We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peninsula Riverside Apartments

Save
Share
53 South Perth Esp, South Perth, Western Australia 6151 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$151
Travelocity$151
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 28/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Updated 28/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in South Perth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience the Peninsula Riverside Serviced Apartments situated on the picturesque South Perth foreshore, overlooking the Swan River and Perth City skyline. Set in landscaped gardens The Peninsula is in an ideal location. It is only a few minutes walk to shops and cafes, an array of fine restaurants and the Ferry terminal; and is only 5 minutes by car or ferry to the Perth Central Business District. With a range of self contained apartments to suit short, medium or long term accommodation requirements there really is something for everyone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Thai
302Reviews6Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 109
  • 46
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gaelynschoeman wrote a review Nov 2021
Perth, Australia17 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful tidy 1 bedroom apartment. Plenty of space for two people plus visitors. Two TV’s to really spoil if you’re lying in bed!! Well equipped kitchen and small study area. Private secure parking outside our front door. Cleaning staff are wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
AndiamoPerth wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Fantastic views from our apartment. If you are considering staying in the Perth CBD, stay here. It's a short walk over the Narrows Bridge or a delightful ferry ride. Friendly, professional staff. We will definitely be back. We also received a complimentary package, which was a lovely surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a riverfront room to really appreciate the river and city views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Chris E wrote a review May 2021
Warwick, Australia16 contributions4 helpful votes
Older style motel, clean comfortable with plenty of room,. Friendly and helpful staff, quiet at night and just across the road from the river and close (400 m) to Ferry, shops and restaurants. The only blemish was the advertised daily serviced apartments did not include Sundays and advertised Foxtel does not exist
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: prices vary on views of the river front apartments up to twice the price of the back apartments
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanja Juers, Sales at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 23 May 2021
Hi Chris, Thank you for your feed back, it is always valued. We have made some changes, and are updating the different booking channels and information available to our guests. Can I ask where the information was that referred to Foxtel and servicing so I can ensure the changes have been made? We are currently reprinting our compendiums to include the changes as well and have noted on our welcome letter the current servicing times. We are glad you enjoyed our location, we do have a lot of great eating options and retail within walking distance. We hope you choose The Peninsula for another stay.
Read more
Barry B wrote a review Apr 2021
Berkeley Vale, New South Wales, Australia23 contributions5 helpful votes
After leaving feedback , to the managers credit ( Sue ) I received a call to discuss my issues . Unfortunately though I am feeling further underwhelmed by the service . We booked three nights in the One Bedroom Suite - Riverside . It was advertised on Booking.com as " This suite is located on either the middle or upper floor and features a balcony with views of the Swan River. With an open plan, kitchen, living, and dining area, and an en suite bedroom. " taken from first paragraph of description. Disappointingly we were ground floor with a view of the car park with obscured views through Landcruiser canopies and other large 4wd vehicles of the River , understandably these vehicles are popular in WA. It was advertised as middle and upper floor though. Also the booklet within the hotel said daily room servicing including public holidays . However after leaving towels on the floor to indicate fresh ones were required , we were informed late in the afternoon that no room service was done on Sundays . Foxtel did not work , the microwave locked shut and the lounge had holes in it . They have signs in kitchen saying that they charge for washing up of dishes on departure , so we spent the first part of our stay re washing the plates , glasses and utensils as we are effectively being told that they were not professionally cleaned for our visit . The car park fills up quickly and it was difficult to get a park . After parking further down on the street another guest advised there was a rear car park , this is actually a smaller but secured car park . Would have been nice to have that info provided by the reception when we checked in ( reception window is next to the full car park so its a no brainer to advise of other parking options ) Managements response to my feedback was to predominantly blame Booking.com for the false description and photographs , "its a battle we have " . As for the car park being full of large vehicles that blocked any hope of a view , the response was " we ask the larger 4wd not to park against the balconies ( funny , we weren't asked not to park there ??? ) .She was shocked to learn of the description on booking.com , I would have thought its a key part of managements job to know what is being sold . Finally she asked if I was returning the the area again soon ( obviously to offer a cheap stay as goodwill ), i advised that it was not likely that we would cross the country again for at least a decade , she just stopped making the assumed offer . She simply thanked me for my feedback and said how much they value it , to which i said " so that's it then , I'm basically left out of pocket for not getting what I paid for as per the booking description "which went non responded , no offer of refund or any offer really. So why have i given 2 stars , well the location is superb and the place was clean and comfortable so I have to be fair on that score despite my overall disappointment . I hope this review helps others choose their stay wisely .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I would read the other reviews in the 1 to 3 star bracket . I should have ! Cant beat the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MariaLBF wrote a review Jan 2021
Perth8 contributions8 helpful votes
Spent two nights at The Peninsula Apartments and were very impressed with all the very friendly front office staff. Location of apartment was handy to local restaurants and the ferry to Perth. Apartment itself was well appointed and extremely clean. Loved the fact we could walk across the road to the foreshore at midnight to watch the New Year’s Eve fireworks displays from Yagan Square and Gloucester Park! Would definitely recommend these apartments! PS: Unfortunately, only thing missing was a pool.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lex C wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Booked this accomodation for my business trip and could not travel because of the virus. Contacted them to cancel my booking. They refused any type of refund and just pocketed the money. I than said in that case I will try to get into Perth anyway. They just said sorry your booking is already canceled and cannot be reinstated. Spend your money elsewhere. They will try to take you for a ride if they get the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanja Juers, Sales at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Dear LexC83, Further to our initial response below, we believe we have established the booking channel that you booked through. Your payment was made to this booking channel and not direct to us. We had authorised the cancellation of your booking without penalty, therefore you should have received a refund from them. If this is not the case, please contact us so we can further investigate. Initial response- We have tried to locate your booking to establish how we may help you. Could you please advise which booking channel you used to make the booking and the date the reservation was made. We would like to investigate this further for you.
Read more
mandurahnomads wrote a review Oct 2020
Mandurah, Australia97 contributions43 helpful votes
We had a two night enjoyable stay Very pleased with the location, cleanliness and facilities the apartment offered. Yes, they are a little dated but for the price we feel good value. Free parking and good wi fi a bonus, as was the voucher to a nearby restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mel13061973 wrote a review Jul 2020
Bunbury, Australia14 contributions4 helpful votes
I always stay here when I hit the city from Bunbury on business or family commitments and it is perfectly suitable. Bright and airy inside with a fully self contained kitchen with everything you need. An IGA is within walking distance so very Convenient for buying a few groceries while you are there. The foreshore is across the road with walk paths and a beautiful view of the city. The ferry is about 8 mins walking distance. Restaurants are within walking distance too. Freeway is just around the corner. It is in a quiet location with friendly ladies on the 24hr reception desk. The building is very secure with a password entry required after 8pm.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mandorallen wrote a review Jun 2020
Perth, Australia24 contributions37 helpful votes
With its superb location to both amenities and the splendid backdrop of the city at night, you would think the owners of this location would build a truly wonderful experience with the rooms they supply. Sadly this is not the case. We have spent less in caravan parks and had better facilities. The building in itself is dated and in real need of renovation. The internal set up of the rooms is cramped (and remember you can be paying $200+ for this “privilege”) and comes across as cheaply furnished with a real eye on the dollar when it comes to hair dryers/kettles and the horrendous sachet coffee. Perhaps we could have let this slide as this was a one-off night’s stay however what made the experience truly dire was the row between guests below us that went on from around 2am till 6ish. We asked them to keep the noise down and were ignored and you only have an emergency mobile number to contact as there is no reception after 6pm and while incredibly tiring and frustrating I could not in good conscious say it was an emergency. Even then we could have let our anger subside and write this off as an aberration until we told the receptionist of our experience, to which she responded, there’s nothing I can do about it and followed up with you’re checking out anyway…….. She seemed genuinely confused that we would wish to leave negative feedback though eventually she did say she would note it down. WA has been called Wait Awhile and I would urge anyone considering a stay here to wait awhile and look at all your options. The 8.9 rating we saw for this establishment was way to high, it may rate a 6. The overall view was, we can see why people don’t necessarily find Perth appealing especially as you pay top dollar for average. That being said there are good establishments out there who take care of their customers and in these changed times, if you want to support Australian business’s then make sure you get value for your bucks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tania H wrote a review Jan 2020
Vasse, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Rooms are ALOT more dated than what is shown in the website gallery. My children were unable to sleep in their beds due to being itchy, we put this down to the heat and they spent the night in our bed. Upon inspection in the daylight we saw the room and beds were infested with ants. I have videos that show the extent of it but staff would not come and look on the day, Management are ignoring my emails including the videos. Reported to the woman on duty was told Manager wasn’t available. Phone call we eventually received was unprofessional. She blamed staff and spent the time on the phone complaining about staff. Not what you expect when you pay $300 for a night in a hotel, despite the Managers claims 'this is what happens when you book a ground floor garden room'. No hotel room should present this way, there is no excuse, my children should not have been sleeping in beds being bitten and crawled on by ants. I live in a rural area in bushland in a ground floor house and have no such issue. An offer to compensate us 'if and when we return to the city' was made which is laughable. Why would we want to return?! I have emailed the management and they are ignoring me.. not a good experience, beautiful location, bad management.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanja J, Business Development Manager at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Our ultimate goal is guest satisfaction at all times so we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation for this visit. We have referred your feedback to the various departments to address.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peninsula riverside apartments hotel perth, peninsula perth, perth peninsula
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGreater PerthSouth Perth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Nearby attractions include South Perth Foreshore (0.1 km), Mends Street Jetty (0.3 km), and Mindeerup (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rambla on Swan, The Windsor Hotel, and Mister Walker.
Is The Peninsula Riverside Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of South Perth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Thai, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Perth Mint (2.3 km), The Bell Tower (1.4 km), and DFES Education and Heritage Centre (2.1 km).
Does The Peninsula Riverside Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.