We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Holyrood Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Holyrood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,055 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,050: English reviews
Start your review of The Holyrood Hotel
 Click to rate
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

was a horrible experience. hotel room was dirty and found someones underwear in my bin. the bath had a big crack up in it. there was dirt every where and was very run down and dated. the room was cold. no one came to re fresh our room on the next morning of our stay and i had to run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robyndanielledoh2017
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed as a family of 2 adults and 2 teens for 2 nights. Decor needed attention. One of the sockets in our room was broken, The bath panel had a gaping great hole in it, the basin was cracked, the toilet took about half an hour to refill after flushing before it would flush again (remember 4 of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira379
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel over valentines day. Overall the hotel was clean and well decorated however there was chipped paint in our room and the shower took a few minutes heating up whenever it was turned on. We both really enjoyed the seaweed bath we got in the spa and spending time in the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megan, Thank you for choosing to spend your valentines break with us and taking the time to post a review on your stay. I will pass your comments onto our restaurant manager. I am glad you had time to relax in our Escape Spa. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel on the main street in bundoran.everything is within walking distance.lovely food in the restarant.lovely food in the lounge/bar. Great staff , free parking. We had a great weekend .it was not our first weekend there and it definently won't bo our last.we're looking forward to returning.the pamper package weekend is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victor M, Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here as a group of 4 adults and 4 kids aged 12,12,13 and 14. When I had phoned to make the booking I had asked was the pool and amusements open there for midterm and I was told yes and that the holyrood also had their own pool. We had requested a Seaview to be told they would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siobhanw34
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear siobhan34, further to your recent stay with us, I am glad that your request for a sea view room was honored and that you found the hotel foyer and corridors well presented and clean. I am sorry that your allocated room did not meet your expectations. We hope to have completed refurbishment of all our guest rooms by Easter....

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel. Staff were lovely and very helpful. We had a double room, very spacious. Beach is a 5 minute walk away and the cafes and bars are on the doorstep. Perfect for a relaxing break. Will defiantly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catt9310
Uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a fabulous offer at the hotel for 2 nights b&b, 1 dinner and spa treatments. Could not have been happier with the customer service of all staff from reception to the health suite. Michaela in the Bar was always helpful and accommodating as was Audrey from the back office department. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Great staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank THenry121
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are just back from this hotel, I was treated by the other half for my birthday. Very disappointment. It was supposed to be a relaxing night away and have come up shattered and feeling like we have wasted money! Good points are the reception area is lovely and the halls, the staff and friendly and it is clean, that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri-Louise W
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terri-Louise W, Thank your your review of your recent stay. I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and I appreciate the positive comments you have made about the hotel. It is regrettable that I did not get the opportunity to meet with you before your departure from the hotel to discuss your unhappiness,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as a couple from Friday to Sunday in January 2017. When we arrived we had noticed there were quite a few decorator vans so we were expecting some disruption - I have to say that I didn't experience any disruption whatsoever! We asked for a sea view as always as the other view is the car park! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann Q
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann, Thank you for your recent review & for choosing us stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Sincerely Audrey McEniff

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just home from a lovely relaxing weekend - 2 nights b&b with evening meal and cannot fault the hotel or staff. Was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews on here but needn't have worried. The hotel lobby was so welcoming and relaxing from the moment we got there. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, big family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veronica1178
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Veronica1178, Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Audrey McEniff

323 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.3 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
952 reviews
0.1 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
339 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
149 reviews
9.1 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Price Range: ₹ 6,167 - ₹ 12,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask has it been cleaned”
 of 5 bubbles robyndanielledoh2017, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go at all”
 of 5 bubbles Moira379, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea View is a must just don't ask for end of corridor at front as the bar and nightclub are below this”
 of 5 bubbles 143annq, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try to get a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles Colm_11, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't pick a standard room”
 of 5 bubbles joanm864, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5