We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
117 Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AE Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Booking.com
$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
ZenHotels.com
$89
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$92
Priceline$100
Hurb$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 7 hotels in Carmarthen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Rose and Crown Hotel offers 10 en-suite bedrooms on a bed & breakfast tariff. This former coaching inn, in the centre of Carmarthen, underwent major renovation in 2005. All rooms are fully refurbished & decorated in a modern style. There is a choice of double twin and family rooms, all with wifi, sky tv, dvd, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. Our busy bar and restaurant provide quality ales and premium lagers, serving prime welsh steak, fish and seafood, quality local produce, and luscious desserts.We are a comfortable 40 minutes drive from the ferry port of Pembroke Dock, and about 50 minutes from Fishguard.We are easy to find. Parking is plentiful- there are large car parks within 50 yards, and coach parking close by. Just follow signs for the town centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
180Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 48
  • 28
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daniel P wrote a review Dec 2022
Sully, United Kingdom2 contributions
I've stayed in many different hotels over the last few years while covering in different stores for work and this hotel is hands down my favourite and has now set the standard for other hotels (in my opinion). I had to stay across 3 weeks (travelling home for a few days and then returning) and each time I returned the staff were friendly and took a genuine interest in what I did for work. The rooms themselves were well maintained, cleaned daily and had a nice cosy feel to them. Admittedly when you stayed in the rooms on the second floor (Rooms 5-8) you didn't get as much street noise or bar noise as you do when staying on first floor. Though when I did stay on the first floor I was still able to sleep through most of the noise and even have a nap if I got back early enough for one. The bar downstairs had a nice atmosphere even when they were very busy and the restaurant food was absolutely fantastic. Admittedly you could go elsewhere for something cheaper but you would lose out on the quality of the meal they provide. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Carmarthen. I enjoyed my stay each week and cannot thank the wonderful staff enough for making it such an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lloyd E wrote a review Dec 2022
Second time we have stayed here and it is consistently friendly and wel maintained. Staff are helpful and efficient. They offer a decent Vegan cooked breakfast too . Prices are reasonable even though everything has risen lately. We had a problem with our radiator which was immediately fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Weekends can be affected by street noise but not too negatively
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
laurapowell0780 wrote a review Oct 2022
Maesteg, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
What a gem of a find. Myself and 5 friends travelled into Carmarthen on Saturday afternoon for a few drinks and food. We had food in the Rose & Crown, the service along with the food was so good we arranged to go back Sunday for Sunday lunch and Oh my days!! We weren’t disappointed! Absolutely stunning and very good portions. We will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Villa Titrit wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom17 contributions11 helpful votes
Excellent … from the first check in, staff went over and above and even came out to assist with the quirky pay and display car parking ! Great bar service with a Selection of welsh craft ales. Food was not just beautifully cooked and well presented but delicious and plentiful . Our room was luxurious with great mattresses and coffee and tea making facilities and was beautifully decorated with photos of local landscape. Tv reception very good too. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Winnie O wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was lovely, very clean and service was very good but the only down fall that we had a room at the front of the hotel looking on to taxi ramp, it was very hot night but we had colse our window due to the noise and with the closed we still here everything from out side, people waiting for taxi till 5am. And to top it off builder across the road start work at 7am on Sunday morning
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If stay at this hotel have room looking at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dan wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions4 helpful votes
The chap who welcomed my partner and I was very hospitable. We were made to feel very welcome. Due to our early start we didn't manage to sample the breakfast but hopefully next time... Granted, the price was high end but we really didn't mind paying it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Hotel was absolutely brilliant, staff all warm and friendly and manager helped no end sorting out an issue caused by booking.com at beginning of our stay. Rooms very modern and fresh would definately return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gilly W wrote a review Apr 2022
15 contributions2 helpful votes
Love calling in here. Called in for a few cocktails. Atmosphere lovely as always and enjoyed watching my rugby team win. Staff very friendly. Lovely to see a few dogs allowed to join us in the bar. Will always call there for a drink as there's always a welcome
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CharlieJ24 wrote a review Mar 2022
23 contributions2 helpful votes
A lovely lunchtime meal. Good selection of meals available on the menu. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quick and professional service. Portion sizes were very good. Great selection of drinks at the bar. We had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Richard S wrote a review Mar 2022
Lingfield, United Kingdom28 contributions25 helpful votes
I stayed here overnight, on business, and from the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome, being introduced to the staff, and notified of the evening receptionist. I was shown to my room, which has obviously been renovated recently, and was not disappointed. It was absolutely spotless, and was a willing competitor, for any other 5 star venue. Real attention had been paid to presentation of the toiletries, towels and general cleanliness, it was lovely. I then went down to the bar and spent a pleasant few hours there, and again, the staff were very attentive, but ten I ordered food, and this is where the hotel was disappointing!! I ordered a burger, and when it turned up, it was split in half, which would suggest that it had been cooked from frozen, and was presented in a rather forlorn, and pathetic brioche bun. It had been coated in so many bacon bites that there was no flavour of the beef, and the coleslaw appeared to have chilli or curry powder in it? Coupled with chips that had been cooked in old oil, that tasted, as such, my experience was disappointing. I got up for breakfast and a similar situation occurred whereby the toast wasn't served separately, and was cooked before the breakfast, resulting in cold toast, served at the side of the plate. The poached egg was still raw in the centre and had not been cooked properly. The chefs mobile text notification continually sounded 'reveille' from the kitchen, and the host didn't seem to do an awful lot, apart from greet the few guests that were there for breakfast. Considering someone, has gone to significant lengths to overhaul, and take the time and effort to make this establishment a success, it is let down, quite badly, by poorly prepared, badly presented and cooked food. There needs to be an overhaul of the kitchen staff, if they're not prepared to go the extra mile, or are not trained to serve good quality food, in what would, or could be an extremely nice establishment!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Pay for the Executive Room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Page, General Manager at Rose and Crown Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Thank you for your kind words in relation to our accommodation, we are very glad you were happy with your room. We would like to apologise that you did not have similar experience with our food. To begin with I would like to clarify that our burgers are never cooked from frozen and are in fact 2 3oz patties cooked separately to form a burger stack. The bacon bits is actually our homemade bacon jam which is listed on the menu as an one of the ingredients of the Rose Gourmet Burger. Perhaps our chef's were a little over generous with this! Our homemade coleslaw has wholegrain mustard in it which is possibly what you could taste. Our oil is changed weekly and filtered every day in order to be as fresh as possible. In regards to the "text" alert that intruded on your breakfast, this was actually out rational alert noise. I have since asked for this to be lowered for the morning shift. I will be sure to relay all of your comments to our staff, we always endeavour to do our very best for our customers. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove to you that our food service is of the same quality as our Accommodation. Kind regards Jessica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCarmarthenshireCarmarthen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROSE AND CROWN HOTEL (Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rose and Crown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rose and Crown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Laser Station Carmarthen (0.4 km), Carmarthen Market (0.1 km), and Carmarthen Castle (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rose and Crown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rose and Crown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Rose and Crown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Warren, The New Curiosity, and Cinnamon Indian Cuisine.
Is Rose and Crown Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Carmarthen.