We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Small Norwegian cities offer poor hotels that have seen better times. Strand Gjovik is far better than average and has understood that the staff is a key. They were helpful, knowledgable and know what Hospitality is about. Fantastic breakfast. Nice room with high quality beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sverre L
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Sverre, Thanks for giving us such a great review. I will forward it to the entire staff. Hope to see you again soon. brgs, General Manager Ådne Skurdal

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel Strand is located in the very centre of Gjøvik and it considered the starting point for exploring this pretty anonymous , sleepy little Norwegian town. In the same buillding there is a cinema, a SpA for guests from outside and a place for music on the roof top. We were given a very small and spare room, with...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank dapper777
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi, We are really sorry that your journey did not start well. We firmly believe that you were very unlucky, and several coincidences led to your unfortunate stay. Please email the hotel if you'd like to visit us again for free. brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nice service minded staff and a good location in the heart of Gjovik. Room OK and clean. Nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is co-located with the Big Horn restaurant and the local cinema. The hotel bar has limited drinks to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromNorway
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We are proud to offer spa, gym, cinema and two restaurants in the same building. With regards to drinks, we do offer several alternatives in Cafe Pi, our main bar. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The Quality Hotel in Gjovik is really lovely. The rooms are a decent size and bathroom is quite large. The restaurant dinner and breakfast had lots of choices and very delicious. Only complaint is had was the our room was above the bar which was noisy until quite late but it didn't stop me getting to sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Alicia, It's great to hear that you had a great time with us in July. We do put a lot of effort in the breakfast, and it's wonderful to hear that you noticed it. We do have a rooftop bar with music in the weekends, but it's good to hear that you got to sleep anyway. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal...

Gjovik, Norway
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Noise levels are generally a massive concern for hotels. Construction work beginning near a hotel can be damaging, and a venue built near a train station will have to take precautions to eliminate the disruption cause by the noise, so it is strange that Quality Hotel Strand has decided to place a nightclub on their roof. The noise caused by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tikirain
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi, We are very sorry that you did not get to sleep at our hotel, and will take precautions before the next season with regards to the music levels. We are happy to hear beside the noise from the terrace, you were happy with our service and facilitites. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Imagine arriving in the tranquil village of Gjovik, Norway where all you expect to do is relax, and you find your self in the hotel from hell....that was my experience. The staff where abrupt and rude, the breakfast was horrendous, they attempted to charge you for every little thing possible and to top it off there was the roof top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank titch007
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi titch007, I understand that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but the characterisation that you put forward here the first I have heard as the GM of this hotell. First, we do have a rooftop bar that all our overnight guests have free entrance. The music stops at 2 am, and different people have different threshold for...

Haugesund,Norway
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We had the most expensive suite, kr 3904,oo.Aircondition was not working,the fridge was not working, there was no heating in the bathroom floor.After complaining,nothing was done.We stayed there 2 days. When checking out the Choice systen chared me full price for 2 days,I should pay NOk 2 444,oo for the second day in stead of NOK 3 904.oo. After complaining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arneih
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Arne, Thanks for getting back to us with your review. We are off course not happy that the air condition, and the fridge. I´m pretty sure that the bathroom floor did work, but it will never be as hot as the one you probably have in your home. Great to hear that the service was excellent, and that the...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed Saturday night. Good central location. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and they handled the volume of people well. The reception area is a bit odd / cavernous and it is mu first hotel with a cinema - but would certainly be happy to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Phillip B, Thanks for getting back to us with such a great review. Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and that the staff were serviceminded. Hope to see you again soon. brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Nice room, little on the small side for the price, but if you get a room on the side of the hotel that the rooftop bar is on don't expect to get any sleep. I'm on the 3rd floor, the bar is on the 6th floor and it's so loud it's ridiculous. Also the wifi is hard to connect to....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissC244
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Miss C, Sorry to hear that you did not get any sleep. The music stops at 2 am, and people have different thresholds for what they define as noise. All hotelguests are allowed in for no extra costs, but we do have a 20 year age limit due to Norwegian alcohol legislation. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I will remember an overly hot tiny room and a skimpy A/C of no help. Only solution: Open the dusty window to the noisy river and main street below and just wait a few hours. Other than this, it is an OK hotel, good steakhouse next door (I thought).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ketil3
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Ketil3, Thanks for getting back to us. We do have different categories of rooms, and if you have any preference it's wise to book the category you like. Great to hear that you enjoyed the Steakhouse. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
38.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
37.8 km away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Honne Hotell og Konferansesenter
10.8 km away
Sillongen Toten Hotel
Sillongen Toten Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vestre Toten Municipality
7 reviews
21.4 km away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#3 of 7 in Hamar
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Address: Strandgaten 15 | Entrance elvegt, Gjovik 2815, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Price Range: ₹ 9,229 - ₹ 12,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is primarily a business Hotel. Lake views are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles rogerw2405, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing the river are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles christophers144, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The surroundings of the hotell is not nice,factories etc.”
 of 5 bubbles arneih, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles kaffedamen, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the new part”
 of 5 bubbles 185benedictel, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5