We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rose & Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rose & Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of The Rose & Crown Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and 5 friends attended on sunday for the heritage festival love the pub but all of us multiple times got poor customer service and attitude from the blonde girl behind the outside bar . And as i was waiting she served a man who came to the bar after me left me waiting poor people skills

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahtattoo
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there on a warm Saturday night, great outside area, plenty of room. Decided to have dinner and make an evening of it. The outside restaurant was very nice, staff very helpful and cheerful, will visit the Rose and Crown again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Negal2014
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Negal, It is great to hear that you had a great time during your recent visit and thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We will ensure to pass on your kind words to our management and team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

High Wycombe, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely, and historically old, hotel - one of the oldest in WA. The open air courtyard bar and restaurant are delightful. We stayed overnight before flying out from Perth airport. The motel style rooms surround a nice swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were great. It is on the above that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to the Rose & Crown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and dining in our beer garden. Unfortunately Guildford is on the flight path for Perth Domestic Airport with little we ca do to change this. We try to make our rooms as sound proof as possible for our guests...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived on a warm Friday night and moved straight to our table. the staff were attentive and good humoured, always ready to make eye contact top see if we needed anything. Food was yummy, I had the steak and my partner the fish, both cooked as ordered and arrived in good time - but not rushed. This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickbruining
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Rose & Crown. We are so glad to hear that our team delivered exceptional service and food. We aim to exceed our guests expectations so it is lovely to know that this was achieved. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been to the Rose and Crown a few times now for Sunday lunch. It is a lovely setting (though the planes do come in low overhead) the food is always of good quality and the service attentive and friendly. We've taken lots of English friends there for lunch and they favourably compare it to a good old English pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scjhwill
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit with us over the long weekend - we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the beer garden. Our team of chefs strive to provide exceptional and good value produce for all our guests and we will ensure to pass on your lovely words about your experience with us. We look...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst the rose and crown had a nice atmosphere and some pleasant live music the bar staff left alot to be desired. With a group of ten friends we entered a round of drinks which the bar staff where happy to oblige for the about five rounds until randomly at some point it became unacceptable to order rounds. As a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, Thanks for your recent visit to the Rose & Crown with your group. Unfortunately some of your group were showing signs of intoxication after the fifth round of drinks so our team decided to assess each member individually with purchases before serving more alcohol. Also some of your group were requesting shooters as well so we had to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonable food and good service. We chose to sit outside - big mistake mosquitoes were bad. They did give us repellent but too late we were already munched. Spoilt the evening. I had prawns and hubby had fish & chips both were well cooked and delivered fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicke W
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vicke, Thanks for your recent visit last week to the Rose & Crown. Unfortunately with the recent humid weather and the flooding in the Swan River, it has caused an unusual amount of mosquitoes in the region. As you mentioned, our team are well equipped with repellent or alternatively we have an air conditioned restaurant and bar which are...

Perth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the outside beer garden is set out really well, in the hot humid we have been having in Perth the beer garden was not the ideal spot for lunch. No fans or sprays to cool the area made for an extremely hot sticky vist. Lunch was very nice, I can reccomend the steak sandwich and the lamb ribs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant K
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Grant, Thanks for your recent visit to the beer garden. The hot and humid weather we have had lately does take away from the gorgeous atmosphere outside however we do have an air-conditioned restaurant & bar available if the weather is unbearable. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you back...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place was brilliant. Great food, great rooms and a pool (was too cold to use at this time of the year). Would recommend for both bar food and restaurant. Not far from train station to Perth too. Quiet peaceful location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S C
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi S C, Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently at the Rose & Crown. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meals in our historical venue. The hotel is centrally located to the Perth domestic airport and of course the train line making it ideal for our guests to get around the...

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We are back in Perth for a short visit and decided to meet a friend for dinner at the Rose and Crown. I had not been there for many years and my wife had never been there. There has been substantial external alterations since my last visit, which I find has enhanced the appeal of the place. With more outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllanKorat
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at The Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Allan, It is lovely to hear that you recently returned to the Rose & Crown after many years and you enjoyed the improvements to the historic venue. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and our team looked after you throughout the visit. We will ensure to pass on your comments to the whole team and...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
168 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
81 reviews
The Hollies
#2 of 3 in Guildford
65 reviews
Guildford River Retreat
#1 of 3 in Guildford
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rose & Crown Hotel is WA's most historic hotel and recognised by the National Trust as a significant historic landmark. Situated in leafy Guildford WA, surrounded by restaurants & on the doorstep to the Swan Valley wineries. The hotel has 28 3.5 motel units in its lodge and 4 boutique rooms within the hotel (some entry restrictions). The hotel & lodge have undergone a recent major renovation since being purchased in mid 2004 by the current owners operators Mark & Tracy Weber. In 2007 the hotel was selected by the Sunday Times as a tourism hotspot with the biggest beer garden in the city and two well known restaurants. The Rose & Crown Hotel is the ideal location for a stayover or outer city getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: 105 Swan St, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Price Range: ₹ 8,083 - ₹ 10,756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose Crown Hotel
Rose Crown Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rose & Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Rose & Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“eating inside can be a bit claustrophobic …suggest outside dining, but all very good”
 of 5 bubbles AllanKorat, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“comfortable beds and very accessible”
 of 5 bubbles 996lisau, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't go in and rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Bearfos, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the pool area. It was noisier than usual with it being Melbourne Cup Day. However, nothing you can do about the aircraft !!”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie64555, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Planes a little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles plrnwnet, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5