We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Crutherland House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Crutherland House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Crutherland House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,374: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We were there for an overnight spa break. Our room was clean though the decor rather dated. The spa facilities were excellent . Our main disappointment was the restaurant. We had booked for a particular time in the evening. After being seated we waited 15mins for our order to be taken. It then took a further 45 mins for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie Y
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Annemarie Y Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that your dining experience was not up to your expectation and our usual standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crutherland House. Kindest Regards Tej

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Enjoyed staying here because in a funny sort of way didn't realise I was staying as everything was totally easy and no problem. Good helpful staff and all the food and drink was fine. Particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Andy R I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Crutherland House. I have passed on your compliments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards Tej

Blantyre, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived Mon 6th March receptionist very friendly. We had booked in for afternoon tea which was lovely and good value for money. Had booked a massage which was amazing but from hotel room to spa the place was absolutely freezing. Room wasn't cleanest few issues which are wee things which could be easily overlooked but mould and mildew round...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slcr2017
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear slcr2017 I am sorry to read your comments regarding your experience at Crutherland House. I always encourage feedback whether positive or negative and it is a shame that you didn’t raise your grievance whilst at the hotel as I would have spoken to you and addressed the issues personally. I take your comments on board and will discuss your...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist Maslisa who directed us to the health and wellbeing spa. Natalie and Adrienne were on front desk in the spa , both very helpful and made us feel welcome. I had my very first full body massage at the hands of the lovely Robyn who was so professional, one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny F
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Penny F Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our offerings. I have passed on your compliments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Tej

paisley, renfrewshire, scotland
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed this weekend in a double room on a DBB rate for my husband's birthday. I had booked direct through hotel on a special offer for spring, got a great deal which included a £10 credit which could be used in the bar. We made use of this and enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the bar which was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debs2712
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear debs2712 Thank you for your recent review I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crutherland House. Kindest regards Tej

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We arrived on a Friday in March. It seemed only one of the public rooms was open and heated. Everywhere else was cold. The next day the hotel was fuller and so the heating on! Maybe it just wants to be a wedding venue as the grounds are nice.Wallpaper coming away in rooms and just a bit shabby. Wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Paula P Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was a mixed experience Food and drinks are very competitively priced in comparison to similar other local eateries. So that we can maintain our usual 2 rosette quality for food and service on busy days we stagger the restaurant reservations. I...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived to a busy reception but didn't take too long to check in considering, approx 10 mins We stayed in room 109 which was directly beside the lift, concerned at first but should not have worried as this did not cause any issues, room okay, clean but a bit tired in places, view of a roof and wall so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne J Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was a mixed experience. Your comments about the bedroom, restaurant and the bar is noted and discussed with the team. I am always striving to improve the property and I do hope that you return to us in the future when...

Fife,Scotland
Reviewed 11 March 2017

A little disappointing. Wasn't offered robe and slippers prior to my treatment despite being there on a package. The deal also offered a £5 credit towards a product but I had to ask about this as the staff didn't either offer or remind me of it. I'm not expecting them to be sales assistants but they should have at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessie07
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Tessie07 Please accept my apologies for the spa experience you had at Crutherland House. I have taken your feedback on board and spoken to the spa team to ensure that there is a clear communication within the department. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a lovely experience with us and hope that we will have the...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We have stayed in this hotel several times, and have always enjoyed our stay. This time we were given a voucher as a birthday present. As a wee treat we decided to have breakfast in bed for my birthday,. We left the menu outside our door about 11 pm before going to bed, ordering it for 8.30am. In the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Margaret C I am so sorry to read of your mixed experience at Crutherland House. I have taken your feedback on board and also shared this with reception and spa team to ensure that there is no repeat of such incidents moving forward. I thank you once again for providing me with your feedback, which I truly value and...

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Nice hotel could do with a little upgrade.Booked an excutive room which was very c lean and a big room,could not complain.staff very good nothing was a problem for them .A little let down was no jacuzzi but nice pool.Loved the free wine fruit and water in room nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oapme
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear oapme Thank you for the review I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful Spa experience with us and enjoyed our leisure facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crutherland House. Kindest regards Tej

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: ₹ 5,809 - ₹ 10,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“prebook dinner time as restaurant gets busy”
HolidaySeeker999, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If using spa facilities ask for a room nearby then you can walk along in dressing gown and slippers that are provided.”
annemariey76, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring your cozzie”
824andyr, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My single room, 304, was small, overlooked the car park and was quite a trek from reception - avoid”
paulapX3955VY, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take an executive room”
Tessie07, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5