We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Inn

Orbitz.comUS$ 131*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 135*
US$ 131*
US$ 135*
US$ 131*
US$ 135*
US$ 131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Lion Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Start your review of The White Lion Inn
 Click to rate
Solihull
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a restaurant review, not for an overnight stay. Popular pub opposite the church in a small village with good local walks. A range of home cooked pies and croque monsieur's along with a smaller range of salads and other dishes, and a focus on main courses - one starter and no desserts. All comes with chips - again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was due to stay here but due to an unexpected family illness i couldnt stay. I also didnt get a chance to cancel as my focus was elsewhere. I fully accept that the hotel needs to make sure I pay for the room as a failed to show but what is unacceptable is them hassling my family on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewmdsmith2102
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt we were hassling your family on a daily basis, this was not the case.You had failed to show up for your booking, and all we had done was call you on the Thursday and the Saturday after, but to no avail. We had no idea of the circumstances as you had not responded to the...

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed at the hotel for one night to see a live band. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and comfortable. The atmosphere in the bar at night was great. It is only 5 minutes walk from the station with regular service to Birmingham if you don't want to drive. And the breakfast was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had booked for three people for Sunday Lunch at the restaurant and it was disappointing that no record of our booking could be found.There was no apology and whilst tables were available it was necessary for our waitress to check with the chef before we were seated at a table by the door.The bar had some good beers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Very sorry we did not have your reservation in the diary, however, we are pleased you enjoyed your lunch,beer and wine. Please could you supply your surname so that we can look in to whether it was entered on the wrong date in our diary. regards the White Lion

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

If you are looking for a good old country pub with restaurant this fits the bill adequately. Great couple run the place. The Sunday lunch was excellent and service good and friendly. It is very popular with the locals which possibly speaks volumes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LORDBASNETT
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The food was stodge and the restaurant a cold empty area. The food was very ordinary and strange substitutes made in the menu - like white chocolate for sultanas in Bread and Butter pudding. Choose another pub to eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi572014
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry you did not enjoy yourself,but,even more sorry you did not make your feelings known in person at the time,when we could have discussed your views,and possibly provided something more to your liking. Perhaps it would be more appropriate to say that our menu did not suit your tastes or requirements Kind regards Chris Roach The White...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The perfect location for the Genting Arena being £6 by Uber away and one train stop from the venue. This whole place has a wonderfully quaint feel, with excellent food, a warm welcome and owners who clearly care a lot about the place, the locals and your experience. This was the best hotel we have stayed in during 2016! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richnkirst1
bridgend
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Just come back from our stay at The White Lion. Arrived at 2.15 on a cold November Saturday. Glad to get into the warmth of the pub. We were shown to our room number 1. The room was freezing! When i asked a member of staff, i was informed the heating went on at 4 or there abouts. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarah h
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We were in the annex which came as a surprise as we hoped to have a room in the pub as we booked months in advance. The bedroom was extremely small and full of so much furniture we had trouble moving around the room. On a plus side the twin beds were very comfortable. The ensuite had a shower, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat A
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed with the location of your room,but rooms are allocated on a first come first served basis, we only have two twin rooms available. The towel issue I sincerely apologise for, our laundry company had delivered extra bath mats not hand towels that week !!! No excuse I know,just an explanation. The furniture issue,I think is subjective....

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

One of the worst experience of my life!... The bed was the most uncomfortable I have seen in my life. There was a lot of noise in the room from a ventilator outside on the wall. The smell of food from the pub below inundated the room Like that wasnt enough,the shower didnt work properly. The water came either very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Florin R

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
2.6 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.8 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,329 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
2.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
7.0 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: ₹ 6,925 - ₹ 8,574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Restaurant experience only”
AlanW567, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 in the annex was warm and spacious!”
Richnkirst1, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure when you book you get a room in the main building not the annex”
321pata, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that the road on which the Inn sits is very busy and there is considerable aircraft noise.”
_deniserya, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room No. 1 is noisy as close to road, and i imagine, as single glazing.”
MCJones1704, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 131* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 131
TripAdvisorUS$ 131
Booking.comUS$ 135
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates