We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Auberge Le Caribou

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Auberge Le Caribou
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Green Point, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We had a room with a kitchenette. Strange set up as there were 2 sinks side by side. 1 was for the bathroom as there was no sink in there, and 1 was the kitchen sink. 😁 the fridge was under the cook top, never seen that before !! The bathroom was just so small you had to step out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJay2412
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Great location; clean room; avoid eating in the restaurant - 1 1/2 hours to be served a pizza and salad; good breakfast, although it was supposed to be free- they made the effort to give us vouchers to cover part of the cost. 'Auberge' feels more like a motel... 'Mauberge' ?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49Martha
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Food was good. I had the salmon in a maple sauce. Waitress was friendly, however service was slow that's why I only gave three stars. Was busy around 7:00-7:45 so we came back around 8:30 had slowed down by then. Looks like a band was there for entertainment later, but we only ate dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
Auberge_Le_Caribou, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear Angela, We appreciate the feedback you provided about us. We are pleased to hear that you have visited our restaurant on site. We had a very busy evening during your visit and we are sorry about the slower service. As always, our team worked very hard to deliver you the best experience possible! We look forward to welcoming you...

Ontario
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed here in july, motel is dated and no coffee makers in room, although fridge was supplied Beds were quite comfortable and it was clean, helpful staff, wifi provided although signal wasn't good everywhere. The restaurant next door was excellent but another review for that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judylamb
Auberge_Le_Caribou, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear Judy, We appreciate the feedback you provided about us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant on site. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Booked late in this area for our Gaspe tour. The front desk and restaurant were great. The room was damp but once heat was turned on it was better. We thought we booked a room with 2 beds but we didn't. We asked to upgrade but rooms were full. The bed was not comfortable. The Wi-Fi was terrible. Low signal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samarito
Auberge_Le_Caribou, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy than you were pleased with the front desk service and our restaurant, the Resto-Pub La Revolte. We are very sorry if you have encountered some issues during your stay. Our Wi-Fi system is a very good one and we are surprised to learn that you had problems...

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed here in February during a snowmobile backpack trip. Room was dated but comfortable & clean. Food in the restaurant was good for dinner. Waitress was very pleasant but didn't speak much English which made it a little hard to communicate. Included breakfast in the morning was adequate but nothing special. All in all it was a nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luv2snowmobile
Auberge_Le_Caribou, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback you provided about us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Auberge Le Caribou! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and very comfortable. Our evening meal in the restaurant was very good. The breakfast, include in the rate, was very very poor totally unacceptable for a hotel of that caliber. We would have much preferred paying for a decent breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EandGVictoriaBC
Auberge_Le_Caribou, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback you provided about us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Auberge Le Caribou! Since your review, we have decided to offer the breakfast at our restaurant, le Resto-Pub La Révolte. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Oak Harbor,OH
Reviewed 23 July 2015

This is an out-dated strip-style motel but was clean and comfortable. There was a reading chair with good lighting and a sink area outside the bathroom. No ice available.The breakfast room was attractive with enough seating and, although on the water, the view wasn't attractive. Watch your step around the property since there are many uneven walkways and doorsills. Overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AppliKR
Auberge L, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear AppliKR, Thank you very much for your stay at the Auberge Le Caribou. We will certainly take your comments into consideration. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast. Also, every year, we are making renovations to improve our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We were here only one night as last stay of 8 days trip in Gaspe-Perce area. Nice and friendly staff, room is clean. Good Breakfast. We don't have water (terrible no shower) and WiFi works only in lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
Auberge L, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear Fred, We appreciate the feedback you provided about us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Auberge Le Caribou! We have now a new wi-fi sytem, which is very strong and fast! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice Staff , good breakfast(great banana bread) but horrendous rooms (we had 2) ; moldy , stuffy , we even had noisy pipes knocking all night . WiFi did not work etc. Embarrassment for Tourism to this beautiful region.Keep Away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippe J
Auberge L, Owner at Auberge Le Caribou, responded to this review

Dear Philippe, We are very sorry if you did not have a good experience with us. We are continually working to improve our 41 rooms. Some are newly remodeled, some are not but are offered at a cheaper price. We have now a new Wi-Fi system, which is strong and fast! I invite you to call us (1-877-260-3344) to give...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riviere-au-Renard
20.5 km away
Auberge sous les Arbres
21.4 km away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
176 reviews
20.6 km away
Hotel des Commandants
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
67 reviews
20.3 km away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
187 reviews
21.1 km away
Hotel-Motel Le Pharillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Auberge Le Caribou, a 3-star lodging facility, has 39 motel units open year-round and two cottages available during summer. It is located in Rivière-au-Renard (Gaspé), Gaspésie, by the sea and close to the Forillon National Park. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in every room. In winter, snowmobilers appreciate our proximity to the provincial trail No. 5. We offer great package and prices. A restaurant is located on site, the Resto-Pub La Revolte, where you can eat excellent fish & seafood. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge Le Caribou

Address: 82 Boulevard Renard Ouest, Riviere-au-Renard, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 5H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe > Riviere-au-Renard
Price Range: ₹ 5,220 - ₹ 7,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Caribou 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Le Caribou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Le Caribou staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't bother with a balcony it doesn't mean much.”
 of 5 bubbles outtathesnow, 28 Jul 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay