We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dromoland Castle Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Dromoland Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,954: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I have stayed here many times in the past but not for over 10 years. It is now quite tired in so many ways. Yes the grounds are fantastic but the Castle itself is long overdue for and update. We are a little bit spoiled as we stayed in Ashford Castle last year and I suppose we had expectations that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 420Jack
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 420Jack Thank you for your feedback which I was very disappointed to receive. I am very sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I will certainly discuss your comments with the team. We are currently undertaking an extensive refurbishment plan, the first phase of which was completed earlier this year. Our next phase will...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Our family stayed for 3 nights. The grounds are amazing with several activities on the property. The front desk was amazing at tending to booking your activities. Furthermore the property is a close proximity to the Shannon airport. The food was okay, we tried the fig tree upon late arrival, yet was not our cup of tea. The afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Txdelphia
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Txdelphia, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased to note that you found the grounds and location to be impressive and convenient, I was however disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations with regard to our food & beverage. I have shared...

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted at the door. Our car was parked for us and luggage was brought right to our room while we waited in the tea room for complimentary tea. We ate in the dining room that night. The dinner was expensive but each bite was worth so much more! That was the best meal I've ever had....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz I
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz I, Thank you for your lovely review of the castle. I was so pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed many aspects of the castle and our renowned dining experience. I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and we hope that we will have the...

Houston
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Extremely pleased with Dromoland Castle Hotel. It's really not a castle... more of an estate. Still amazing. The golf course is gorgeous. The grounds are lush. The list of activities can entertain visitors for days. I recommend the pony and trap tour of the estate grounds. Very informative. The teatime was decadent. Great selections of teas and even a vegetarian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJMcLeod
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RJMcLeod, Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Dromoland Castle. I am very pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and availed of our many estate activities. it was our pleasure to have you visit Dromoland and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We spent one night stay at Dromoland Castle. But while there for a short time it was a unique experience. I felt like i was living in Downton Abbey. The service was outstanding. The room comfortable. The castle and grounds were very special and gave our entire stay a feeling of specialness. Everything, not surprisingly, was very formal. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara E. Its wonderful to read your comments and see that we were able to create special memories for you. Thank you again for taking time out to share your experience for others to read. Sincerely. Mark Nolan - General Manager

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Drumoland Castle was the highlight of our vacation in Ireland. We wish we had stayed many more days and certainly will next time. The service, amenities and food were outstanding. We were so sad to leave.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpE7208TH
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jpE7208TH Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay. Hopefully it wontt be too long until you can enjoy an extended break here at the Castle. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

Avon
Reviewed 22 June 2016

From the minute we arrived, every aspect of our visit was magical for my family. The service was amazing, my children were made to feel like royalty, and getting to stay in a castle was a fairy tale come true!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 227fina
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 227fina Thank you for your feedback, all the team here are thrilled to read your comments and of course delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Sincerely Mark Nolan - General Manager

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We recently went to Dromoland for a weekend break and were very disappointed with the whole experience. We checked into a Queen Anne room on Friday evening and ended up moving room due to terrible soundproofing. We have travelled to a lot of hotels and never before complained let alone moved room during the night. There was a plastic fan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gramochroi
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gramochroi I am truly very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I will certainly investigate the noise problem that you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we are experiencing some unusual humid weather conditions here at the moment, and we are doing our very best to ensure all our guests are as comfortable as possible...

Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Grounds and hotel are lovely. Rooms and services were lacking for a 5 star property. Had better experience at B&B properties. Didn't receive requested double room even after verifying this at checkin. Not worth moving after luggage delivered. Room temp very warm. No A/C. Wouldn't spend $ to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twoodeneye
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear twoodeneye Thank you for your review which we were disappointed to receive. I am very sorry that you felt you did not get value for money and did not enjoy the bedroom allocated to you. I certainly take your comments on board and will share them with my management team. I hope that you would consider returning to us...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Can I say fairy tale? The Dromoland Castle was so special. Treated like a Quen! Beautiful and stunning. We treated ourselves to a Facial/ Massage (which I needed after driving all week on the wrong side of the road!) We rented a golf cart to tour around the grounds. Walked thru their beautiful walled gardens and dined in their restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKAngelPatti
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MKAngelPatti I'm absolutely delighted that you feel you were treated like a Queen and that staying in the castle was like a Fairy-tale. Its always nice to know that we are creating special memories for our guests to treasure, and travel onwards with. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Fairy-Tale in the near future. Sincerely. Mark...

1,497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1410)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (543)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (504)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,029 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,347 reviews
8.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
382 reviews
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
750 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: ₹ 14,372 - ₹ 45,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Dromoland Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely give yourself time to wander the grounds!”
 of 5 bubbles amysS8802VY, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's very big so unless you want to walk forever, ask for a room closer to the gallery”
 of 5 bubbles AimeeLally, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back side of the hotel was fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mike741776, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were down a dead-end hallway which proved to be very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles CE215, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get the best room you can afford, it will be worth it for years to come.”
 of 5 bubbles 241darrylb, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5