We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merchant House

Show Prices
#4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
East Bridgford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. What a pleasure to stay in a hotel where for once there was absolutely nothing to complain about, after all, we Brits are great at moaning but not so good at praising. Perfect location, just up the hill from Truro centre and just a couple of minutes from the A30 - couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigeldawes
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for giving us a 5* review. I am so pleased you found Merchant House to be a perfect location with plenty of parking and that you couldn't find anything negative. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments as they will be delighted. We look forward to seeing you...

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were part of a large group that took over a good bit of the property in July when the UK was having an historic heat wave. The staff was not equipped to handle the requests for fans. Our room, on the top floor and facing west, was closed up tight with the draperies wide open. Needless to say, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PALB108
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear PALB108, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Merchant House and I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay on this occasion. All of our rooms do have windows that open but we don't like to leave them open before guests arrive, for security purposes and the curtains are left open so the...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

So, to find a decent place to stay during University sign in weekend was a nightmare! We stumbled across The Merchant House on line. 'Do you have a family room? Our 'child' is a 6 foot 2 Fresher so we need a long single in the room! Help?' Yes, come in and the bed is plenty big enough, came the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelleychap C
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our warm welcome, complimentary Homemade Cake in our lounge/bar, King size beds and our cracking full English breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back along with Fido and we'll get the...

Collins, New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Not a big selection at breakfast. If you want eggs they will only make fried eggs! When we arrived it was a warm day. All the windows were closed and the room was like an oven! Long walk to town. Otherwise it was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Larry, Thank you for your review of Merchant House and I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy your stay on this occasion. All of our rooms do have windows that open but we don’t like to leave them open before guests arrive, for security purposes. We also ensure we have fans available for guests on request. I am perplexed...

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel building set at the top of quite a steep hill leading down into the city centre (7 min walk). Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. All staff members very friendly also a dog friendly establishment with an outdoor doggy shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhys T
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you also for your comments about our beautiful hotel building and our very friendly staff, we really do have a superb team. I do hope you will visit us again soon! Best wishes, Nicky Whittaker - Owner

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

the hotel was friendly and welcoming but the double room was stuffy and small and had no window you could look out of, only a velux/skylight window near the ceiling. This felt like being in a cell and felt quite closed in. For this reason I would not want to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina E
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, Thank you for your review of Merchant House and your comments about our friendliness. I’m sorry if you were not aware that our Cosy Double rooms are a bit smaller than our other rooms. Following your feedback we’ve spoken to our reservations team and adapted our website wording to ensure that it is clearer that the Cosy Rooms...

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We spent almost a week exploring the landscape and towns and villages, and enjoyed every minute. We were made most welcomed at the Merchant House Hotel, The 'help-yourself' continental breakfast was really good, and the stall most helpful, they always had a smile. The hotel was exceptionally clean and fresh, and particularly well located to explore the countru, 200 yards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berwyn2016
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear berwyn2016, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time exploring the local area. As you mention, our location is fantastic to access all that Cornwall offers. Our Continental breakfast is delicious and our full English is even better, I...

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed in Cornwall near the sea before and not sure if Truro would be the place for us but Truro town was lively . The hotel was lovely and clean, the staff were helpful . We will definitely come back to this Hotel Merchant House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra J
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Debra, Thank you for your review of Merchant House, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Truro makes a superb base because we're so central. For guests wanting to visit Cornwall they can easily access Newquay, Falmouth, Perranporth, St Ives and more, not to mention the many attractions and gardens. Thank you for your comments about our cleanliness...

london
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were very comfortable in a well-equipped double room. Late booking meant only their accessible double was still available but it is modern and offered everything we wanted for a good night's rest. If it's of interest room 28 is well fitted for wheelchair users with its own ramp access (outside), a very roomy wet room bathroom fitted with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LizhLondon
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear LizhLondon, Thank you for your review of Merchant House, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the description of our accessible double, this is very helpful for other guests interested in booking. I hope you're right about the glamour and accessibility bath idea! I'm pleased you found our team helpful and I hope your...

Burntwood
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed here in June2016 as a couple.my wife needed some respite from looking after me after i had suffered a stroke.On arrival we were made very welcome by the wonderful staff team who provided us with complimentary home made cake and hot drinks in the lounge area.We stayed in a ground floor double room overlooking the rear car park.the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bod2588
Nicky M, Owner at Merchant House, responded to this review

Dear Tony and Jayne, Thank you for your 5 star review of Merchant House, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our team, Chef Dave's complimentary homemade cake, our clean room, comfy bed, free parking and free WiFi, I think you've covered everything! Oh, and of course, the best bit of...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
792 reviews
0.7 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
562 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
417 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
1,027 reviews
12.4 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: ₹ 5,064 - ₹ 8,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchant House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the back are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles roderickg337, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, and the stairs are steep so try not to be put on the second floor if, like us, your legs are elderly!”
 of 5 bubbles Gemmadog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Has everything you need including a shower for the dog!”
 of 5 bubbles CatherineS753, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need plenty of space go for the suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 763jezh, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 20 was ideal for us.”
 of 5 bubbles mullionpeach, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5