We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kapiti Gateway Motel

Booking.comUS$ 94*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 94*
US$ 94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Kapiti Gateway Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Kapiti Gateway Motel
 Click to rate
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stopped here enroute from Bluebridge Ferry home to Thames. It is in Waikanae on the main road which is now off the main highway. A good 40 minutes out of Wellington which meant we had a headstart for our long drive home. Adequate room and facilities made even morw pleasant by the reception service. We arrived late but we're...

Thank whowesit
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the bed, which we immediately investigated. The mattress comfort level has been compromised, which is disappointing as this is a newer bed. However it will be replaced, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kapiti Coast is indeed a great stopover...

Blountville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are driving into Wellington from the north and need a place to stay on the first night this is a good way to save some money. Rather than pay big city prices you can stay here and drive fairy comfortably into Wellington in the morning. There may be rush hour traffic early in the morning but we went...

Thank EvanLewis
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I always stay here when we visit Wellington. It is a ten minute walk to catch the train into Wellington City itself. Ideal if we are going to the Westpac Stadium or ASB arena. There is a shopping centre a few minutes away offering two supermarkets, service station and other amenities. Best of all are the Hosts...

Thank MotoGPfanNZ
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you - we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We too love the easy connection to Wellington by train - we use it ourselves often! And interesting how our regular guests are noticing and very much liking the change with no nighttime traffic noise. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Travelling north this was an ideal place to stay a night. Clean and spacious and super market down road to buy supper. Good kitchenette and hob with saucepans. We have been appreciating NZ motels with facilities like this. Something you don't see in the UK. The road is quiet now as a motorway has recently opened which takes the heavy...

Thank Helen W
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Helen, we loved having you both here. We are delighted you enjoyed your stopover with us. Yes, despite all the wonderful cafes nearby, we find guests certainly do appreciate being able to self-cater if they choose. Sometimes after a busy day sight-seeing, relaxing in your accommodation is just the thing. We hope you are enjoying the rest of...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We booked the motel through booking.com to cover 24th Dec to 27th Dec, and at the time did not have enough funds on the credit card to cover the entire trip. I received a call from one of the owners, Viv who advised we would need to use another credit card to secure the booking. I needed to consult with...

Thank Te Miria E
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review Te Miria, we loved having you both here too. We exercise extreme caution and professionalism with the gathering and storing of guest credit card information. Our system alerts us to an 'invalid' card, which can indicate something amiss, or a lack of funds on the card. We understand guests often don't realise...

Reviewed 3 December 2016

On their website they say they're pet friendly and you're more than welcome to brings your pets. We were travelling with our two dogs which they were fine with. About 15 minutes after we check in we get a phone call from the female owner demanding that the dogs do not go inside and they must be locked in a...

Thank Abby G
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed you were unhappy with your stay - any guest leaving us feeling anything other than completely satisfied is a major concern for us. However we feel there is some miscommunication between yourself and your husband. When he checked in we discussed your specific requirements including your two dogs. He stated they could sleep in the car because...

South Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Clean. Tidy. Reasonable price. Check in was easy and friendly. Only down side are the trains. Only about 100m away. Buts thats just the freight trains. Commuter trains you dont hear. Waikanae is a good location

kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad you were not too disturbed by the trains - luckily there are very few during night time hours. Although our property is older in style, so often described as basic, it has all the best features: spacious rooms (refurbished), plenty of outdoor area,...

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed one night here as we had to attend a meeting early the next morning. The motel is an older style but was clean and comfortable and Viv, our hostess, was very friendly and helpful. There was road noise and as it is near to the railway line the trains were very evident, but I heard only one at...

Thank Glenda A
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you back to stay again. We can advise that only 5 rooms currently have a smaller size shower box - which as you have pointed out, are not great for taller persons. We have already replaced some with wonderful new spacious showers, several more being replaced over the next month. Feed back...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Stayed one night to break a late night trip to Wellington. Very clean and comfortable with accommodating hosts (we arrived late!) Close to good eateries and rail station. Is an 'older' motel but good value for money.

Thank Viv M
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Viv, we appreciate your feed back. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our convenient location. Our property enjoys many of the advantages of the older style motels - space, solid more soundproof construction, large spa pool, plenty of grounds - and guests can still also enjoy refurbished modern rooms. We look forward to having...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We were traveling with two small children. Before we arrived the owner set high chairs up for us and turned the heater on in our room. Also told us the standard rooms weren't big enough for two portacots (they were right!) And gave us a small discount on a bigger room. Great service, good rooms but some minor road noise....

Thank Matthew H
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was lovely having you and your little ones here. Guest comfort is the most important thing to us and we aim to enhance that any way we can. We are delighted you were comfortable during your stay. We aim to be as flexible as possible when a guest needs a later check out...in your...

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikanae
7.5 km away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
93 reviews
4.1 km away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Ariki Lodge Motel
Ariki Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
15.2 km away
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
7.6 km away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kapiti Gateway Motel, Waikanae's only Qualmark 4-star quality assured accommodation. For corporates or couples, families or groups, your hosts Russell & Viv Willis, have thought of everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.Studio, executive and 2-bedroom units, clean and inviting, featuring comfortable beds and double-glazing for a great nights rest. 40+Sky TV channels, free wireless internet (conditions apply), heating controlled by you, electric blankets, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, 3 units with bath. Cot/highchair available. Consider having a delicious cooked or continental breakfast delivered to your unit.All our units enjoy a pleasant outlook and easy access to attractive garden area. You'll love our private spa pool, free for use by our guests, and in-ground swimming pool (solar heated Oct-March). Playground with trampoline and basketball area. Guest BBQ and laundry on site.Kapiti Gateway Motel is easy to find and a short walk from restaurants, cinema, art gallery and popular bush/river walks. Waikanae Railway Station is just a 2 minute walk so you can leave your car with us and take the train to Wellington city for a great day out, or to attend an event at Westpac Trust Stadium. Also close by is Waikanae Beach, Nga Manu Nature Reserve, Southwards Car Museum, Waikanae Golf Club, Otaki factory outlet shops. Ten minutes from Paraparaumu Airport, 45 minutes to Interislander Ferry - late arrivals welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kapiti Gateway Motel

Address: 114 Main Road | Waikanae, Waikanae, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Waikanae
Price Range: ₹ 5,718 - ₹ 6,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kapiti Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kapiti Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kapiti Gateway Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear to be quiet.”
EvanLewis, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Maybe ground level not as noisy from the traffic”
YvonneK874, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“ground floor self contain with full oven”
PhilipN131, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Probably better to stay in a downstairs room away from traffic and railway noise.”
473keithf, 20 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Choose a room on the ground floor, you can park your vehicle right outside and the noise is always less on the ground floor, you can't hear the people above you either.”
JanelleS309, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 94* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 94
TripAdvisorUS$ 94
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates