We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George at Nunney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George at Nunney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 435: English reviews
Somerset
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We agreed to meet at The George as it had such good reviews. Once inside we were dubious, a step too far in terms of interior design....for a beautiful old inn they got it all wrong. What was much worse was the cold atmosphere, enquiring about food after a long journey we were told that 'we don't do sandwiches on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HeadteacherSomerset
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had food from the lunch menu, and it was excellent. Fish fingers sandwich was devoured by my daughter, BLT could not be left, and I had and excellent steak sandwich. Service was timely, and the best thing was we.could take our dog inside. I did note lovely seating areas out back and by the stream.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here this weekend on a visit to see my uncle who lives in Mells. This is my 3rd visit and it's a great, friendly, typically English hotel and restaurant. Good service, good food and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonbrowne1968
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table for 6 and shown to the annexe, didn't like that so moved to main area. Cold outside today temperature of 1c, same temp inside as well! Excuse central heating not working but 2 small electric fires placed around (but not in our area). Also said it was an old building and took a long while to heat,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardtwebb
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Vistited the George on a Wednesday evening to take advantage of there steak night special. We had a lovely meal food was great the staff were fantastic and the pub has a very friendly atmosphere. Would recommend a visit as we will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike J
wolverhampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gosh I loved this place! Arrived to be told the room i was in was 2 single beds. Luckily the lady who checked me in realised I didn't really want it even though I didn't complain. She asked me to give her 2 minutes and then lead me to room 10. Wow!!! Beautiful stunning loved it! She was so lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kgbolton
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your experience. It is our pleasure to do whatever we can to ensure your stay with us is as best an experience as we can make it, and it is lovely to hear feedback that we did a great job! Lovely comments on our food, glad your steak was the best! We...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food and good service. Always enjoy the fish and chips and burger. Have eaten Sunday lunch before which was excellent. Staff could be a bit more attentive as a lot of social chat around the bar. Would however recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan H
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

A big thanks for sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to hear returning customers praising our food, and service, however I am sorry about the social chat. I did speak to the staff on duty when you dined last night, to ensure that they do not chat! Since my words with them, this has stopped! We...

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

*NB: this was a very brief visit, interacting with just one member of staff - probably (hopefully) not an accurate impression. I've heard good things about the food at The George over the years so I've long wanted to visit. Out walking in the rain yesterday afternoon, we needed to stop for coffee and to feed the baby. As it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnaBanya
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you felt unwelcome by the lady on duty. I am not sure at all why this happened and I have already started looking into who was working that afternoon. We love welcoming families and children at the George, and most nights are full of families dining, so I cannot understand this...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The George last night after visiting friends who live close by. Myself, my husband, almost 2-year-old daughter and 11 week old son, stayed in "The Little House", a two bedroom cottage just down the street from the main hotel. It was perfect! The master bedroom was huge, with more than enough space for myself, my husband and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emzii206
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the team at The George look forward to see you again soon.

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful pub a great place to come after viewing the incredible Nunney Castle and a winters hike through the beautiful countryside nearby !! The pub was so inviting warm and welcomed even us muddy boot hikers !! The manager was personable friendly and gave us tips about the area !! The pub is clean quirky and modern but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
Gordon_TGAN, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this review

Thanks so much Tracy for your great review. It was lovely to see you and we look forward to see you both again soon.

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nunney
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
16.1 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
785 reviews
9.8 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
901 reviews
14.0 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
621 reviews
10.1 km away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George at Nunney is an 17th century coaching Inn in the village of Nunney, in Somerset. The Inn is a firm favourite with locals, regulars and travelers alike and has established itself with a reputation for fine food, great service and a relaxing ambiance enhanced with open fires and sandstone walls.The bar, lounge and restaurant areas are all recently refurbished with great character, featuring exposed beams and large open fireplaces. The gardens are a haven for those who enjoy drinking or dining 'al fresco'.We have 9 spacious rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, and tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and Television. A full locally sourced and acclaimed English breakfast is included in the price of our rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George at Nunney

Address: Church Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Nunney
Price Range: ₹ 5,504 - ₹ 9,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Nunney 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The George at Nunney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George At Nunney Somerset
Hotel George At Nunney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George at Nunney staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
llanon
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George at Nunney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each time I have come here, the rooms are very clean, spacious and offer a good quality rest”
 of 5 bubbles jonbrowne1968, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 has a bathroom detached from the sleeping room. There are lots of steps for some rooms, so beware of that.”
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 12
  • Room 13
 of 5 bubbles kurtm577, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, just came for a meal. But the village is lovely with an old castle.”
 of 5 bubbles SamanthaR772, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Four poster bed....”
 of 5 bubbles SimoneB544, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A must visit”
 of 5 bubbles janel562, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5