We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bruce Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bruce Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I don't think so. We came down to East Kilbride to do Christmas shopping and see family. My wife booked through Trivago and paid £220 for 4 nights B&B.Not bad price. We did not check TripAdvisor as we used to stay in the town and the BRUCE had a great reputation. What a disappointment but the alarm bells sounded when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
united kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night and happy I was with my partner, as if I had been travelling alone I would not have stayed. Room was pretty dreadful. At least the sheets were clean, although the bed was hardly 'made' see picture of bed taken when we arrived into room We paid £70 for a double room Worst hotel I've stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruichladdichmalt
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a room in hotels.com which my MRS asked for a bathtub, got to hotel and thrown into room 112 which was small, with no bathtub, asked to be moved where reception staff said "There isn't anything about a bathtub on the reservation" to which I found disappointing finally she decided to move us to room 208, the smell walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidR-1011
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I have stayed at this hotel before, I booked up for an overnight stay as I was attending a meeting on the Tuesday evening. As has been said before, the hotel is a bit tired but they are in the course of carrying out renovations. It is conveniently situated in the Town Centre and handy for buses/taxis. I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianpostie
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your constructive review. Please believe me we have been working very hard in an effort to improve our wifi signal which has proved to be a challenge indeed. However we do have plans to carry out some work in January which will hopefully go some way to improving the overall signal on the floors which...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had booked hi tea got a call from the hotel to say the Skye room had a burst pipe and we had to go on the resturant what a pleasnt surprise nice room the young girl was getting trained by a very good trainer the food was great Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chissy2016
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for such a terrific review and I will take great pleasure in bringing your comments to, the Food & Beverage Manager, Barry's attention. Haste ye back Kind regards

GLASGOW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our local club attended a Tribute night on 12th November. The tribute act and supporting group were 1st class. Unfortunately, the service and standard of food let the night down. We waited too long for our main course in as much as the tables on either side were on their tea and coffee and we still had not been served....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HUGHGRANTGlasgow
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest My apologies again for the delay and for the food clearly not being up to the standard that the rest of the tribute guests received before you. My team did try to make amends by supplying your company with a complimentary drink which we had hoped would go some way to alleviating the inconvenience. However I was pleased...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed at this hotel last night when I booked it I asked for a quiet room was given the room over the smoker outdoor area so as the night went on the noise got louder and louder went down to reception to be told they would calm down as it was now 1.30 am when complained in the morning my...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank barty6
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest As you know I have already replied to you regarding your complaint. However on this review you appear to have left out the compensation you received and your threats but have included again this completely false and insulting comment about being allocated this room because you have an English address. We at the Bruce Hotel are proud to...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in November 2016. The hotel rooms are very tired but comfy and quiet, heating system needs explaining a little better as I found it very confusing! Had to request a plug for the bath both of these issues where dealt with quickly although it would be good to have more info in the room it's self...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay. The good news is that we are installing a completely new eco-friendly heating system, including new radiators, early next year. However I was pleased to read that you did thoroughly enjoy other elements of your stay including the infamous Gary. Kind regards

Bothwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pity about this place, I'm sure this once was a nice hotel. But even though it's very dated and needs urgent attention, it could still be a cosy place, if they had the right staff. The lobby is nice and has great big comfortable couches, the restaurant looks nice, nice atmosphere. But the staff is terrible. Most of them seem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stefanie G
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am shocked and disappointed that you were unhappy with our staff at the Bruce Hotel. While as a rule guests may an issue with their room or the food & beverage operation on occasion our staff are generally well praised for their efforts. However we take your comments on board and will discuss them with our team...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shower room was dirty in corners and between tiles; horrible exposed, rusty and dirty pipes behind wash hand basin; toilet seat didn't fit and moved about; stained and marked table and bed side table; bed side lamp did not reach the plug so had to ask at reception for an extension lead only to discover the bulb didn't work; filthy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joan C
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was disappointed to read your comments which has resulted in an in depth discussion with our housekeeping team along with an action plan to ensure there are no recurrences in the future. I would point out however that the dirty, rusty pipe that you refer to, is in fact not a pipe, clean and is a brass...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
0.8 km away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
463 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
609 reviews
3.1 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Peel Park) Hotel
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: ₹ 2,859 - ₹ 7,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bruce Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bruce Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bruce Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles HUGHGRANTGlasgow, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“none as when you request anything you dont get it”
 of 5 bubbles barty6, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 3rd floor, quiet, facing rear parking area/yard.”
 of 5 bubbles IvyM_13, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jamesaW7589CM, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the 1st floor overlook the main road,but the double glazing is efficient”
 of 5 bubbles terjan1, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay