We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Navigator

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Navigator
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of The Navigator
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff and brilliant Chalet style rooms away from the bustle of the pub . Nice breakfast and brilliant for the Marina and boating . Would recommend to any one . No late night noise or road noise from our room 12A . Ideal parking as well right outside the rooms . Gareth

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
Nick H, General Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, Thank-you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you again soon.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth a visit here. Staff are lovely and food is excellent, very tasty. We had all 3 courses, although full, as menu was so tempting Nice atmosphere and pleasant decor too. Large car park and easy to find - opposite boatyard and some swanky yachts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
Nick H, General Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank-you for your kind review. I'm so glad that we could tempt you to have all 3 courses! It's wonderful to read that you received our high level of customer service, that i strive to achieve every day. I do hope that we see you again in the very near future.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

So we booked this place to have my wedding lunch. I am a pastry chef so I was hoping I can bring in some dessert as decoration. They just say 'no u can't' first of all, I order three courses! So it's not like I didn't order dessert and bring mine in! And can you not discuss with your manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nick H, Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

I do apologise that you feel you haven't received more help in regards to booking a room with us. However what you have been told is correct, we can't allow 4 people in a room designed for 2 people. As I'm sure this was explained to you, all of our family rooms have already been booked. Unfortunately this is our...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Arrived early Friday evening, no smile or hello from the receptionist. Booking in was quick and easy. We paid for the deluxe room, which overlooked the main road, small room, King size bed, tiny shower room. The room has one electric heater which was not on and the room was freezing. Had drinks in the bar, lots of room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanned137
Nick H, Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, I do apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. In regards to the room overlooking the main road, if you chose to stay with us again and contact us directly we can book you one of our chalet back rooms. The pricing of our food is a little higher as it is all freshly delivered on...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Had a really lovely evening, great food. I had the fish n chips, best I've had in ages. The service was excellent nothing too much trouble and nice to see a smile. I would definitely recommend this place. A bit pricey but worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rekool
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Trying out local places for Sunday Roast to see if we would like to do Christmas day lunch there! Well it looks like we might have found our venue already!! Great food, very tasty and lots of it!! The staff - Rachel, Yasmin, Kat & Ella were all really helpful and friendly giving us a great service, and not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisacrook
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Booked last min.com Rooms very clean and bathroom same. Only downside is if you are roadside! Double glazing not great so if you are a light sleeper like me best ask for rooms out back away from main road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Nick H, Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I'm glad that you liked the decor and high standard of cleanliness of our rooms. If you stay with us again, you can contact us directly and we can book a chalet room for you.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed here so that I could celebrate our friends wedding and not worry about getting taxis or transport home. The price of the standard room that is usually £69.00 (as advertised on the Navigator web site) shot up to £99.00 which gives the impression that they take advantage of wedding parties, I certainly felt that ! Whilst the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 007Clara
Nick H, General Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear Clara, Thank-you for your kind words regarding the staff and breakfast. I do apologise about you not being able to get hot water through your shower and will be looking into this. In regards to the room pricing, on our website it states that the prices start from £69.00 as this is our Sunday rate. We work on a...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We went here for a family meal a Sunday lunch absolutely fantastic food the staff was very friendly service was good I see why it gets so busy we head to book in advance now I see why nicest roast I've had in a restaurant around the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Nick H, General Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank-you for you lovely words and review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your Sunday roast here with us, I believe that it is the nicest roast around and glad that I am not the only one. I do hope that we see you again in the near future.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The place is very easy to get to and is very conveniently located for the motorway. There's a nice marina just across the road and you can go for a walk along the riverside. We had a room in the main building, the room itself was very tastefully decorated in white and blue with a comfy bed. Nice touch to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_Devilyn
Nick H, General Manager at The Navigator, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words and review. I have taken on board your points in regards to the food and the room improvements and will look into this personally. I do hope that you visit us again in the near future.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanwick
3.5 km away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
952 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,604 reviews
4.8 km away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
907 reviews
4.1 km away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Botleigh Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedge End
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Navigator Inn sits in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton. The nautical-inspired interior extends into the 23 individually designed modern bedrooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, en-suite bathroom, flat-screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. The Navigator's traditional cooked breakfasts will more than whet the appetite as will the pub's hugely popular seasonal lunch and dinner menus carefully created using locally sourced produce. A superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines and champagnes. The Navigator couldn't be more accessible and is perfect for families, tourists and business travellers. The pub's 'Chart Room' can accommodate 48 seated guests and proves hugely popular for weddings and business meetings. Just a 20-minute drive from Southampton, 15 minutes from Southampton Airport and 2 miles from the M27 motorway, the pub also offers extensive free on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Navigator

Address: 286 Bridge Road, Swanwick SO31 7EB, England (Formerly The Spinnaker)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Swanwick
Price Range: ₹ 5,154 - ₹ 9,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Navigator 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Navigator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spinnaker Hotel Swanwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Navigator staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Navigator staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid front rooms if you are a light sleeper!!”
 of 5 bubbles paultI1099RQ, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need to get up early for any reason, then ensure you ask for one of the rooms that is not directly attached to the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles 007Clara, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building have virtually no soundproofing”
 of 5 bubbles the_Devilyn, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dud not stay but would advise (as a busy road is to the front) pick one to the back”
 of 5 bubbles DeltaLima54, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bedroom 3 is a deluxe end room”
 of 5 bubbles AFSImmo, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5