We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Point Sands Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tayinloan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Point Sands Holiday Park
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This place is truly stunning, a view across the sea to the island of Gigha with the distant Islay has to be one of the best in Scotland. Mix with this the the high grade spec of the modern static, seconds from the white sand beach. Add to this, helpful friendly owners of the site who guided us to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MatthewDesign
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great that you enjoyed and embraced the peace and tranquillity that Point Sands offers and were richly rewarded with the abundant wildlife that we are proud to share with our guests. I am glad your holiday caravan was everything you expected. We do hope to see you back soon. Enjoy Islay! Best... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Very poor informant snobby owners , not a lot to do shop has limited supplies and prices through the roof, I would suggest you find somewhere else for a better stay. Facilities were below average and sadly wouldn't go back there

Helpful?
6 Thank joe p
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a few days here. What an amazing time! The caravan was perfect, very comfortable and extremely well appointed. Dog friendly and right on the beach so my two Labradors had the best time of their lives! Looking forward to our return visit in August already! Would thoroughly recommend for a get away from it all break.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
Hawick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is our third year holidaying here staying in a static caravan. We had a brilliant two weeks with our two girls aged 9 and 11 (thank you Rebecca and Andy for letting us walk two gorgeous doggies)!! As usual the park was clean, very quiet(essential for us to relax) and tidy, Cara cafe was scrummy, our caravan with bedroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephjohnston69
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated when the efforts of our team are acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back to Point sands in the future where you are always assured a warm and friendly welcome. More 

glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family of 5 went here for 5 nights in august point sands is the most beautiful and friendly campsite i have ever visited. We loved it so much that after the 5 days we extended our stay to 8 nights and even though the park was busy they were more than happy to acomadate us. The shower/toilets were spotless... More 

Helpful?
Thank vinnygfxxx
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your camping trip to Point Sands. I am so glad that your little boy has made a good recovery and just relieved that we were able to help in any small way. Point Sands is first and foremost a family friendly park and priority and consideration is always given to our younger visitors. We... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cancel our original booked dates, but we were kindly able to rebook at a different time, which we did and also added 2 extra days. This is our third year here and the place is lovely, set right beside a sandy beach overlooking gigha and cara. There are great walks for dogs, either... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi G
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad that we were able to re-book your holiday for you and that you found our staff and facilities all in great order during our very busy peak period. It means so much to the staff for all their hard work to be recognised so thank you again from us and we look... More 

North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a caravan belonging to the site. The caravan was fantastic. Very well equipped to a high standard, spotlessly clean and situated in a nice quiet corner of the site. The caravan, like all the others, was situated about 200yds from a beautiful sandy beach which is private. The beach looks out towards the... More 

Helpful?
Thank john J
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am thrilled you enjoyed staying in one of our holiday caravans and had a peaceful and relaxing break In 2015 we will 2 brand new holiday caravans both with sea views so we hope you will come back and experience an extra special stay. We look forward to seeing you again at Point Sands. More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent a few nights here in July and was very disappointed with this site. They only have basic portacabins for loos and showers and not enough of them for the amount of pitches they let out. The site is quiet - which is what we wanted - but it is a good distance to the nearest towns. They have a... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Robertsons93
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to air your opinion about our site. As you will see from other reviews many people have complimented us on our facilities. The park is well advertised for its location as being in a remote part of Scotland and distances to nearby towns are publicised. The park shop is extremely well stocked during the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My family and friends have visited this beautiful setting sporadically over the last 10 years. Alot has changed. The toilet block has been replaced with portacabins (It was like this last year too) with only 3 very small and inadequate showers/toilets in the ladies and only 2 of each for the mens. No hairdryers, small mirrors too high up for... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Susie S
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am afraid that i have to disagree that the facilities & shower block were not closed at all during your stay due to storm damage as there wasn't a storm! If you had actually told us before you booked that you were going to be a rowdy party of 40 we would have happily directed you to any other... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we visited point sands as part of a very large party,7 different families with children of varying ages .we were bombarded with complaints from staff that our kids made too much noise on the beach and in the campsite even though it was during daylight hours . We were ridiculed publicly on their Facebook page for leaving behind a mess... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank mandimorrison2014
PointSands, Owner at Point Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review

As you were travelling with the previous reviewer I won't go over old ground. Sadly you did upset a number of our other campers, particularly those with young families and they did use social media to air their views which we have since stopped as it was inappropriate. I do hope you are able to find a campsite to suit... More 

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday caravan park in the heart of Kintyre on private beach with breathtaking views to the islands of Gigh, Islay & Jura. Children's play area, beach, beach fires. Family owned. Visit Scotland 3* Holiday caravans for sale or to hire. Exclusive new park development. No tents or tourers from 2015. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Point Sands Holiday Park

Address: Point Sands | Argyll, Tayinloan PA29 6XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tayinloan
Price Range: ₹ 603 - ₹ 5,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Sands Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are two new statics with the same fabulous views and the sound of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles MatthewDesign, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“do take the right kind of tent pegs the flimsy ones that come with a tent as standard might not keep the tent secure.”
 of 5 bubbles DSellersManchester, 19 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Don't come too overloaded with food as the shop has all the basics and more!”
 of 5 bubbles johanisk, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Get in early for a good pitch..”
 of 5 bubbles 114iainm, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
4 of 4