We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mcgettigan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
See the most recent reviews
Showing 604: English reviews
County Clare, Ireland
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Receptionist was very friendly and helpful on arrival, Her name is Lisa, The hotel was bright and clean, very good compared to our experience in the Abbey Hotel in Donegal. Room was lovely and clean and the cooked breakfast was hot with a good variety.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breda c
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

we are staying here at the moment on a midweek break. we got a deal on today fm breaks. the hotel is fine. quite basic. I'd imagine it caters to a lot of hens and stags at the weekend but it's clean so that's the main thing. all staff I've encountered have been friendly. we didn't use the bar as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

We found this hotel on Expedia on the morning before travelling to Letterkenny and for a very reasonable rate we stayed in a very modern hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean and well presented. The hotel is next door to a comfortable café.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lifeobrian
belfast
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Well i have to start by saying that the front/reception /foyer of the hotel is very nice. Modern and open and friendly front of house staff. That is where it ends im afraid. Firstly the carpark is in an horrendous spot - at the top of a very steep hill - also without nearly enough parking spaces for guests. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorraineph
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

the usual warm welcome at reception upon booking in. this welcome was enhanced when we reached the bar and were greeted by JAMES the smile and the welcome is always enough to make us book again for another visit. his local Donegal knowledge is vast expected from a true geal. his wit charm and ability to chat to us when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank campbell s
Belfast
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We recently stayed here as part of a special offer shown in the Daily Mirror. Our first problem was we were given a smoking room when neither of us smoke. The smell of cigarette smoke was overpowering. We went back to reception and got another room. On the second day, a stranger was able to enter our room as they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PTB392
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear PTB329, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Gallagher’s Hotel on your recent trip. We are always keen to receive guest feedback and we were disappointed to read about some issues you experienced during your stay. We really try to provide our guests with an excellent service and unfortunately on this occasion we have failed and...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I spent a few nights at this hotel while travelling around North Donegal. The hotel is in the centre of town and is a modern comfortable place to stay. Beware that both stag and hen parties use this hotel but if you advise the receptionist that you would prefer a quiet room, then floor three is quiet and a peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyMartin2014
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear JeffreyMartin2014, Thank you very much for such a fantastic review. We are delighted that you were happy with the accommodation, the quality of the food and found the staff to be friendly during your stay. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks again, Kindest Regards, Paul Caffrey

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

i have stayed here many times and all i can say is the staff are very friendly and very polite the rooms are very comfortable and the food in the hotel is first class i will be going back again soon thanks for a great wee holiday :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahhartnett9
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear deborahhartnett9, It was a pleasure to read your review on your visit to Gallagher’s Hotel. We really value and appreciate your feedback, it gives us great encouragement. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your visit with us here and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Paul Caffrey

Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My Mum and I go away on a monthly basis and like to try new hotels. We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was lovely we would defo recommend this hotel to anyone. Our view was disappointing as it was facing a brick wall so no view at all, we tried to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian777
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Gillian777, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Gallagher’s Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you would recommend us. Apologies, we were unable to upgrade you on this stay. We will definitely make sure you get an upgrade and a better view on your next visit. Thanks again for...

Galway
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Just back from a weekend in this hotel, last minute booking for 2 rooms and they were very helpful - as we had booked for the Millford Inn and got a last minute call to say they were fully booked so we were left in the lurch..Ended up staying here and think it turned out to be the best option...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia470
GallaghersManager, Manager at Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review

Dear Patricia470, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that that we were able to accommodate you after your last minute call. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us to be the best option. We hope to welcome you back to Gallagher’s hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul Caffrey

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
2.7 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,020 reviews
0.2 km away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
285 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,013 reviews
0.5 km away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
5.8 km away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Inis Meain Room
Inis Meain Room
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Price Range: ₹ 3,691 - ₹ 7,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Derry, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Tralee, Ireland
over a year ago
Lisburn, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am not sure a room with a view will be possible! The building is surrounded by other buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles EdelM403, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get room 101”
 of 5 bubbles ronanm757, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for 2nd floor or above”
 of 5 bubbles catcon123, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The third floor seems to be the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles michaelstamp1982, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“parking is in the rear and a little tight so take care when entering”
 of 5 bubbles richardbJ7291NE, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay