We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Buenavista

Save
Share
Calle Horno 35, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Adeje, Tenerife Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$ 224
TripadvisorUS$ 224
Lol.travel
Expedia.comUS$ 224
TravelocityUS$ 224
Orbitz.comUS$ 224
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3968)
Room & Suite (874)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 13/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Buenavista
Updated 13/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The All Inclusive Hotel Riu Buena Vista, is located directly on the seafront with a splendid view of neighboring island, La Gomera. The hotel is situated 500m from the sandy beach Playa de Las Galgas the south western coast of Tenerife and approx. 27 km from Tenerife South Airport Reina Sofia (TFS). 3 times a day there is complimentary hotel bus to Costa Adeje and Playa de las Americas (limited places). The hotel features 9-storey building with 10 lifts and 5 villas, a total of 542 rooms, 4 swimming pools. With the RiuArt workshop, have fun expressing your more creative side; with RiuFit, practise sports in the hotel facilities; and the little ones will be entertained all day long thanks to the RiuLand Kid's Club in the children's pool and playground. For relaxation, we offer wellness center where you can visit the beauty salon. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a wide variety of flavours for you to experience the best international, Canarian, and Italian cuisine.
Read more
Room & Suite (874)874
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Babysitting
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
4512Reviews843Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,609
  • 1,799
  • 753
  • 211
  • 140
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Filitheyo wrote a review 15 May
Budapest, Hungary152 contributions126 helpful votes
This is a great hotel at a great location: bus station Rosa Center (line 471) is just 300m and beach is not too far either. Room is nice big and bed is very comfortable. Rooms are cleaned and towels are changed daily, and 2in1 shower gel and shampoo are also provided, as well as soap and hair dryer. Each room has a small balcony as well. Wifi is free of charge, but with one user name and password, only two devices can be connected, so if you want to connect a third one, you have to disconnect one of the other two. Food is very good, for each meal there is vide variety. Between 10 AM and 5 PM, there is a small restaurant next to the pool bar where you can get french fries, fried chicken, sandwiches, etc. In the bars, there are a lot of soft drinks, cocktails, mocktails, beer, spirits, wine, coffee and water. There are 5 pools, one of them is for adults only. There are a lot of sunbeds and umbrellas around the pools. Beach towel is also provided free of charge. The only problem is that on Saturday and Sunday, local residents can come in for a very cheap price, therefore weekends are very crowded and noisy. Everything is disinfected very frequently. Wearing mask is always mandatory, exceptions are when you are in your own room or in the pool or lying on your sunbed and of course when you are eating or drinking. Other than that, you must wear mask, even when you go to the trash with your used glass. At the main restaurant, there is a dress code for dinner: no pool short or sleeveless shirt is allowed for gentlemen. The hotel manager is very strict about this. Staff is very nice and helpful. Check out time is 11 AM, but if you want to stay longer, it is more than welcome: you can put your luggage to the luggage room at the reception and you can use the pool and keep your all inclusive badge until the end of the day, so until you have to leave, you can use everything. You can also book a so-called courtesy room for 30 mins where you can have shower and change clothes before leaving, and this is free of charge. Shower gel and towels are provided here as well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Raluca E wrote a review Apr 2021
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg31 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel exceeded our expectations. Very clean, seemed extremely safe in Covid times. Pools are great, the water warm enough for April for adults and kids. The view from our balcony was fantastic. What I find really cool is that while enjoying the pools one can also have a breath-taking view over the ocean. Everything was right - room size, food diversity and quality, towels and shower service, staff etc. Very good value for money. A perfect choice for a relaxing stay. I’d like to go back and will recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
5StarNatasha wrote a review Apr 2021
Preston, United Kingdom289 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
