We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 435: English reviews
Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, walking distance of the town center. Plenty of car spaces. Breakfast was good and hot which I find is not always the case in hotels! We had an evening meal in the bar which was excellent and the bar staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BB24356
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear BB24356, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our family run hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and that everything was to your satisfaction. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to stay with us at another time. With every best wish, Alan McCaul General Manager

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a really sizable great room, extremely well furnished and equipped. The breakfast was superb but the service was appalling. The waitresses kept disappearing for ages when they were required in the dining room. The bar food was good but again the service was poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perle369
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear perle369, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our family run hotel. Your 5 star rating is hugely appreciated however I am concerned that service was not up to stractch for you and for this I apologise. In order to improve our services so that other guests do not experience the same service, may I please...

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a double bed, only to find out it was two signale beds pushed together, It was not very comfortable. The hotel and staff are very nice, very clean hotel. The hotel is just out side the town, its very quite at night , great breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddyhannon1
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear paddyhannon1, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable. May I ask that you contact me with details of the room that you stayed in? My email address is amccaul@shamrocklodgehotel.ie. I wish to investigate this further as we wish for all...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place to visit and stay. Rustic setting. Marvellous car park. Family run hotel with Paddy and Alan at the helm. Excellent entertainment over the Christmas period. Great attention to detail. Welcoming staff. Rooms of a high standard. Quality food .A place to return to

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doveandhawk
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear doveandhawk, Thank you so much for your 5 star review and very nice feedback, it is hugely appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us over the festive period and I wish to thank you for your custom. I hope that we do welcome you back many times in 2017! Wishing you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here a good few times, but we found the room this time v dark and a bit cold. The food in the bar was lovely and great service from all staff..thanks. Lovely situation West of the Shannon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, it is much appreciated. I am disappointed to hear that you were cold in your room. I hope that you called the reception desk at some point about this as we would have certainly done our best to help in this situation. We want all of...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my family visited the shamrock lodge for our Christmas Day meal. We arrive at 2pm took our seats in the ballroom and within a couple of minutes our waitress arrived to take our order. The service was fantastic and all of the team had a smile and were engaging which on the day that was they probably wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you so much for your 5 star review, it is hugely appreciated. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us, it was great to welcome you and your family. As this was the first year that we have opened for Christmas in a very long time, it is great to receive this...

Ireland
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

One night stay. Staff so helpful and friendly. Deirdre on reception was amazing... massive thank especially to her. Room and bed very comfortable. Good value too! Handy parking.. dinner was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greeneyestar
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear greeneyestar, Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review. It is great to hear that you were well looked after by our staff with a special mention for Deirdre. I hope that we can welcome you back again to our family run hotel at another time. Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas! Kindest Regards, Alan McCaul...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is a hugely underrated hotel, been here twice in 2 days, food fabulous, staff magnificent, Paddy and Alan hands on. It's remarkable they keep food so fresh for so many guests. The Athlone Credit Union 50th Anniversary was beautifully realised; location, decor, table layouts, the food in particular was first class. We were also at the Christmas Party night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliveDarling
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear CliveDarling, Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is hugely appreciated. We work hard to ensure our fantastic guests enjoy their time with us and it is great to hear that you had two consecutive enjoyable nights. I hope that we can welcome you again over the Christmas period and if...

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I was in Athlone for my graduation and was glad to spend some time at Shamrock Lodge Hotel. It is a quiet part of town just outside the town centre but not too far. It has beautiful greenery as you might expect in Ireland. The rooms are very well maintained and have a great ambiance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacintamsakala
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear jacintamsakala, Thank you most sincerely for your 5 star review. Your kind words are hugely appreciated and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Congratulations to you on your graduation! What an exciting time in your life, we wish you every success. I hope that you will consider staying with us again should you...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel room very nice. Very short staffed. Waited 1hour for a sandwich. breakfast was the worst I've seen in years. Athlone doesn't have a lot going for it. £129 for single room but at least it was warm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_purple
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Seligman, In relation to your comments, there are a couple of items that we would like to question. In relation to waiting one hour for a sandwich, we strongly refute this claim. All of your group arrived at reception at 12pm to check into rooms that were not available until 3.30pm. However we accommodated everybody on arrival. All...

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (63)
Viewed
Suite (113)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.0 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,709 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.9 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
189 reviews
2.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: ₹ 3,129 - ₹ 8,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be quite because the area around the hotel is very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles paddyhannon1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was on the ground floor and I found that I could hear the radio outside my door so perhaps go for a room on an upper level”
 of 5 bubbles tonysteph, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was fully booked, hen party also but no disturbances whatsoever”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick any room”
 of 5 bubbles mal-tripadv-longmore, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For a little luxury book the Princess Grace suite”
 of 5 bubbles GilandGor, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay