We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Crutherland House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Crutherland House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Crutherland House
 Click to rate
edinburgh
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great one night stay here at the weekend with 3 children under 9. The staff were without exception fantastic- super friendly and helpful. We ate in the dining room as on a DBB package and the 3 course menu included was delicious, Beautifully presented and the children's food was the same ( and proper food which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie26
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I took the opportunity to book a night away with my wife on the 25th Feb utilising a dinner bed and breakfast offer. When arriving to pay for the room a few weeks before the stay I used a separate voucher to upgrade to a feature suite, I booked the Highfield suite. On the day we arrived at 250pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a family wedding. The whole event was really well organised and proceedings carried through with exacting precision. Very impressed. However our bedroom was very small and cramped. It was frankly exhausted and badly in need of modernisation and refurbishment. That said it was comfortable enough and quiet and the bathroom was clean and utilitarian even if tiny....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zeb911
dumfries
Reviewed 1 week ago

We received this package as a present. Cream tea ,evening dinner ,bed and breakfast. Was not disappointed we enjoyed every thing .all the food we got was fresh made and lovely presented. Swimming pool very nice water was warm,has spa but never used it but looked good value , Rooms was large very clean everything that you needed was in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gateway72
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear gateway72 Thank you for the feedback which you recently provided us following your stay at Crutherland House. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards Tej

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay in the hotel but we went along with family for a meal and I must admit I was not very impressed we had chicken liver parfait (my choice everywhere I go) for starters and although it was very nice we were given 3 minuscule oatcakes to eat a big slab of pate some bread or crackers would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila M
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Sheila M Thank you very much for your feedback following your meal at Crutherland House. Please accept my sincere apologies if you felt that the meal was not up to your expectation. Had you mentioned this to us on the night my team would have tried their utmost to rectify it. I hope that you will return and give...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on an overnight DBB deal. Food was good for dinner and breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. The leisure facilities are nice and modern. Although a Jacuzzi would be good. The down side to the hotel is that it could be doing with a lick of paint and new carpets. Just a freshen up. Corriders were a tad smelly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerry B
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Gerry B Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our offering and hospitality. I have noted your comments with regards to decor for any future refurbishment. Kindest regards Tej

Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here diner,bed and breakfast and had a lovely time. Staff friendly,food amazing and rooms clean and tidy. Bed very comfy. Nice spa facilities on site for some R&R if needed. Only negative was bar prices but I suppose that was to be expected. Would like to go back one day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allang692015
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear allang692015 Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were able to experience the service and hospitality we pride ourselves upon here at the Crutherland House. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Tej

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fine old building set in its own grounds with ample parking very close to reception. A common theme with this style of hotel is they can appear dated in places and the bathrooms particularly can be victims of the ageing process and a bit tired, in saying that everything worked, nothing put me off staying again, more of an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Mark B Many thanks for a wonderful review, it is great to hear when someone truly enjoys the whole experience, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. You feedback is greatly appreciated from refurbishment point of view. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crutherland House. Regards Tej

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having enjoyed staying in several other MacDonald hotels recently we were not disappointed with this hotel, it was up to the usual standards with a very welcoming fire at reception and comfortable, nicely decorated rooms. We got a really good deal through itison and enjoyed an afternoon cream tea, dinner, bed & breakfast. The staff were friendly and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phunter62
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Phunter62 Thank you for providing us with the feedback after you recently stayed with us at Crutherland House. I am truly delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the offerings. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future to Crutherland House. Kind regards Tej

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an over night which included dinner & breakfast as part of a January deal for £137. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a lovely wooded area. Room was top notch.(comfy bed) Highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig M
Tej W, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Craig M Many thanks for providing us with such fantastic feedback after having enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to the team. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crutherland House Hotel in the near future. Warm regards Tej

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
634 reviews
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
503 reviews
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
2,498 reviews
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: ₹ 5,994 - ₹ 10,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for front room”
 of 5 bubbles gateway72, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay overnight we just had a meal in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 345sheilam, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“In winter doesnt matter as is dark early”
 of 5 bubbles elizaMotherwell, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a clean room”
 of 5 bubbles PacoGlasgow, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is also suitable for people with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanieairdj, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5