We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible11%
31 Mar 2018
“Social”
16 Apr 2018
“Perfect location in a great little seaside town. ”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
16
3
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
16
3
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Perfectly located in the Main Street with free on-street parking on the doorstep. Lots of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby and only about 100 metres from both beaches and the cliff walk. There’s en-suite rooms and shared bunk rooms. Immaculately clean and well decorated. Friendly...More

Thank Graham C
Response from UinseanPurtill12, Manager at Ocean Bar & HostelResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks Graham delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Staff are fantastic Brendan the owner talks to everyone and engaged with you with whatever you want to know. Best place to stay on a budget They are hoping to do food this summer I will be back if the food is as good as...More

Thank Garrett7hlb
Response from UinseanPurtill12, Front Office Manager at Ocean Bar & HostelResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks Gareth for your kind review

Reviewed 26 January 2018

This is a clean, basic and cheap hostel. We felt it was fine for a night but wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. We had a shared bathroom which we thought would be ok as have shared bathrooms in other hostels. However, we always...More

Thank LondonLassE1
Response from UinseanPurtill12, Director of Sales at Ocean Bar & HostelResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks for your kind comments in relation to our cleanliness Iam sorry to hear that you had to wait for others to use the bathroom however all our dorm rooms are en suite and I think you were rather unlucky

Reviewed 30 August 2017

Needed somewhere to stay for a re-union in Ballybunnion, couldn't have asked for a better location. It's a hostel, seems strange to me how some people here seem to think they are reviewing a 4 star hotel. Our room had 2 bunk beds, slept well,...More

Thank reesdavid
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. The hostel is great value and exactly what you'd want. The room was small but the bed was comfy. The decor is great and we'd definitely recommend. There is a kitchen and large lounge room. The Location is...More

Thank Charlotte W
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 44 - US$ 103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$ 44 - US$ 103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Aldo R
16 March 2015|
Answer
Response from clatow |
we stayed at the Ocean hostel over the Listowel race week. nine members of the extended family. we had 2 rooms. we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. the rooms were spotless, modern and comfortable with bathroom en... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"loud, becouse at that time we plays all the nights and they teach me the twospoon technic! ;-)"
Read review
"I took a double room towards the back of he building and it was quiet. Dorms also available."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing