission in both of our two on-site restaurants. Three gardens and a greenhouse provide fresh produce creating delicious dining options on both our Dining Room and Bistro menus. Simply choose your preference of formal or casual food and setting upon arrival. Indoor and outdoor seating is available for both. Between the Main Building and the Mott House (an Annex Building located 20 yards away), there are 50 hotel rooms to rent, ranging from 1-bed standards up to studios and suites. Two apartments and four houses are also available to rent on property, as well as off-property Town Homes. Block Island thrives during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During this time, all of the above-listed dining and hotel options are available. Outside of this time frame, the Dining Room menu is closed. The Bistro menu remains open along with the Main Building Hotel from April through October. The Spring House Hotel provides a beautiful setting for weddings and special events which are frequently hosted on the weekends. In the effort to provide our nuptial couples the exclusive setting, our food and beverage outlets may be closed during these events. During the off-season (November-April), the Main Building Hotel is closed and only our Barn Suites and Houses are available for rent. Last winter was the grand opening of The Barn Restaurant, providing an intimate dining experience Wednesdays-Sundays for dinner only. The restaurant, fitting only 30-35 patrons, features an open-concept kitchen and a truly unique experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 52 Spring Street, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Price Range: ₹ 17,325 - ₹ 22,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spring House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Spring House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Block Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spring House Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Fall River, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Ramsey, New Jersey
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
Hampton Bays, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Spring House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can book a room, just book one as they will not last long!”
 of 5 bubbles jmdig55, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the Third Floor Northwest corner. Very quiet, great views but no elevator if you have difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 203susann, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most all rooms have a great view. We had a corner, northwest side and was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles M269FYjonathanc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would go to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles GACRhodeIsland, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Could use a tabletop or counter space in bathroom. New pedestal sink but nowhere to place your toiletries”
 of 5 bubbles 419essieg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay