We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alcock & Brown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alcock & Brown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alcock & Brown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Friends had booked a room for me for two nights at Alcock and Brown. I'd spent two previous nights at fabulous B&B in Clifden which I won't name here (i've given it a 5* review elsewhere) but will just mention that it is a whole €10 a night more expensive. I was disappointed with the appearance of Alcock and Brown...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jane D
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dr Jane, I remember you very well. You booked in for 2 nights. You were joining your 6 friends who had booked in for 3 nights. At about 8pm on your first night you wanted to check out and demanded a full refund. We generously agreed to refund you for the second night - something we not have to...

Co galway
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Very central hoter great location friendly staff great breakfast good lunch menu rooms tip top clifden is a lovely town the arts festival is well worth a visit nice deck outside 2 sit have a coffee and watch the world go by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmurphy5790
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and that you had a good experience with your stay at our hotel. Glad you discovered the best seats for people watching in town while enjoying our freshly brewed speciality coffees! We hope to welcome you here very soon again. Regards, Aideen

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Nice enough hotel, no lift and the absence of a drying room for walkers gear an absence. Staff ok although one lady could be more helpful on reception. Internet not too bad in the lobby but a bit iffy in the rooms. Rooms a good size and beds very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BadgerPud
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found our rooms to be spacious and our beds comfortable. Regarding access to WiFi, we have two separate systems for ground floor and rooms, so perhaps you logged into the ground floor which would not be strong in rooms. We take your comments on board...

Monaghan
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We called into this hotel while on our holidays and had a lovely relaxed meal, with four kids in tow relaxing and dinner time generally don't go together!!! But the Alcock and Brown hotel is a great place to eat, realx and enjoy the lovely food and great service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoddyMonaghan
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RoddyMonaghan, Thank you so much for reviewing our restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at the Gallery Restaurant. It was our pleasure to have you and your children here. We pride ourselves on being a family run hotel and families are always welcome any time. We have just introduced our new Little Pilots Menu especially...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Poor hotel generally. Unfriendly welcome apart from 1 person who served us breakfast. Phone not working in room. Only 1 key for 3 people. Luke warm weak shower. Dated and tired. No lift. No help with bags. Clifden came across as a town who just didn't need your business - unfriendly, superior, clipped attitude in the many pubs and restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Julie W
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julie, thanks for your views. It just looks like you had a bad time here in general. Clifden can be a wonderful place with lots of great pubs and restaurants to visit and be entertained in. We all have our "off " days, but for every pub, restaurant and hotel you visited to have an "off" day at the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I visited this hotel recently with a hen party and although the location was great and the accommodation was adequate, the staff were quite unhelfpul and a little hostile to our admittedly 'spirited' group . Two of our party were unable to attend due to family emergencies but we were still charged in full for them. Dinner was part of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Stokesy2014
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi stokesy2014 and thank you for your review. I remember your group quite well - many of you told me personally that you had a great time so I am a little surprised by your comments. However I do recall that the noise level during dinner reached extreme levels. So much so that 4 guests arrived for their table, only...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 29 July 2015

I just stayed in this hotel and I had a really pleasant stay. The hotel is right smack bang in the middle of the town so you can easily find your way back after a few pints. The staff were very pleasant and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aisling n
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aisling n, We are so pleased that you found us "perfecto" and that you liked our central location! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future. Aideen

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch with my sister-in-laws. Nice room with view of the town square. Comfortable chairs. Delicious pot of tea. Club sandwich with wonderful Irish ham. Indian themed chicken sandwich that was delicately and perfectly seasoned. Delectable, locally caught crab sandwich. All breads were excellent. A very good place to have lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jet P
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi "Joan" at Jet P, Thank you so much for taking the time to review lunch at our Coffee House with your sisters in law. We are so pleased you enjoyed our gourmet sandwiches prepared with freshly baked bread. Many people say that both our Coffee House and Gallery Restaurant have the best view in town. A great location to...

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed here with our family on our tour of the west of Ireland, the hotel is dated in appearance, not the most pleasing looking establishment in clifden, in saying that we were willing to overlook this aspect as its located is just fantastic, right in the centre of town.. and the staff were nice, if you do stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pam f
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So pleased you were impressed with our friendly staff. While the hotel is not new, all public areas including foyer, coffee house and restaurant have recently been completely refurbished. All rooms have also been redecorated. We have been getting many compliments, particularly on the new decor of our Coffee House and Gallery Restaurant. We are...

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel. We stayed for one night and had a great family room on the top floor at the front with a view of the centre of Cliften. The hotel itself reminds me of an old style continental hotel. Price wise was very competitive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddym99
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you and your family liked your room overlooking the Square. Many say we have the best view in town overlooking the centre. Thank you for taking the time to review. Regards, Aideen

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 km away
Clifden Station House
0.5 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
262 reviews
0.2 km away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Price Range: ₹ 4,736 - ₹ 8,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock & Brown Hotel Clifden, County Galway, Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Galway, Ireland
Castleblayney, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alcock & Brown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a corner room overlooking the street, as the middle ones only look onto the backside of the hotel entrance roof.”
 of 5 bubbles MacPow, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors better view”
 of 5 bubbles robertbowman1, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I didn't spot any elevator, so if you have a lot of baggage, it might be best to choose a room on the lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles darrylgriffith93, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Town views from the panoramic front rooms are terrific”
 of 5 bubbles rickbon, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a lovely room over the village of Clifden!”
 of 5 bubbles joekarigabby, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5