I’ve realised I’ve actually stayed here 3 times now since it reopened in October so it’s a win win for me! Now all brand new and modernised throughout with more swimming pools and restaurants added into the mix so worth considering for your next holiday. Affinity pool, activity pool, kids pool with slides and tipping bucket, 2 sea front quiet pools. Asian and Italian and Grill restaurants still self serve but need to book, main buffet and Pepes pool snack bar (self service) several bars around the hotel, RIU club, RIU stage, RIU fitness and gym and classes etc. Plenty to eat and drink here so you’ll never be hungry or thirsty! Love how they have Arehucas Rum too! I am just so pleased that my little ray of sunshine Dagois is still there keeping us all entertained! Can I just say that EVERYBODY NEEDS A DAGOIS IN THEIR LIFE! He is the absolute best! One of the most professional and brilliant entertainers I’ve come across. He works so hard both day and night and always gives it 110%! I just love how he always makes me happy and keeps me smiling and laughing none stop! A heart of pure gold that one! He even got me to try aerial yoga which even though is not for me (sorry for being a bad student!) I’m proud to say I gave it a go! He really does deserve a pay rise and a holiday does Mr DAGOIS! Throughout my stay I felt very safe in the hotel re COVID etc. Strict social distancing guidelines in place, staff doing a grand job and all very friendly, never seen so much cleaning going on, constantly saw housekeeping working hard wherever we went, the entire hotel was immaculate and everybody was behaving themselves wearing their masks properly, no questions asked. Temperature checks done on entry to restaurants both morning and evening. Loads of hand sanitizer stations around the hotel and restaurants and bars etc. All the staff in all departments are so friendly and always on hand to help including the big boss man so thank you! Rooms are fabulous. Big and spacious! Sunsets are beautiful here especially from our room 650 I think it was. Loved it! Big bathroom too with his and hers sinks in our room which makes getting ready a dream! Mini fridge with water, but if you like a morning brew in your room bring your kettle but there are drinking stations all around the hotel. I’m not a fan of the bathroom toiletries so best bring your own skin care and hair care products. Hairdryer is good! Comfy beds, loads of TV Channels, nice sofa area, good size balcony. Location wise it’s a beautiful quiet area which is what I like, but close enough to go to Costa Adeje if you want to go be in the tacky tourist trap. Lovely nearby mall for shopping, small natural beach next door, new promenade around outskirts of hotel still being finished off but will be fab when done. I live in Santa Cruz with my fiancé so I we just wanted a few days mini break and support local tourism the best we can. Overall it’s a very relaxed hotel for those who want great value for money and a drop and flop style holiday for all the family. It can be both casual and fancy whatever you want it to be. Fun for everyone! Hope you get to come and have a brilliant holiday here soon! You will love it! My advice is book with TUI for the best price, they have some great package holiday deals for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Maryjane S wrote a review Apr 2021
Luxembourg1 contribution4 helpful votes
We stayed here for two weeks in March. Check-in was smooth. We upgraded to a family room which was wonderful. There were only two of us and the room was huge. It was very clean as well. Housekeeping did a great job. The hotel is not in the best location. It was the only one open in Adeje due to Covid restrictions. The hotel is supposed to offer shuttle service to various locations but it wasn't running. A cab into Playa de las Americas cost about 15.00 euros one way. The food was repetitive. Breakfast for sure never varied. We stayed in a Riu in Lanzarote in January and it was much better. One restaurant was open (Dolce Vita) on Friday and Saturday nights. You need to reserve at reception. It was very nice and everything was served buffet style. We tried about 3 of the poos and they were all freezing. There is no way they could have been heated. Evening entertainment was good. Drinks were what you would expect of an AI resort. Big drawback for me in terms of relaxing was the number of unruly, screaming, shrieking children. Just awful. The buffet restaurant was a zoo. They also ruin the entertainment by running and pulling cushions off of chairs. The problem is not addressed. I won't return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room overlooking the pool. The noise level was fine.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Buenavista
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear 815maryjanes, Thank you for being a loyal guest and for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. Providing a clean and comfortable stay is one of our absolute main priority, therefore it is very nice to hear that you appreciated our effort. We are also happy you enjoyed your room´s dimensions and our entertainment program. On the other hand, we regret to hear that the food options did not meet your expectations, as we always try to satisfy the taste of our clients with our gastronomic variety. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy your holiday according to your expectations and felt disturbed by the many kids. For next time we recommend you to visit one of our adults only hotel as they might better satisfy your needs. All the best! Hotel Riu Buena Vista Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Luxxie1983 wrote a review Mar 2021
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg151 contributions68 helpful votes
I think I must have been staying in a different hotel to all the other people who have written recent reviews... To start with the positive: Recently completely refurbished, the hotel is beautiful, especially the reception area. It is clean, bright and the rooms are comfortable, if a little bare (probably a COVID measure). Bar staff (especially a lovely man from Uruguay) and most restaurant staff were lovely and friendly. Cleaning and sanitary is great. No COVID fears here, which was so nice and reassuring. Cleaning staff are friendly and efficient and super flexible with timings for coming to our rooms as they had to work around our son. Pools are lovely - 5/6 in total. One adult-only pool, all very clean (see note about baby pool later on though). We had a really nice room, at the back of the hotel, with a great view. Can imagine the rooms around the pool would be too noisy. But then... The food is downright shocking! We could not believe that such a quality was being served to human beings! Most of it was inedible (my husband literally spat out a cream-filled cake as it tasted like dishwater) and the wine was completely undrinkable. The cocktails at the pool bar were basically made out of slushies with a dash of alcohol poured in (best stay with the gin & tonics and, surprisingly, the cava was alright. Only the buffet restaurant was open (due to COVID) which makes no sense to me as the hotel was reasonably full so at least one other restaurant could have been open per night (and be careful - no communication anywhere about this). Buffet was self-serve and believe me, the tongs and spoons were not being changed regularly enough to merit a job-well-done on COVID measures! Hand sanitiser given and temp taken before entering the restaurant for breakfast and dinner but not for lunch... shrug... We found Blend Coffee & Food just up the road which was a godsend for our morning coffee and cake. We also rented a car and went out for either lunch or dinner everyday... the wallet does not thank you. While a lot of the staff is great, others are just... urgh... one lifeguard in particular is just a proper jobsworth picking on things that make no sense when perhaps he should be making sure that people adhere to the 2m rule? Overall, there is just no attention to detail. My sleeping baby was woken more than once because the sunbeds were being put away (I mean, I should say that they were being thrown away...). Just look around you, guys... Reception staff... oh my god! I suppose it's not a surprise when the more senior staff at the reception have such huge attitude problems. Everything was someone else's thought (basically the customers) and please don't spend 5 minutes telling me the baby pool IS heated when it is clearly a block of ice... and then try and explain to me how it can't get that warm as it also depends on the outside temp. Yes, I know, thanks. It's such a shame as I'm sure that there are so many skilled individuals on the island. Hire them instead! It's baffling as more than once a bunch of suits were walking around. I don't get how they don't see it. Oh yeah... the baby pool was not heated so don't be told otherwise. To be honest, I could go on but don't see there's much point. We still had a great holiday and very much appreciate being able to get away during these times. It's just a shame to have left so disappointed and we just wish the hotel would have been up to the standard we were promised, especially as food is usually a very big part of our trips. Nevermind - Lots of lovely restaurants not too far away :D Note: I won't comment on the fitness or kids club as I didn't make use of them but I must say that all the staff seemed very friendly and approachable. Also my comments on staff of course come with exceptions. Some hotel/reception staff was great, others not so much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor, away from the pool
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Buenavista
Responded 31 Mar 2021
Dear Luxxie1983, Thank you very much for choosing Riu and for sharing your review about your last stay with us. While we are happy to learn you enjoyed our friendly service, cleanliness, fantastic views and you felt safe during your stay, we regret that we could not fulfil all your expectations. As gastronomy is one of the most important aspects in an all-inclusive hotel, it is very disappointing to hear that our food and drinks could not reach your personal taste. We are however very surprised by your words about our Front desk staff and sorry to hear that you did not feel well attended by them as it was surely not the intention to seem rude in any. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with the corresponding departments to reassure that standards are being met and we hope to have the opportunity to host and better serve you in the future. We remain with best wishes, Hotel Riu Buena Vista Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clubhotel riu buena vista adeje, dunas paraiso tenerife, dunas paraiso hotel tenerife, clubhotel riu buena vista hotel, hotel dunas paraiso
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dunas Paraiso
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeAdejePlaya Paraiso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
542
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Buenavista
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Nearby attractions include Britannia Inn (0.4 km), The 16th (0.3 km), and Playa Las Galgas (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mumbai Masala Playa Paraíso, Spice Garden Indian Restaurant, and L'incontro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Buenavista have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Riu Buenavista offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riu Buenavista?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Buenavista?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa Fuerte (5.1 km) and La Fuente de los Tres Chorros (5.3 km).