We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Travel Flexibility
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$406
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$376
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/09/22
Booking.com$394
Travelocity$406
ZenHotels.com$542
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9800)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Updated 19/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. The 194 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 30 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 111 Beach Villas and 23 Garden Rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Chinese and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Seaplane Transfers
6487Reviews668Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,145
  • 1,054
  • 203
  • 57
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
asavi78 wrote a review Yesterday
Paterna, Spain37 contributions9 helpful votes
Staff really really friendly and kind. Everything really clean . Reef for snorkelling really nice you see a lots of fishes, sharks, turtles, rays,… Room big and spacious. Food and services perfects. Very valuable for the price. Bed really comfortable,. Arrangement of transfers perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Shira wrote a review Sep 2021
Israel34 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Love Vilamendhoo, it really does feel like coming home in a way (i wish this was my home, to be honest). I've been here a few times already, and will be coming back only to this island after experiencing a few others. This place is pure paradise and they really go out of their way to make your experience perfect. When you're a returning guest, they also find extra ways to pamper you. The welcoming smiles here, no matter who you approach, really make a difference. The entire staff, from waiters, to the diving team, receptionists, customer care, management, the spa ladies, the excursion gang, are all so helpful and caring. The covid measures were easy to follow and don't interrupt with the casual setting, and you only have to wear a mask in closed areas and on line for the buffet, for example. The island was exceptionally clean and the gardeners were constantly planting new trees and working on display. Food was great, with a large choice as usual, although there could be more vegan options. The all inclusive is really wroth it if you want extra activities and not to worry about snacks and alcohol. The spa, as usual, wow. Great staff, and the Balinese message pure, heaven every time. Can't wait to come back (actually already working on that). The only non smiley face i would mention, was by the doctor on the last day, checking for PCR, she was probably the least communicative in the whole team. But otherwise, Vilamendhoo is the full package!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 17 Sep 2021
Dear Shira L Thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review in regards of your third visit with us at Vilamendhoo. I am thrilled to read that you once again had such a great time enjoying our offers and services provided by all our team members from Spa to Dive Center as well as the resort team. It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests back to Paradise for another memorable time away from home. I have taken note in regards of the meals as you mentioned and we do see a trend going forward what will be taken into consideration to better cater for guests needs. I will share your kind words with the Spa as well as the euro dives and my team as they all do their outmost and with passion to make such dreams come true. We all would like to take this opportunity to once again thank you for having visited us this year again. It will be with great pleasure to welcome back home to out Paradise Island soon again as you mentioned!
Read more
lv4aika wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The best place for a perfect holiday. Everything is thought out to the smallest detail. Plus - an amazing underwater world! Plus - an amazing underwater world! Everything came together - the weather, the ocean, a cozy island, the work of the staff - everything is fine! We stayed for the second time in this hotel and do not want to go anywhere else ...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear lv4aika Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review in regards of your second holiday with us. I am excited to see that you had the perfect time enjoying our offers and services provided as well as exploring the underwater world. Truly magical indeed what can been seen just a few meters from the shore. I will share your kind words with me team who are all doing their outmost to provide a memorable experience to each visit. We all would like to once again thank you for having returned to us. It will be with great pleasure to welcome you back to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives and its magical underwater world hopefully soon again!
Read more
mariauldal wrote a review 1 Jul
Copenhagen, Denmark1 contribution
Best honeymoon we could have wished for! Perfect location, perfect rooms, sweet and welcoming staff. We felt like home in a new place. Good snorkeling reef oportunities, lost of fish amd beautiful coralls.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear mariauldal Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review in regards of your honeymoon holiday with us. The entire team congratulates you on your marriage and wishes you the very best only followed by endless happy and memorable days to come! I am trilled to see that you had such a great time enjoying our offers and services provided as well as the snorkeling in the house reef and being looked after by our team members. Exploring the underwater world so easily must have left impressions that will last for a lifetime indeed and I will share your kind words with my team as they are the ones doing their outmost and with passion to make such dreams come true. We all would like to once again thank you for having chosen us for your very special holiday. It would be with great pleasure to welcome you back to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives and its magical underwater world hopefully soon again!
Read more
Jills89 wrote a review Jun 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Upon arrival our sea plane transfer and boat to the island once dropped off were timely. In reception we were greeted by Paola (?) and received a nice refreshing drink, Paola was extremely nice and welcoming and explained the island lay out and showed us to our room. We were in room 223 which is on the South side of the island. The room was plenty big enough, it was a jacuzzi villa in the adults only area, which was well catered for and kept clean, the only small annoyance was having to indicate what we wanted topping up in the mini-bar if we used it. A side to that the room and service of luggage was excellent. As stated we did the 'adults-only' which is well worth the upgrade if you don't have kids or want to see/hear any whilst you are away. On two, maybe three occasions some kids were near/in the adult pool which is not monitored and was annoying but a very minor gripe over all. The pool area is kept very clean, the pool is also kept very well and the pool area staff Adam/Naufal and co were excellent and attentive. They don't seem to strict on anything i.e. could take my beer in the pool and relax and enjoy the view... just what I wanted to do. The restaurant area was fantastic, we were lucky enough to be assigned Nasrulla in the buffet restaurant who genuinely did make our stay even more pleasant, he was superb (apparently he is on probation...Vilamendhoo, just get him to sign the dotted line he is a great asset for you!!). He has great conversation, gave us tips about the island and were to snorkel etc... please pass on our thanks to Nasrulla! The food was delicious and there wasn't a day when we didn't have an option either of us liked, even with my partner being allergic to fish. We didn't try the Hot-Rock, but we did visit the Asian Wok twice. The first time the food was good but I was just generally very full and left some food, this didn't go down well with the chef/waiter and he was quite abrupt for the rest of the night which was a shame and killed the mood (which was the night we got engaged, so this really was quite a downer). The next time we visited had Adam as our waiter and he was excellent, he gave us great advice on what to choose to eat and he was spot on, superb night. If possible book the 6:30 slot so you can get the sunset. Snorkeling and excursions were amazing. The house reef was fantastic... I am not much of a 'sea-going' person but I am converted. I saw so many different species and had sharks (both nurse and black tip reef) swim right up to me like they were saying hello. We also saw squid, parrot fish, grouper fish, lion-fish and I was even fortunate enough to see a large turtle just on the edge of reef and swam with it for a few minutes, incredible memory. On the excursion we saw a Whale Shark and turtles, but sadly no Manta Ray, however you can tell the staff (apologies forgot his name) was just as disappointed as we were, he really did put in a lot of effort to find one with the boats crew. I briefly used the gym which was good but that was it regarding the sporting activities bar the odd shot on the 7-a-side pitch. The island team train on the football pitch every day between 5-7pm so I didn't get a chance to use it sadly as in the day it's just too warm. We also did kayaking which was great and attempted windsurfing, the chap who was meant to train us for windsurfing couldn't have seem less interested in actually teaching us, he was more keen to tell me how quick he learned it and show off. All in all we had a fantastic stay at Vilamendhoo and would most definitely return. We spoke to several couples on their fourth or fifth visit and you can really understand why people keep going back, they have it down to the finest detail (in general). We even heard some couples had returned for their eleventh and fourteenth time.... say no more. One tip is to definitely go all-inclusive, thankfully we did, but if you don't the price could really add up. I could go on even further about how good our stay was, and have likely forgot to include some information, but value for money I cannot fault Vilamendhoo. Vilamendhoo (and especially my man Nasrulla!), thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Snorkeling is better North side of the island.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jills Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review in regards of your 10 nights stay with us. I am excited to see that you had an amazing time enjoying our offers and services provided as well as the snorkeling in the house reef nd during the excursions to see Mantas and Whale Sharks. I am sure this trip has left memories that will last for a lifetime even as no Mantas could be spotted. On the other hand I would like to apologize for the few issues your had that left some kind of a negative taste. This should not have been this way. In regards of the kids near the pool I can only explain that beach is public and we do allow families with children to walk around the Island but not using the facilities. However I am glad that this point mentioned did not spoil the overall impression of your holiday. I will share your comments with my team for further improvements and for all who have been giving you this amazing experience during your very special holiday getting engaged. We all would like to once again thank you for having visited us. It would be with great pleasure to welcome you back to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives and its magical underwater world hopefully soon again!
Read more
Emma C wrote a review Jun 2022
Fareham, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Been to the Maldives twice before decided to go again due to previous destination being cancelled. The travel time was long but expected, the service and food was brilliant. Our room was basic small and no natural light, we had to sweet talk our waiter for milk as they provided some awful satchets in the room which didn't dissolve in the tea or coffee and was revolting. This further resolved by the responding to a review of our stay initially, we were then provided with a carton of milk for our stay. The resort was very popular with young families and at times unfortunately there was no escape from screaming children even when going to the 'adults only' beach as this was not enforced. The Reef was in poor condition and not protected very well by the resort, people were walking all over it. Overall it was an ok holiday but definitely not worth the £7,000 price tag, will not be returning to the Maldives again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Emma C Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review in regards of your holiday experience with us. I do apologies that we have not been able to meet all expectations with the package booked and some of the services during this Maldives holiday. It is correct that depending on season we have quite a good number of families visiting us. Families in general can walk around the Island but not use the facilities and are asked not to install themselves on the beach of this part of the Island. A bit special to have this kind of arrangement on one Island indeed but it works quite well overall. I will share your comments with my team and look into the mentioned point for improvements. We all would like to take this opportunity to once again thank you for having visited us and hope that you still have been able to take home some great memories about your visit to the Maldives.
Read more
cheramova wrote a review Jun 2022
Varna, Bulgaria1 contribution
Everything is excellent. The staff was extremely kind and friendly in all restaurants. I want to say a big thank you to two people from the staff who have constantly served us now and the last time we came to the resort. These are Riffath and Ibbu Adam. Thanks also to the people who cleaned our rooms and especially to the last boy, but I don't know his name…. The room was always clean, tidy. Always perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear cheramova Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to writ this review in regards of your second visit with us. I am trilled to see that once again you had an excellent and memorable time having enjoyed our offers and services provided. I will share your kind words with my team as they are the ones doing their outmost to provide a memorable time away from home. We all would like to once again thank you for having visited us this year again. It will be with great pleasure to welcome you back home to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives hopefully soon again!
Read more
Elle E wrote a review Jun 2022
Hillegom, The Netherlands34 contributions60 helpful votes
We have stayed here fot the second time this year and we loved every minute of it. The rooms are great, there are a lot of facilities and the staff is very attentive and service minded and the food is simply delicious! Next to that the reef outside is great, we saw a lot of fish! Would reccomend a 1000%!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear elle Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review in regards of your second visit this year with us. I am excited to see that you once again had a great time enjoying every minute as well as our offers and services provided calling it the "most beautiful place on earth. Your recommendation is very much appreciated and I will share your kind comments with my team who are all doing their outmost to make every visit a memorable one. We all would like to once again thank you for having visited us for the second time this year. It will be with great pleasure to welcome you back home to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives and its magical underwater world hopefully soon again!
Read more
Repeaters10 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Another wonderful holiday, home from home, welcoming staff. Fantastic marine life, especially the turtles who are happy to hang out with you. Asian Wok is a lovely setting to have supper over looking the sea and also to be able to see the eagle ray float by.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Repeaters Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review in regards of your holiday with us this year again. Always a pleasure to welcome you back and I am pleased to see that once again you fully enjoyed your time on and off the Island as well as our offers and services provided. I will share your kind comments with my team as they are the ones doing their outmost to provide a memorable time to each guest and visit. We all would like to take this opportunity to once again thank you for having returned to your second home. The entire team is already looking forward to welcome you back home hopefully soon again!
Read more
jlai306 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The house reef at Vilamendhoo was fantastic with lots of different fishes. There’s a varied of different food available, however not sufficiently catered for people who has food allergy. Staff are friendly and room is always maintained clean and tidy on a daily basis. Unfortunately, some tours available is over priced. Sad to say gym, tennis court or use of kayaks incurs extra cost.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Zahir, General Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear jlai Greetings from Vilamendhoo and thank you very much for taking your time to write this review in regards of your 10 days holiday experience with us. I am pleased to see that you had a great time enjoying our house reef and well as your room and the service provided by our staff. However I would like to apologies that you felt there should have been free access to sports facilities and equipment. This is included as part of the AIP option only but I have taken note on it. Else I do understand your comment in regards of food allergies. Out team is doing their best to cater for all needs however I will discuss with the kitchen team what could be done better to meet expectations/needs of our guests. We all would like to take this opportunity to once again thank you for having visited us. It would be with great pleasure to welcome you back to our Paradise Island to further enjoy the True Colors of Maldives and its magical underwater world hopefully soon again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vilamendhoo island hotel vilamendhoo, vilamendhoo island resort, hotel vilamendhoo island
LOCATION
MaldivesAlifu AtollSouthern Ari AtollVilamendhoo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Asian Wok Restaurant, The Blue Moon Cafe, and Compass Beach & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, Chinese, and Indonesian.
Does Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
<