We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wineport Lodge

Save
Traveller (518)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (78)
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good15%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Wineport Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
829
178
97
39
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
829
178
97
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubchampagne suitebalcony overlooking the lakeon arrivalbreakfast in bedwalk in wardrobecomplimentary upgradesteakspecial occasionunderfloor heatinghappy birthdaywine listlittle touchesrelaxing breakbrowniesconesmain course
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Wineport restaurant in glasson for afternoon tea which I had reserved as a treat for my friend.I had previously visited Wineport many years ago for dinner and found it excellent. On this occasion my visit was very disappointing in so many ways. Where to...More

3  Thank minnie630
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 5 March 2018

Dear minnie630 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I am terribly sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon experience and I assure you I will be looking in to this matter and monitoring the situation personally I must however disagree...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

There are no words to describe how amazing my boyfriend and I found our two nights here. We truly didn't want to leave. The moment you arrive you are greeted warmly at reception and offered home made hot chocolate. The room we stayed in was...More

Thank MaryKelly92
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 5 March 2018

Dear MaryKelly92 Thank you ever so much for your most kind and humbling words. I am simply thrilled that enjoyed your recent stay and that your meal was on of the best and most memorable you have had. I couldn't agree more the outdoor hot...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

Exclusive visit for afternoon tea,great service,stunning views,highly recommended,after staying for 2nites in Athlone last weekend ,we had a celebration with friends in the wineport lodge,its only 10mn by car from Athlone,its on a lake,its extreamly beautifull and they were very hostile as wellMore

Thank albenasth
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 3 March 2018

Dear albenasth Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit for afternoon tea. We are truly blessed wit our ever changing surroundings and I am thrilled you enjoyed the views. Do come see us again...More

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We are just back from a lovely relaxing weekend in The Wineport Lodge. It was a Birthday treat and our first weekend away from our 6 month old baby! We got a complimentary upgrade on arrival (thanks Norma). The room was amazing, the double bed...More

Thank Ashtow
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Ashtow Thank you so much for taking the time to post your most humbling review. It sounds as though you made the most of your stay with us. I am thrilled that you received so much special attention for your birthday. The little touches...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Took my mum for her birthday with family in mid February. From the first second we were welcomed warmly and my mum made to feel special . Dinner was excellent, every course was as good as next. Particular mentions of black pudding starter, hot salmon...More

Thank OffalyPk1973
Response from Norma W, General Manager at Wineport LodgeResponded 27 February 2018

Dear OffalyPk1973 Thank you for taking the time to post your most kind review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. A special occasion deserves extra special treatment and I do hope that this was a memorable birthday for...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$ 182 - US$ 443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 182 - US$ 443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (518)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (78)
Pool & Beach (3)
Amenities (32)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Loloughlin2011
8 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from siobhainkiernan | Reviewed this property |
10minutes by car
1
Vote
Lorraine B
8 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norma W | Property representative |
We do not have a steam room or sauna, however we do have two outdoor hot tubs which are available for all guests use without reservation
0
Votes
katyc635
14 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Johnrave | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know, as I didn't have a pet it wasn't real envy to me, having said that I didn't see any dogs there, the best way to find out would be to e-mail direct
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I think all rooms over look the lake but if not I would definitely recommend you request one."
Read review
"We requested and were assigned a king room with a lakeview balcony. It was on the first floor and was nice..."
Read review
"lakeview room and in the restaurant a window seat overlooking the water"
Read review
"Most rooms seem to have a lake view and a balcony"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing