We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1BU Scotland
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Algotels
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (232)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (13)

About

#8 of 8 hotels in East Kilbride
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, is a friendly family run hotel, joined on to the EK Hub, one of Scotland’s biggest indoor shopping centres. East Kilbride’s main bus terminus is positioned next to the hotel allowing easy access to transport links connecting you to Glasgow City Centre and the adjoining areas. You could also use the bus service to explore the beautiful rolling countryside of the Clyde Valley or Ayrshire that encompasses East Kilbride. We are also just 10 minutes walk from East Kilbride train station with direct connections to Glasgow Central Station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Polish
666Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 154
  • 122
  • 91
  • 127
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Barbara G wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom77 contributions51 helpful votes
The photo on the booking site I used were ok and the price was good. However when I checked in for one night even though there was a double bed the room was tiny. The upholstery on the chair in the room was so dirty I wouldn’t anything on it let alone sit on it. The room was extremely unloved With ring marks on all the surfaces and very dark. The bathroom was clean but very tired with cracked tiles on the floor. The shower was little more than a trickle. It was so small I couldn’t outstretch my arms either way. That said the bed linen was clean and I did sleep relatively well. I understand the limitations Covid has made. However other than breakfast there were no facilities at the hotel. I had been travelling for 6 hours and the bar was closed as well as the restaurant. Also the public areas were unavailable. All of this made my stay all the more unpleasant. I was directed to the nearest restaurant which was a Weatherspoons 3 minutes walk from the hotel. I was a little nervous as I was a single female and didn’t know the area. Such a shame as with a lot of investment it could be a great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We have taken on board your comments and will investigate this further, as this is unacceptable for a hotel who prides itself on commitment to service and guest satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole wrote a review Sep 2021
Dublin, Ireland31 contributions14 helpful votes
If I could put 0 stars it would be awesome! I know the price is low and that's okay but a least wash the bedsheets! They were smelling like someone slept there already! Then the bathroom was dirty and in one of the towels I found a public hair, I just wanted to puke!! Then I wanted to make coffee and in one of the mugs there was another hair! I mean this is unacceptable!! I haven't slept for 1 second for the noise of drunk people outside and also in the other rooms! It means the walls are like paper. The only positive thing was the blonde girl at the reception in the morning who was super kind and gave us the breakfast. The star is for her! I slept in hostels better than this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan C wrote a review Sep 2021
Bangkok, Thailand1 contribution1 helpful vote
The following is the letter sent by email to the Bruce Hotel which, unsurprisingly, has received no response. The matters will now be raised with UK Trading Standards, the Scottish Tourist Board and the UK consumer arbitration. The automated responses which the Bruce Hotel leaves on Tripadvisor in response to poor reviews in the hope that the matter will be settled will not work in this case. That the Bruce Hotel is ranked #8 out of 8 hotels in this town speaks for itself. FORMAL COMPLAINT: communication #1 August 31st 2021 I write to you solely and directly in anticipation of a prompt response failing which I shall escalate this complaint to the Trading Standards Authority, the Scottish Tourist Board and the UK Consumers Arbitration. Having lived, worked and travelled both locally and internationally for over 30 years – including in the hotel industry - I have rarely encountered such a badly maintained and ineffectively managed premises such as yours. I stayed in the Bruce Hotel for four nights from Monday, August 23rd until Friday, August 27th 2021. [1] Not once was the outside area which is part of your hotel ever cleaned, including the tables; cigarette butts, consumed drinks, wrappers and other sundry litter accumulated during that period. Furthermore, the carpets of your common areas, and, especially, inside the elevators were filthy. [2] Despite referring to the matter on three occasions on three separate days with your reception staff, the internet connection in the room was intermittent resulting in my having to go downstairs repeatedly in order to retrieve important emails. This problem was recognised by your reception staff. [3] The elevator door jammed on four occasions resulting, on the first occasion, in my being unable to exit. This was witnessed and reported to your receptionist by me on the first day; she acknowledged that her manager had referred to this, but that same problem remained throughout my stay. It was noted again two days later by the receptionist himself but with no indication that any action would be taken. That the first receptionist was aware of the problem on August 23rd, yet by August 27th the matter had not been resolved is in serious breach of health and safety requirements and is tantamount to negligence on the part of the hotel. [4] The laminated information card left in the hotel room unequivocally stated that fresh towels would be provided each day and would be left outside the door: this did not happen on any occasion, nor, it seems, did it occur to your housekeeping staff that coffees and other toiletries designed for a one-off use would also require replacement on a daily basis even if, based upon current COVID regulations, those too would be left outside the door. [5] Upon checking, I discovered that, unlike the Bruce Hotel, other hotels had resumed full daily cleaning of rooms. Has it not occurred to the hotel to provide staff with PPE gear if, as is claimed, the hotel is concerned about the effects of COVID, or is the hotel content to allow the guests to engage in self-service for an indefinite period? [6] Despite the reopening of restaurants elsewhere, your hotel continues to serve a cheap cold breakfast. Again, other establishments have introduced means of social distancing while eating, but the Bruce appears not to have considered that. [7] I requested towels and a change of bedding on two occasions on the same day. Your receptionist stated that these would be supplied by 15.00; they were not, and I made a second request after this time had expired. I should also add that for a receptionist on two separate occasions to refer to having a ‘million things to do’ is not my concern and is evidence of scant training. [8] The lock on the bathroom door was missing; it had obviously broken off at some point in the past but had not been replaced. [9] The room window could not be closed properly, swung open in the wind and allowed in a large number of flies. [10] I was woken in the small hours of the morning by a telephone call from complete strangers who were offensive. Only two people knew that I was staying in the Bruce Hotel and, unlike the callers, do not have Irish accents. You had at least four residents in the hotel at that time who had Irish accents, two of whom were staying diagonally opposite me, despite which I never once interacted with them in any way. The pig ignorance of the intellectually challenged is of no interest to me; what is of interest, however, is that, when I reported this matter later that morning, your receptionist was unable to check records of inter-room telephone calls and given that the porter had received no external call during the night in question, the call could only have come from guests. Had I not been leaving the same morning, I would have referred the matter to the Police. [11] A sign outside the hotel clearly referred to contacting the night porter which, by my understanding, would suggest that, during the small hours, the hotel doors would be closed, access being granted only by the night porter himself; this would, of course, be standard and sensible practice in terms of safety. That, however, was not the case, and the hotel remained open - with limited supervision - and on more than one occasion I exited and entered the hotel premises late at night with nobody present in the reception area. That is not the fault of the night porter who may have different tasks to perform, but to have no system in place thereby allowing anybody to enter the hotel at any time without being questioned is a worrying lapse in security. While your staff were pleasant and helpful even if, as one claimed, they are overworked, that does not detract from the fact that the Bruce Hotel is severely lacking in several aspects of its management and upkeep, and, it seems, is seeking, partially using the excuse of COVID, to save money rather than provide an adequate service to guests and taking the appropriate measures taken by other hotels of a similar category. Furthermore, concerns pertaining to the security of the guests warrant reporting. Hotel accommodation is limited in East Kilbride; that, however, is no excuse for compromise and / or indifference in terms of standards, but that, in my view, is precisely what the Bruce Hotel is doing. It has not gone unnoticed by me and, I can assure you, by others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louis A wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Angie at reception was lovely and very welcoming. I stayed in one of the first floor rooms - wasn't one of the new refurbished ones but it was still not a bad room. The bed was comfy and so I had a nice sleep. There were a few noises from neighbouring guests but what can you do about that? There are areas of the hotel that require some TLC and the bar/restaurant was closed which was a bit disappointing - however I was informed that this was due to renovation work. Hopefully next time I'm back I can sit in the lounge and have a beer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Louis, Thank you for choosing The Bruce Hotel for your recent travels to Glasgow. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.” Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon! Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David T wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
Staff were extremely welcoming, nice and friendly. There was an issue with my booking however this was quickly resolved by the staff and I was upgraded to a superior room - the room was perfect and spacious. I enjoyed my 1 night stay at The Bruce and will most definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing The Bruce Hotel for your recent travels to Glasgow. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.” Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon! Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria D wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Very dirty all around hallways, elevator, smelled awful throughout the hotel, staff not very helpful and manager very disrespectful towards me. When asked manager to do something about this he said I was wrong and that was the end of it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mgs1970 wrote a review Jan 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
Due to the last minute Christmas Covid restrictions we never managed to actually stay at The Bruce Hotel so cannot comment on the facilities. The booking online was seamless and straightforward and when the hotel had to cancel our booking due to Covid, they were very courteous, professional and speedy in repayment. I would definitely book there again on my next trip to the area.
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had a good experience staying with us. If there's anything we can do to make your stay more memorable next time, please do let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
411leamguy wrote a review Dec 2020
London6 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed at the Bruce for one night for a work trip. It was cheap which was good. The bathroom was dirty and I wasn't convinced the sheets had been changed as there was glitter and a happy birthday token in between the sheets. There was a very noisy couple who were up all night above me which meant I too was up all night. Probably won't stay there again unless desperate. Useful place if you need a bed for a few hours of Kilbride entertainment, but not if you need some sleep
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear Sirs, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dee S wrote a review Dec 2020
Wokingham, United Kingdom479 contributions192 helpful votes
We stayed overnight due to a compassionate visit for my mother who is in a care home locally. Staff were friendly and despite level 4 rrstrictions they allowed us to have a takeaway We have stayed here several times and will be back in a better time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dee, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had a good experience staying with us. If there's anything we can do to make your stay more memorable next time, please do let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kayess1902 wrote a review Oct 2020
London52 contributions16 helpful votes
This hotel is tired and in desperate need of a complete overhaul. The staff seemed uninterested and disengaged. The pre-paid breakfast consisted of take away cereal, yoghurt, stale croissant and a piece of fruit each, served in a brown paper bag with a Styrofoam bowl and plastic spoon. Not the cooked Scottish breakfast we were expecting, but understandable due to the Covid-19 restrictions. The bar and restaurant were not open at any point during our stay. There was almost no water pressure from the toilet or shower and no towels on arrival, although clean towels were then left outside the room daily as housekeeping were not allowed to enter the room during our stay, again due to the Coronavirus restrictions. Again, completely understandable. When you greet the receptionist in the morning with a cheery "how are you", to have the response "well I'm here" was unexpected, as was the day we went without breakfast as there was no-one in Reception to collect it from the kitchen. The whole place felt like it hadn't seen a lick of paint in years and was devoid of the normal facilities found in hotels. You would think there would be more attention at this time. It was so disappointing that we checked out a day early. We would be hard pushed to give this hotel any kind of recommendation unless it was bought up to date, especially given the newer competition in the town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Hotel, Owner at The Bruce Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant experience at The Bruce Hotel. We have taken on board your comments and will investigate this further, as this is unacceptable for a hotel who prides itself on commitment to service and guest satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bruce hotel east kilbride
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireEast Kilbride
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BRUCE HOTEL (East Kilbride, Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bruce Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bruce Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hudsons Bar (0.10 km), Odeon Cinema (0.4 km), and Aerial Adventures (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bruce Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Bruce Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Bruce Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bruce Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bruce Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ricos, Blue Lagoon Fish & Chips (East Kilbride Shopping Centre), and Tower.
Is The Bruce Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of East Kilbride.
Does The Bruce Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bruce Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bruce Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting David Livingstone Birthplace (7.5 km), Castlemilk Stables (5.9 km), and Snuff Mill Bridge (7.7 km).
Is The Bruce Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.