We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$61
View deal
Booking.com
$69
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$51
View deal
Hotels.com$61
Travelocity$61
Algotels$94
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (477)
Room & Suite (95)
Dining (59)

About

#6 of 8 hotels in East Kilbride
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in East Kilbride does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Macdonald Crutherland House, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free internet access offered by the hotel.

Macdonald Crutherland House features 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel, free parking is available.

Travellers looking to enjoy some tempura can head to Oiishi Japanese Cuisine, The Auldhouse Arms, or The Torrance Restaurant.

If you’re looking for something to do, Calderglen Country Park (0.7 mi) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Macdonald Crutherland House.

Macdonald Crutherland House looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to East Kilbride.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1871Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 658
  • 544
  • 316
  • 218
  • 135
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eve Devitt wrote a review 20 Nov
1 contribution
Highly attentive, professional and kind staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Very clean, liked that there was a bath and the food was lovely. Temperature of room was perfect! Such a lovely time! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marlyn M wrote a review 17 Nov
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom61 contributions59 helpful votes
First visit as a treat with package of B and B with dinner and spa treatment, we checked in before 3pm and the room was ready. Given instructions on how to access our room, and paid the extra for super deluxe room which was nice. Took advance of the pool etc, however the sauna did not appear to be working but this did not affect our experience too much. Decided to have back and shoulder massage and Karen was lovely, chatty and made me fully relaxed. We went for dinner and this was from set menu which allowed us £25 each, although it was £8.50 for soup and deserts were £9 each, however the main courses were between £15 and £20. The restaurant was lovely although very quite as the hotel was quite quiet when we stayed. We were served for dinner by Dylan who was first class and very professional, the food was amazing the chicken with chorizo and potato was lovely as was the sea bass with Cullen skink chowder, and soup carrot and leek. Can highly recommend the food at this hotel. The breakfast was quiet as was the dinner, however we were served by 2 lovely ladies who were an absolute pleasure to speak to, called Elizabeth and Susan. They were a breath of fresh air first thing in the morning and could not do enough for us, and we had a lovely chat with them both. We would happily come back to this hotel for the lovely food and excellent service provided by these people. We were checked out by Stacey who was again very pleasant as were all the staff, and we would happily return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Inspiration609885 wrote a review Oct 2022
A girl by the name of Susan and the spa girls made this a memorable birthday celebration. Was a glitch with the room telephone and heating which was attended to immediately. Could not fault any of the staff. Thank you x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ruth D wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
Service non existent. Half an hour after check-in before our room was ready. Breakfast was chaotic, asked to put out order in but the waitress was too flustered, ignored us and proceeded to take the orders of 25 wedding guests who came in After us. Spoke to three managers, General manager assured me she would phone that day once she had looked into our complaints. (left without breakfast despite paying for it when booking) a week later and still no response. Dirty, jaded hotel, atrocious service and definitely no longer a 4 star hotel. Avoid at all costs!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suzanne H wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We had an afternoon tea and spa voucher so decided to book dinner and an overnight too on 20th October. We arrived at the spa at 12pm and were quickly served with our afternoon tea which was lovely and just the right amount. We then went through for our treatments. I opted for a facial and my partner had a back, neck and shoulder massage. The treatments were very enjoyable. We then used the spa facilities and lay on the sun loungers by the pool. The spa was overall very clean with good facilities and staff. The room was also very clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. We were eating in the hotel and I must admit at first we were apprehensive as we were the first in the restaurant and it was very cold, however more residents started to come in a little later. I had prawn cocktail to start, chicken and chorizo and sticky toffee pudding and my partner had the chicken wings, same main and cheese board. The food arrived quickly and was really very good! Compliments to the chef! We were served by Olivia who was so relaxed and friendly. We couldn’t believe she was 17! She always had a big smile on her face, asked us how we were enjoying our meal and at the end asked about our day. Olivia is definitely an asset to the hotel! The next morning we went for breakfast, we were in a bit of a hurry and we stood waiting to be seated a while. One of the other residents told us to just sit down as the server was very stressed! We sat down and it was certainly busier than dinner but not full. There was a good selection of continental breakfast so we started on that then ordered an omelette, breakfast roll and coffee when the lady had a chance. She seemed really stressed and we heard her telling people that they could complain to management as she was just herself and we also heard her getting frustrated with one of the workers who we heard out loud couldn’t speak any English. The lady did eventually get some help I assume from management. To be honest we found it quite entertaining and the breakfast was very good and tasty. We then checked out and compared to Neve on reception the day before the girl who checked us out seemed like she had just fallen out of bed or was still sleeping! Didn’t ask how our stay was or any chat just took the card and mumbled that there was nothing to pay. All in all I would definitely visit the spa again, I would definitely eat in the restaurant again for dinner and breakfast and I would definitely stay overnight. My only criticism would be that some of the staff need extra customer service training and/or support.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Graham P wrote a review Oct 2022
6 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel is tired and needs a serious deep clean. Mouldy bathrooms, dusty noisy extractor fan, generally poor condition and needing decorating. Had a B&B booking but never took breakfast on the second day after a poor one on the first day. Hotel has great potential but is let down by the above which wouldn’t take a lot to put right. Can’t fault the staff whatsoever - everyone of them were great and went above and beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark G wrote a review Oct 2022
Erskine, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointing visit to a McDonald hotel. Windows didn't seal, radiator was not well fixed to the wall which was reported, but not fixed during our stay. the toilet was difficult to flush and needs maintenance, evening meal was served in the bar in an uncomfortable seating position. The junior staff did well for the lack of support they had. And should be rewarded. In the spa the staff come across as abrupt, in particular the steam room should have been deactivated to allow maintenance as the thermostat being uncovered and light fixings cracked. Showers were mouldy, the fixings were tired and worn. Lack of investment is understandable due to the business effect of COVID and business loans needing repaid, but still disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Understand the effect of government loans on the running of the business and be supportive.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve M wrote a review Oct 2022
13 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel worn out, no way a 4 star. Room needed a maintenance man, windows didn’t seal properly, dusty noisy fan in bathroom, poor lighting, bathroom door didn’t close due to catch falling out, not a double bed just two singles pushed together. Myself and daughter also very ill later in the day after eating breakfast the first morning, suspected food poisoning. Didn’t bother the next morning. Not as good as expected.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karyn Stewart, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Thank you for visiting recently and for taking the time to post your review. Apologies that you had issues during your stay. Please can you contact myself directly to discuss your comments further on dutymgr.crutherland@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Thanks again and we do hope that you have the opportunity to visit the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela wrote a review Oct 2022
6 contributions
+1
Supposedly a 4 star hotel but definitely far from this. My bathroom was absolutely mould ridden and obviously not cleaned properly in months. Advised reception and showed pictures on check out but really didn't seem that fussed and certainly didn't offer any compensation. Leisure facilities are tired and worn much like the rest of the hotel. Dinner menu was limited but food was good. Slow service at breakfast buffet. Will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karyn Stewart, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Thank you for visiting recently and for taking the time to post your review. Apologies that you had issues during your stay. Please can you contact myself directly to discuss your comments further on dutymgrcrutherland@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Thanks again and we do hope that you have the opportunity to visit the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Clare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saddler_taan wrote a review Sep 2022
Lichfield, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at the Crutherland in August for my son’s wedding. The whole experience was superb, the wedding day couldn’t have gone any better and the food was amazing. The staff were really helpful, Laura the wedding planner was excellent and made sure everything went like clockwork. Alan the bar manager and MC also helped make this a really special stay. From the front of house staff to the cleaners and kitchen staff they were all really helpful and the spa is wonderful too if you just want to be pampered. Yes, the hotel could probably do with an update in some areas, but this didn’t detract from an overall excellent experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald crutherland house hotel east kilbride, macdonald crutherland hotel, macdonald crutherland east kilbride
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireEast Kilbride
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MACDONALD CRUTHERLAND HOUSE (East Kilbride, Scotland) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Crutherland House
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Crutherland House?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Rural Life (6.1 km), Calderglen Country Park (1.0 km), and Strathaven Park (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Crutherland House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Crutherland House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Crutherland House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Crutherland House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kurry Lounge, Oiishi Japanese Cuisine, and Carrigan's Blantyre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Crutherland House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Crutherland House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Crutherland House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Crutherland House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting David Livingstone Birthplace (8.0 km).
Does Macdonald Crutherland House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Macdonald Crutherland House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.