We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Priory Guest House

Save
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not stayed here as we live round the corner but have visited a couple of times just for food. Lovely home cooked meals with large portions and the staff have always been polite. Reasonable prices too.

Helpful?
1 Thank maree t
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a good budget hotel, its not the ritz, but overall I felt the visit was good for me. The rooms felt comfortable and relaxing, and wifi was not a problem in the bedroom. The toilet/shower locations are at the end of the corridors. Breakfast was well cooked, but tinned plum tomato's did nothing but make the taste... More 

Helpful?
Thank desmond_thomas1
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant for a Birthday celebration. The staff who served us was friendly and welcoming. The food however was disappointing, the rice was full of water, the chicken curry appeared to be out of a tin!! The plaice was hard. The mushroom stroganoff was awful. We didnt want to complain and ruin the birthday party, however when the bill... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeanettehughes
Phillip C, Owner at Old Priory Guest House, responded to this review

I do apologise that you did not enjoy your meal at the Old Priory. You did make us aware that you were unhappy with your mushroom stroganoff when paying for your meal, although the waitress did notice that there was only a small spoon full left on the plate. As for the chicken curry, it contains the meat of half... More 

Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were cycling The Celtic Trail from Fishguard to Swansea and spent our third night at The Old Priory. We were welcomed and given a place to store our bikes though not shown to our room. The room was satisfactory, very clean and had a small shower room and toilet next door. We slept well and the beds were comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank robrees2016
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

First impressions clean and friendly. However didn't stay the first night to confirm this as carted off to Glangwili Hospital with mini stroke. Couldn't have had a most concerned staff and manager. Returned Saturday to a lower access room arranged by my sister-in-law, only to sleep soundly and safely. The only shower I made was the super one at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siouxh28
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Second visit in the last 8 months for my wife and friends , I live away and on returning to my home town I suggested we went for a meal here .knowing that the quality of the food and the friendly reception we would have from the staff would not be matched in Carmarthen ,and not surprisingly we weren't let... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aubrey E
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Old Priory is a lovely b&b which offers exceptional value for money and top levels of hospitality. there are plenty of rooms which are spotlessly clean and the owners couldn't possibly make you feel more welcome. The bar is keenly priced and the surprising thing is one of the best restraunts in Carmarthen offering traditional british food like Steak, Fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward W
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I stayed at the Old Priory for four weeks while working away from home. The staff were so lovely and friendly and were extremely accommodating. The room was a good size (with a lovely view), the bed was comfortable and it was always clean. The room had free wi-fi which was reliable and very fast. The lounge and dining area... More 

Helpful?
Thank san899
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2016

After staying in this period bed and breakfast you will not have room to complain , every care is taken to make you feel welcome and comfortable, you only have to ask Phil or one of his family for anything, if they can do it they will. The rooms are comfortable and clean with wifi, as for the meals I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave-Penny-M3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The friendly and welcoming atmosphere have made what has been a difficult time a lot easier to deal with. Clean room, good food and easy access to local services. And wifi in the bedrooms! Thanks to everyone, and I hope the photos provided many happy memories of people from Carmarthen who are sadly missed! Stayed 25th January to 12th February... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sian E

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Old Priory Guest House

Address: 20 Priory Street, Carmarthen SA31 1NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Old Priory Guest House Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Priory Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Priory Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?